We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #38 of 352 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, great staff, great hotel”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Although slightly hidden away the hotel itself is in a great location, slap bang in the middle of Old Quarter, Hanoi. Anything worth seeing is in walking distance - very useful - there are markes, shops and of course the legendary Beer Corner!!! After a hard day on the streets of Hanoi we found this hotel to be our own little oasis, especially when we could take a shower, whack on the air-con and head back out for more fun!
Lovely bedrooms, clean showers and freindly staff made this one of our most enjoyable stays in this country.

Hugo Darley, London

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    152
    41
    23
    13
See reviews for
22
124
138
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I stayed at the May De Ville with my husband after we were given a voucher at the airport. Being a discounted place I wasn’t expecting much, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was top-notch, with lovely furnishings and a big comfy bed! The staff were friendly and helpful and waited on us hand and foot. Even the free breakfast buffet was good. I will definitely stay here again if I'm ever in Hanoi.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fire_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My fiance and I arrived in Hanoi from a Vientiane in Laos. We were approached by a man at Vientiane airport who told us about this new backpackers hostel/hotel. Understandably we were cautious as this seems to be the prelude to many a scam in SE Asia. Anyway, this was NO scam. The staff at the May De Ville were warm, friendly and they bent over backwards to help us with organising trips and finding places to eat. We stayed in a private room for $25.00. This included breakfast, en-suite bathroom free internet access and a lap top in the room. The rooms are more like a 4 star hotel instead of a hostel. They also have some very well kitted out dorms too which sleep 6 in comfort. A special mention must go to Dao who works at the hostel who is always happy to see you, he is incredibly enthusiastic and intelligent. He's a real asset to the May De Ville. If we were to return to Hanoi, we would not consider staying anywhere else. There is a winning formula to running all businesses and it is simply to understand your client and to hire the right people. The May De Ville have certainly got this formula right.
A brief note about the Halong Bay boat trips. There are a number of scams and reports of appalling service on some of the boats. We spoke to one guy who thought he got a good deal from a local agent. He regretted it and told us to book through the May De Ville. Ok you might pay $10 to $20 more but at least you'll get a good trip. We spent 2 days and one night on the Cristina (booked through the May De Ville) and it was really chilled out. We had a great guide and delicious food. This is something else that the May De Ville seem to do - they personally check out the trips they offer and if you don't get what you pay for they will make sure you get a refund. I can't say anymore really, the May De Ville are simply fantastic.

Room Tip: On site IT support is availabe so tell them if you have problems with lap top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Elegance and luxury- not something you usually encounter when backpacking. This place has it!- a light, bright marble reception with wonderfully friendly staff to greet you: and equally beautiful rooms- all with sony plasma tv, free use of laptop with internet acess, all the bath goodies you would expect to find in an upmarket hotel, mini bar, soft white towles...... etc
They also have free wifi throughout the building, a games room with pool table, darts board, and a cinema with a huge sony tv and 1000's of dvd's to rifle through.

On top of all this breakfast is included in the room rates which range from $6 for a dorm- BARGAIN!

The staff were also v friendly when it came to booking tours and onward travel- i cannot praise this hostel enough- if only all budget accommodation was this good!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully presented
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Make sure to stay here! This claims to be a hostel, but is clearly a hotel. It would compete with hotels in any major westernized city in terms of accomodations, service, and free breakfast! The rooms are georgous, including a laptop to use while you stay there. The rec room is fantastic. The staff go above and beyond what they should be doing to make sure you have a great stay. The price is very affordable ($15 a night/person for a private room and $6 for a dorm). Take one look around this hotel and you will not go elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

when i was in Hanoi i was recommended this place by 2 different people - who both told me it was amazing and i should deffiantely stay there! ! ! the place itself is really new and therfore very clean and well managed! the staff are friendly and helpfull! i cannot rate this place enough and i wish they had hotels outside of Hanoi !! its really good value for money as u get a free buffet breakfast with eveything u need - cakes, fruit, bread, omelette, noodles ect!!! the dorm is 6 dollors which is the same as the Hanoi backpackers - i stayed in both places and may de ville is miles better! the good thing is u can still hang out at the backpacker place and then go n sleep in a nice room - its win win!!! the private rooms are soooo nice ! its 20 dollars which for me was a lot but i just wanted a nice room to myself and it was totally worth it ! my own bathroom - plasma telly, and laptop with free internet - its a double room so u could split the price and it works out only 4 dollars more than the dorm !!! oh worth a mention is the tv room with leather sofas and loads of movies! spent a good few days just chilling out watching films - very cool! bottom line is u have to check this place out for urself !!!!!!

Room Tip: dont eat yellow snow : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky_lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Had a great stay in this brand new hotel. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable with all mod cons. The staff were also extremely helpful with any query or issue. The games room which was nearly finished was the best I've seen throughout my 7 weeks of traveling.
The location is also very central in the old quarter and you can walk to most attractions. You can also get $.20cent beers on the corner just a stones throw away from the entrance. Happy days :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steviemc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.1 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#196 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#73 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#11 of 588 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
#12 of 352 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel
Little Hanoi Hostel
#11 of 352 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May De Ville Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Property: May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Address: 1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien Str | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 352 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — May De Ville Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to May De Ville Backpackers, a hostel with all the furnishings of a five star hotel. Built in 2011, right in the heart of the old quarter of Hanoi, it makes it makes a clean and convenient base from which to explore this exciting city. Spacious six bed dorms with air conditioning and en suite bathrooms as standard. Private double, twin or family rooms, which are all attractively furnished and come with added touches of luxury including big and comfortable beds, LCD televisions and a personal laptop. Free WiFi on every floor and a bank of computers in the lobby keep you connected with friends and family. Complimentary buffet breakfast which includes a wide selection of pastries, fruit, cold and hot meats and eggs cooked to your liking. American pool table, darts' board and cinema room with access to hundreds of great movies. 24 hour security guard to keep you safe, as well as security cameras and electronic key access to all the rooms. For your valuables there’s a safe in each room, while the dorms have secure lockers. In every sense you’ll sleep soundly at May De Ville Backpackers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your May De Ville Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing