We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff but rooms are run down & noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Century Hotel
Ranked #401 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Helpful staff but rooms are run down & noisy”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Despite our early check-in time, the staff were very accommodating and helpful. This continued throughout our stay - the staff were always smiling. There was free internet on 2 desktops at the reception area, great for catching up on emails. Breakfast wasn't too bad for the price of the room we were paying, which included breakfast. We took the family room which was huge and consisted of 3 single beds. The problem was it was on the 2nd floor and faced the front of the hotel, which was a busy street. We could hear honking for most parts of the early morning and night; closing the louvered windows did not help block out the noise. The room itself was ok, albeit a little dusty but the bathroom was run down - small leak in the ceiling and the bathtub leaks whenever you shower, which then made the entire bathroom dirty and wet; not pleasant! The hotel can do with some renovation as it looks run-down in some parts. Room rates are reasonable so I guess you can't expect too much - the friendly staff made up for it :). The hotel is in a great location - everything was within walking distance (restaurants, cathedral, lake, market, souvenirs and other shops). You also get the "local" scene of street vendors selling pho, fruits, vegetables, meat, bbq cuttelfish, etc!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the front of the hotel, even up till the 5th floor, we could still hear the din b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiPetalingJaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
10
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I knew 2 Australians who were staying at this hotel, so the hotel gave me a discounted price of USD20 per night, for staying 2 nights. Normally it would be USD25.
Comfortable room, no smell, but foam mattress on bed. Managed to sleep but would prefer spring mattress.
A decent place to stay if you are on a budget above 'backpacker'. If you can afford it, stay at a better place & pay at least USD30.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel had nice clean rooms and very helpful staff who let us use a spare room after we checked out for free when waiting for the night train. Its also very central making exploring the old quarter by foot very easy.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jamestravelsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Rated 2 1/2* this hotel is good value for money. staff most helpful and obliging..My first time in Hanoi and booked initially for a coupla days and after a trip to H. Bay (which they organised for a good price at late notice and looked after my bags) I decided to return after having checked out some others. Could`nt get the same balcony room but had a quieter and cheaper one without a window for less. Bkfst included is ok for the price. Staff organised my next hotel in Hue which was nearly as good for the same price and the o`nite train for me.. Cant complain here!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. There were 2 different rooms: one basic and one deluxe. Both rooms had an unpleasant smell from bathroom, and the cleanliness was average.

I suggest you to search for another hotel in Hanoi, as there are many hotels with the same price and better rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lempert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were clean and basic. We were in room 501, great views of old town and close to everything. Upgraded for free and staff have very good English. Very helpful. Room has clean sheets and computer and fridge. Free wifi. Has a bath and hot water. Very cheap at $23 a night. Little noisy at the front rooms due to horny traffic but this is everywhere in Hanoi. Back rooms would be much quieter but we were happy with the upgrade and balcony, and nothing a set of earplugs didn't fix. Overall, would highly rate our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andyjen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I booked the hotel for five nights, but actually stayed four nights. The room they provide me was spacious, comfy, clean and quiet. The hotel is within the old town in Hanoi, you can eaily explore many scenes by walking distance. Breakfast is basic, various fruits to choose from, I love it. On the last day of my stay, the staff told me a group of British travellers wanted to stay together, but the hotel didnt't have enough room for them, so the staff asked me if I could change hotel with "THE SAME STANDARD and THE SAME QUALITY." It doesn't matter to me so I agreed with his offer. However, it was the beginning of my nightmare. The room that I changed to was "LOUD, and DIRTY;" you can even heard karaoke on the street at 10 p.m. The facilities in the room were far "LESS" than the original one. What annoyed me most was that "NO ELEVATOR" in the hotel, which means I have to climb five floor to get to my room. Located in the dark valley, I was also worried about my safety. To be honest, I felt regreful to change hotels. I was completely cheated by the staff-- "the same quaity and the same standard??" I doubt it!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShiangruHwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.3 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Century Hotel

Property: Hanoi Century Hotel
Address: 23 Bat Dan, Hanoi 84, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Century Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Century Hotel Situated in the heart of Hanoi's Old Quarter and bounded by bustling commercial centre, Century hotel is one of the most beautiful and luxurious hotels in the Old Quarter city. Next to it is the ancient and romantic Hoan Kiem Lake, a symbol of the capital ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanoi Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing