We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #123 of 589 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Prince George, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We arrived after 6:00 PM and were gone after breakfast so not much of a test but the service was friendly and efficient. The location was good and the advice on what to see and how to get there was great.
Clean and comfortable rooms and a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    74
    24
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
103
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, W.a.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

All we can do is concur with the other reviews, we would definitely return to this hotel. The Golden Rice will forever be one of our best memories of our first visit to viet nam we could not fault them in anyway. Agreeing with SusieAKL the coffee could have been hotter but this is only a minor issue. The service was great, the location was perfect, quiet but close to the hustle and bustle of the night life. We loved our stay at the Hotel coming back from our trips to Halong Bay and Sapa. Coming back after being worn out to find the bed sooo nice. My wife ask to take one home.!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at the Golden Rice for 3 nights before and 1 night after our Halong Bay trip. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet is good. The location is an easy walk to the main attractions in Hanoi. Very good value for money we'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LW7658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were surprised to be upgraded on the first night to a wonderfully spacious room. On our return from Ha Long Bay we were in a smaller room, and still comfortable and well appointed.

The receptionist was very friendly and attentive, and the manager made a.point of asking us for feedback on the service, and the day trips they had organised for us (highly recommend these). Breakfast was varied and substantial, and the room service food was fresh and delicious. Great location, we walked to the Lake, night markets, museum and Temple of Literature without any.problems.

They followed up with airport transfers, made sure taxi drivers understood where to take us and gave us a late check out. I highly recommend The Golden Rice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bron62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed at Golden Rice Hotel as part of a voucher deal we bought online that also included an overnight cruise on Halong Bay. As we didn't get to choose the hotel we had to trust Emeraude Cruises in making the right choice and we were not disappointed.
The hotel is well located in the old quarter and Hoan Kiem lake is walking distance. In fact one day we made a point of walking right around the lake at a leisurely pace.

Our only negative is about the breakfast itself and perhaps the restaurant staff can have training on preparing different types of dishes and ensuring tea and coffee is hot not lukewarm. Asking different hotel guests what they would like to have for breakfast or looking at what other hotels serve may help. But this certainly would not put us off staying again as it is the warm feeling you have of being looked after that makes a hotel stand out.

On our return from Sapa on the overnight train, we went to the hotel to freshen up, have breakfast and a quick nap (the overnight train gets in around 5.30am) before catching an onward flight. Booking a day room even for a few hours is recommended if you have time after the train just to feel clean, refreshed and human again. We would not have thought of doing it if reception did not suggest it.The hotel also kindly stored our luggage while we were away for our excursions.

The staff were always professional and helpful. Compliments to Mr Duong Minh Ha for a well run hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandS-AKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here as part of a pre-booked group tour. Very convenient location in the Old Quarter, close to Hoan Kiem Lake, Water Puppet Theatre, shops, restaurants. Our double room was comfortable and had a large bathroom with spacious shower stall. Great buffet breakfast. Very helpful and friendly staff. Our group was able store luggage for 4 days while we went on other excursions and were allowed to use a room to freshen up when we returned. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geminimonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

First time to this hotel, and from the map it seemed a little out of the way. But we needn't have worried. It's a 3 minute walk to "silk Street" (Hang Gai). In the other direction you hit Hoan Kiem Lake around half way down the western side, just by the Turtle Temple. There are several 7/11 type stores close by for those essentials, and the old quarter is literally at your doorstep.

It's really a little gem. Only 4 rooms per floor; room numbers start somewhat strangely at 06 (e.g 406, 506 606 etc). Not entirely sure just where rooms 1 to 5 are, but I guess it doesn't really matter. Our rooms (2 couples) were extremely spacious. It was quite a trek to get from the door to the bed. Rooms at the front are slightly larger again, but a little noisier. With only 4 rooms per floor it's very quiet. Both our relatives and us had rooms with windows, but the "interior" two rooms have no window at all. They're still spacious, but obviously no natural light. Bathrooms were beautifully appointed and also very roomy. Wi-fi access point was right outside our door, so signal was excellent and the internet fast. Front facing rooms also have a desktop computer.

While the rooms were exceptionally good, what made our stay even better was the wonderful staff. From the young girl at reception who always wanted to have a chat and was genuinely interested in what we were doing, to the tall young doorman who always had a smile and a welcome, right through to the kitchen and waiting staff at breakfast for who nothing was too much trouble. There are a lot of hotels in the world who could learn a lot from this team.

The receptionist even tried to help my find some misplaced prescription glasses by ringing places I might have left them, and provided excellent advice on where to get high quality replacements, and taxis to get there. This was service far above our expectations.

I guess the true measure of how good a hotel is; would you go back there? In this case, it's a definite and emphatic YES!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westendgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunline Hotel
Sunline Hotel
#108 of 589 in Hanoi
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#23 of 589 in Hanoi
911 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
#58 of 589 in Hanoi
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#16 of 589 in Hanoi
869 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi L'Heritage Hotel
Hanoi L'Heritage Hotel
#156 of 589 in Hanoi
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#97 of 589 in Hanoi
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi

Property: Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi
Address: 36 Hang Trong Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 589 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Rice Hotel located in the heart of Hanoi capital – 1000 years old. Golden Rice Hotel is the first Luxury 3 stars boutique hotel in Hanoi and new openned on November 2011. Conveniently located at 36 Hang Trong Street in Hanoi Old Quarter, just 1 minutes walking distance to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake. It provides easy access to many famous attractions such as the Opera House, the Water Puppet Theatre, the Temple of Literature, Dong Xuan Market, the Vietnamese Art Museum, and St. Joseph's Catholic Church. The feature of Golden Rice Hotel is a successful combination of Asia and Western design. All rooms are equipped with the comfortable pillows, wooden floor, luxury bathtub, standing bath, LCD 40 inches screen TV, safety deposit box, in addition, computer with free internet are available at the lobby. Most of room have wide-opened window. Especially the Golden Rice's Suite rooms feature an panoramic view of the city and large open air balcony. Besides, Golden Rice Hotel offers an elegant Western Restaurant on the second floor for buffet breakfast, lunch, dinner, room services and a wide selection of beverages. Our friendly, well- train staffs are fully committed to ensuring that Golden Rice Hotel is definitely the best choice for both of leisure and business travelers in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing