We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“part of the history of Hanoi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Long Bien Bridge

Long Bien Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.00*
and up
Half-Day Red River Handicraft Villages Bike Tour from Hanoi
Ranked #32 of 276 things to do in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Long Bien bridge across the Red River connects Hanoi with the main port of Haiphong. Designed by Gustave Eiffel, the bridge sustained significant damage during the Vietnam War. Only half of the bridge retains its original shape, but a rebuilding project supported by the French government is currently in progress to restore the bridge to its original appearance.
rome
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“part of the history of Hanoi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This bridge is part of the history of Hanoi.. i think that walk in it is like give the right importance to it! The place has that old fashion flavour and u really feel like walking over something that " lived the history" !! The bridge is crowded of scooter.. but if u are lucky enough u can have few seconds to take a picture just in the middle of it :-) you should take a walk there!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bucefalo_Simi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    325
    172
    23
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A good walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Worth the walk. Its moving to see the bridge ramparts we destroyed in the 1972 bombings. It's also interesting to see the plaque noting that Gustav Eiffel designed the bridge. Also, there's a good goat restaurant on the other side of the river. Otherwise there's not much reason to cross over.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LCI3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runaway Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great bridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

we walked the bridge as I was looking for a particular sight at the end of it, did not find what I was looking for but thoroughly enjoyed the walk, built by the French and completed in 1902 the local people quite proudly tell you that the "other" bridge was built by the Vietnamese. The middle of the bridge is a train track and scooters ride on either side of the track, I only realised that pedestrians are not allowed on this bridge when we got back and saw the sign. It is 1.6kms in length and you have great views over the Red river and boats going by.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank damast56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you like bridges, go for it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We took a taxi to Long Bien and then walked across half of it, turned around and walked back. The bridge was very interesting to see, especially if you are interested in history, architecture, or engineering. Or rail bridges! AS others have said this is motorbike/scooter only, driving on the left side of the road, with a narrow ped path which includes gaps between pavers which can be disconcerting. Suggest you wear closed shoes for your visit as we saw three separate occasions where people had defecated on the footpath... better to be safe than sorry!

We took a taxi to the base of the bridge and the driver found it easily. There also appears to be a neighbouring bus terminal you could take the bus to if that's your thing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Particuliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Classcial bridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hired the bicycle to visit this bridge. French people was designed it , and it is more than 100 year old. This was a very intersesting visit.
Tried the bbq corn on this bridge , and we love it

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kengoi2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Long Bien Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Long Bien Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing