We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #115 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I would recommend this hotel as good value for money.Very centrally located,with a 2 minute walk to the lake.Staff were friendly and helpful.Free breakfast waS good.Rooms were very clean and comfortable.good shopping all around.Recommend as good value especially because of location

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    72
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
99
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Morehead, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We spent nights of March 10 and 11 at Golden Rice. Room very spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room amenities great. My husband forgot and left some money in safe. Within an hour the hotel called our tour guide and we were able to return the next day after our trip to Halong Bag and pick it up. We were very appreciative of the honesty and thoughtfulness of the staff. The location is great by being near the Old Quarter and within walking distance for much of what we explored. Hotel is withing a busy area but yet is very quitet at night. Breakfast very adequate. We are so thankful that this hotel was suggested by our travel advisor Fun In Vietnam. It will be our choice of hotel for our next Hanoi visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Quirky hotel living on past glory but with enormous comfy bed, spacious room, but little drawer space. We were on 9th floor with lift only up to 8! Were pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was. We spent 2out of 3 nights with no bedside light-on one side the bulb was blown and on other side there was no plug socket until on our last night they fetched an extension lead! Truly thought the breakfasts were dire and cold stewed coffee was undrinkable. Front of house staff were pleasant enough, and they were kind enough to lend us a laptop.All that said, in the extremely unlikely event we ever return to Hanoi,we would probably stay there again

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank catllar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambewarra, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent three nights at Golden Rice, one night on arrival in Hanoi, then we stored our bags there for two nights while we visited Halong Bay before returning. We were upgraded to the Executive Suite on both stays, which has a huge balcony on the 8th floor. It was a really large and comfortable room. While breakfast choices weren't as large as bigger hotels we stayed at there was certainly enough choice that you wouldn't leave hungry. Staff were wonderful. This was a great boutique hotel in a wonderful location. Small, quiet and friendly. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

As a family of three we stayed at the Golden Rice for 7 nights. During this time we went on a tour to Halong Bay and then returned to the Golden Rice. All our requirements were met. Initially our youngest son had a very uncomfortable bed, which on our first visit to the hotel they replaced with a softer mattress, and on our return from Halong Bay we were given a room on a different floor but were pleased to see a spare single bed with a comfortable mattress for him, without us asking for this. The breakfasts are good quality and the staff are all ready to please. The hotel is well situated to explore the old quarter of Hanoi, near to lots of shopping and the lovely Hoan Kiem Lake. For a comfortable clean, well priced hotel, you can't go wrong. There is a bit of noise the closer you get to the street, but that is what Hanoi is all about, noise, chaos and lots to see and do. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on our next visit to Hanoi.

Room Tip: The higher the room the quieter it is, but there is always barking dogs and blaring of horns, no mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJNZTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed in Jan 14 on two different occasions and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. They were very accommodating for our check in/out times and always helpful. The rooms were very clean and well presented. We had two rooms, a junior suite and executive (I think?), very comfortable and fresh. The location is excellent to explore Hanoi and transfers worked well. Front desk girls delightful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I only booked this hotel because of the raving reviews it had from Trip Advisor; I am so glad I did. Throughout or stay, the staff were always ultra polite and very happy to help you with any issues you have. The rooms was definitely something I'd expect from a Vietnamese 4 star hotel but only the 3 star price tag. The bed was possibly the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. It is locate right at he heart of the old quarter. It is a 5 mins walk to the lake and turning right out of the entrance 5 mins walk to the St. Joseph's Cathedral. The buffet breakfast is what you come to expect from a Vietnamese buffet breakfast . The restaurant's evening service is the only thing that was lacking. A good range of food to choose from, but the 4 or 5 dishes we tried, really, were not well done. This was both the Western and local dishes. However, the restaurant is not publicised and seems to be a convenient add on so this does not effect my review rating. It really is an excellent hotel, just not an excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royall86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
#53 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunline Hotel
Sunline Hotel
#107 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#97 of 581 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#22 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Lotus Hotel
Golden Lotus Hotel
#186 of 581 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
#164 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi

Property: Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi
Address: 36 Hang Trong Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 0084, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Rice Hotel located in the heart of Hanoi capital – 1000 years old. Golden Rice Hotel is the first Luxury 3 stars boutique hotel in Hanoi and new openned on November 2011. Conveniently located at 36 Hang Trong Street in Hanoi Old Quarter, just 1 minutes walking distance to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake. It provides easy access to many famous attractions such as the Opera House, the Water Puppet Theatre, the Temple of Literature, Dong Xuan Market, the Vietnamese Art Museum, and St. Joseph's Catholic Church. The feature of Golden Rice Hotel is a successful combination of Asia and Western design. All rooms are equipped with the comfortable pillows, wooden floor, luxury bathtub, standing bath, LCD 40 inches screen TV, safety deposit box, in addition, computer with free internet are available at the lobby. Most of room have wide-opened window. Especially the Golden Rice's Suite rooms feature an panoramic view of the city and large open air balcony. Besides, Golden Rice Hotel offers an elegant Western Restaurant on the second floor for buffet breakfast, lunch, dinner, room services and a wide selection of beverages. Our friendly, well- train staffs are fully committed to ensuring that Golden Rice Hotel is definitely the best choice for both of leisure and business travelers in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Rice Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing