We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and awesome staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanoi Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanoi Grand Hotel
Ranked #263 of 577 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Weipa, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location and awesome staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We booked 3 nights at this hotel and the service (and staff) were excellent. The room was very comfortable for a family of 4. The value for money was outstanding and our every request was met with enthusiasm and a smile. Staff got us tickets to the Water Puppet theatre and we needed a power adaptor to charge our appliances which was found promptly far cheaper than we could have got it. Throw in a daily breakfast and a keen, warm and friendly staff and we were won over.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    28
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
33
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel before moving to another place in Hanoi. The location in the heart of the Old Town is great and the staff tries really hard, but there were some complications. On arrival we were not given the room we had booked (with balcony) but another one without any natural light. We pointed the mistake out but had to wait for a day until we could move to the room we had actually paid for in advance via agoda. No refund or compensation was offered.
Breakfast is fine but served in a room with - again - no natural light.
If you look at other hotels in the area and bargain a bit you can get much better value for your money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treppensteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent a little over a week at the Hanoi Grand Hotel and had a fantastic experience. The price was incredibly reasonable. The friendly staff organised our airport transfers for us, booked our Halong Bay trip with incredibly short notice and did everything that they could to make us comfortable during our time in Hanoi. The room was really nice and the included breakfast was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_waite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NguyenVietTho, Manager at Hanoi Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Anna_waite, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such as enthusiastic review about your stay at the Hanoi Grand Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Halong Bay tour and appreciated the hotel high standard of service. We look forwrad to welcoming you back.
Thank you.
Chinh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were sent here after our hotel Hanoi Eclipse Hotel had a heating issue. The rooms were beautiful and spacious but they lost me at the bathroom. No shower curtain... moldy... dark and a odd musky smell. If the washroom was renovated, I wouldn't hesitate to give them a higher rating. The room I would give them 5 stars... but the bathroom 2 stars. I wouldn't stay again nor recommend because of the bathroom.

We didn't have time for breakfast but packed us a breakfast to go... which was a roll of bread and jam... Probably the worst packed breakfast from a hotel during out trip but it was better than nothing?

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank k-existence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NguyenVietTho, Manager at Hanoi Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear k-existence,
First at all,Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Hanoi Grand Hotel.
We sincerely regret about breakfast service and bathroom in the room we provided.About Breakfast, we are sorry, because you check - out too early but the cooker begin working from 6 A.M,therefore our staff couldn't make a breakfast better for you. We had just fixed the bathroom to make it better. We look forward to meet you when come back to Hanoi.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentleigh, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

If you can afford the price, I am recommending that you stay here. The staff are friendly and accommodating .Check in was quick and easy and we were in our room within five minutes of stepping out of the taxi. The room is a good size and very comfortable. The AC, shower, and bed all meet the high standards for a comfortable and relaxing stay. The hotel stored our luggage free of charge while we were away on our boat trip in Halong bay. The hotel food menu has both Vietnamese and Western style dishes. The location is great - we walked around a lot. I really have nothing negative to say. You will be very happy with this hotel. Can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Family Suite with bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NguyenVietTho, Manager at Hanoi Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear william d,
Thank you so much for recommended Hanoi Grand Hotel to Tripadvisor surfers. We are glad to hear you enjoyed about our service and the room. Hope to see you on next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We booked this hotel from Sydney for our first few nights in Vietnam and were very happy with the rooms, staff, breakfast and excellent value for money. It was a 10 minute stroll to the lake and the center of the old quarter. Lots of local food nearby.

We will stay here again without any hesitation

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hanoi Grand Hotel in September. We booked two double rooms, one for us and one for our two children (14,8). The rooms were clean and everything we needed! It was such a fantastic way to begin our family trip in Vietnam.

The service was awesome!! I can't speak highly enough of the staff. Even before we arrived, we were emailing. Always had a prompt reply from them, we were so impressed that we had them arrange our Halong Bay boat trip. We were quite specific in the boat and type of experience we wanted and they organised it perfectly!

On our last morning we needed to be at the airport at 5am. The staff were up and even cooked us breakfast well before the usual breakfast serving time.

Overall we were so happy with this hotel, would stay there again and would definitely recommend it to others!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieClan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#24 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
3.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
Grand Plaza Hanoi Hotel
#204 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hanoi
#74 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
3.1 mi away
Diamond Westlake Suites
Diamond Westlake Suites
#117 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Grand Hotel

Property: Hanoi Grand Hotel
Address: No. 26 Hoi Vu Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Grand Hotel is situated in the heart of Vietnam's Capital City, Hanoi, in Hanoi's most popular tourist destination, The Old Quarter.Hanoi Grand Hotel have cheaper price than other hotels with same service. The Old Quarter is the base for experiencing the intriguingly crazy beautiful culture, with not to be missed breathtaking destinations such as Ha Long Bay, and Sapa close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing