We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thai Son Grand Hotel
Ranked #419 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“fabulous, friendly service”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel with our family, 2 adults, 2 kids. Room ordinary but sufficient. The service and friendliness to us and our kids was excellent. So friendly, loved the kids. We arrived 8.30am and were offered free breakfast while our room was getting ready. We went away for a few days, and the hotel offered us to come back for a shower and to leave our bags while we got some dinner before catch an overnight train that night! Brilliant service! Great position!

Room Tip: Try for a room with a window that opens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    28
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
45
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at Thaison Grand for 3 nights. Despite the small window in the room 705, the room felt spacious and comfortable. The decor was stylish and there was an attention to detail in the room fitments - lots of electric sockets, fridge/mini bar, tea coffee making facilities, in room safe, hairdryer, complimentary toiletries, good powerful and hot shower. The room was cleaned daily to a good standard. Free wi-fi was reliable.
Staff were welcoming at check-in, offering us a welcome drink of tea/coffee/juice. They checked our tour/ongoing travel requirements. They were friendly and took an interest in our itThey also looked after our bags on the last day before our evening bus. They had not booked our ongoing travel but phoned the company regularly to ensure we got away on time.
Breakfast was buffet style, eggs and omelettes can be prepared on request.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algarve, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We felt so happy to spent 3 days at this nice hotel. The staff made the differences from other hotels in Vietnam. They were so friendly, helpful, funny and kind enough. Tom and Lisa were on top of customer service and they seem to be born to work in this field. They helped me to book Halong Bay tour on boat, Sapa Trekking tour and flight tickets to the South of Vietnam... All wonderful and good at prices. Nothing too much trouble and we really enjoyed our holiday in Hanoi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlene p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Hanoi with not much idea what to do or expect, and the staff could not have been more informative, friendly, generous and helpful. They gave us a free upgrade (thanks Joe!) and were very accomodating when we needed to stay on unexpectedly due to getting sick. The local restaurants and shops that were recommended by Joe (concierge) were genuinely interesting and cheap. We will stay again if we travel back to Vietnam. :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel was a bit let down by housekeeping & need for maintenance- broken shower hose, lights, phone needing repair, bathroom quite mouldy. 2nd floor is very noisy from the lobby- ask to move to a higher floor. Staff very committed to try to sell tour packages, but would recommend to check other places as well to be sure you are getting the value for money before booking.
No complimentary water- have to pay.
It wasn't bad, but only average, & we would try a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: 2nd floor noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess8888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is a solid value choice to stay in the Old Quarter in Hanoi. It is very close to restaurants, sites and shopping. The hotel itself isn't bad, but not great. The first night we were located on the second floor at the top of the staircase. This was very noisy and we didn't sleep well. Our plumbing was not working well either, as the drains were all very slow. After an overnight boat cruise at Halong Bay we came back. They had moved us up to the 5th floor. This room was much nicer and far more quiet. Everything worked properly and we were very pleased.

The hotel includes breakfast, which is nice. It isn't a huge selection but we never had trouble finding dishes (my wife is vegetarian) to get our day started.

We were both very pleased with their staff. It was very clear that they would do anything possible to improve your stay. They provided many recommendations for food to try, sites to see and directions. They were the highlight for me.

This place is not fancy but again, offers great value. I would stay there again if returning to Hanoi.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the second floor. They can be very noisy since the lobby is directly below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I spent eleven days in Thaison Grand Hotel for the third year in January 2014. My stay there was nothing but pleasant. They obliged me with the room of my choice. I stayed in the same beautiful room, with windows overlooking the street below, in which I spent ten days in January 2013. The staffs are pleasant and obliging. All my one day trips were organised by their manager Ms.Lisa and the tours were great. The other two gentlemen working in the hotel were also very helpful and kind. There is nothing bad to say about this hotel. That is the reason I decided to stay in this hotel for the third time. The food in the morning was reasonably good and the guests could order some items not on the table. In my opinion this hotel is good value for the price we pay for the room because the location is good and the rooms are clean.tidy and airy. The rooms with windows are better.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side with windows are better even if they are bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanmugasundaran s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
#113 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#27 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Suite Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.1 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#97 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai Son Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Son Grand Hotel

Property: Thai Son Grand Hotel
Address: 7 Hang Mam Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #419 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Thai Son Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing