We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$168
US$126
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$107
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
US$125
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$318
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$144
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$66
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
144
90
26
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
90
26
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshang trongold quarterhoan kiem lakehuge balconygreat hotelpremium roombreakfast roomminute walk to the lakeexcellent locationcomfortable bedshotel is locatedwithin easy walking distancebusy citystayed one nightper nighthalong bayfour nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent three nights at Golden Rice, one night on arrival in Hanoi, then we stored our bags there for two nights while we visited Halong Bay before returning. We were upgraded to the Executive Suite on both stays, which has a huge balcony on the 8th floor. It was a really large and comfortable room. While breakfast choices weren't as large as bigger hotels we stayed at there was certainly enough choice that you wouldn't leave hungry. Staff were wonderful. This was a great boutique hotel in a wonderful location. Small, quiet and friendly. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

As a family of three we stayed at the Golden Rice for 7 nights. During this time we went on a tour to Halong Bay and then returned to the Golden Rice. All our requirements were met. Initially our youngest son had a very uncomfortable bed, which on our first visit to the hotel they replaced with a softer mattress, and on our return from Halong Bay we were given a room on a different floor but were pleased to see a spare single bed with a comfortable mattress for him, without us asking for this. The breakfasts are good quality and the staff are all ready to please. The hotel is well situated to explore the old quarter of Hanoi, near to lots of shopping and the lovely Hoan Kiem Lake. For a comfortable clean, well priced hotel, you can't go wrong. There is a bit of noise the closer you get to the street, but that is what Hanoi is all about, noise, chaos and lots to see and do. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on our next visit to Hanoi.

Room Tip: The higher the room the quieter it is, but there is always barking dogs and blaring of horns, no matter where you are.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJNZTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed in Jan 14 on two different occasions and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. They were very accommodating for our check in/out times and always helpful. The rooms were very clean and well presented. We had two rooms, a junior suite and executive (I think?), very comfortable and fresh. The location is excellent to explore Hanoi and transfers worked well. Front desk girls delightful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I only booked this hotel because of the raving reviews it had from Trip Advisor; I am so glad I did. Throughout or stay, the staff were always ultra polite and very happy to help you with any issues you have. The rooms was definitely something I'd expect from a Vietnamese 4 star hotel but only the 3 star price tag. The bed was possibly the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. It is locate right at he heart of the old quarter. It is a 5 mins walk to the lake and turning right out of the entrance 5 mins walk to the St. Joseph's Cathedral. The buffet breakfast is what you come to expect from a Vietnamese buffet breakfast . The restaurant's evening service is the only thing that was lacking. A good range of food to choose from, but the 4 or 5 dishes we tried, really, were not well done. This was both the Western and local dishes. However, the restaurant is not publicised and seems to be a convenient add on so this does not effect my review rating. It really is an excellent hotel, just not an excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Royall86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

My friend and I had a great experience here. All of the staff are friendly, helpful and spoke good English. They were very welcoming and were always willing to have a chat or provide us with directions. The breakfast is okay but didnt cater to westerners or vegeterians. We would recommend and would love to return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank paigelouise90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews