We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and friendly reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanoi Style Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Style Hotel
Ranked #441 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good location and friendly reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights, 1 night before Halong Bay and 2 nights after. We had a pleasant surprise on Christmas Eve after our Tam Coc Day trip, hotel invite us for a free buffet celebration dinner with wine and good spread of food. We had 3 rooms in total, 2 rooms faced the pub, but we had no problem sleeping as we drew the heavy curtains and fell asleep easily due to tiredness from all the walking. The only downside was the lift was not working for 2 nights we were there, only worked on the last night...so we had to climb up to level 4, every time we needed to go back to our rooms. Food was delicious, small spread but good enough for a small hotel...We kept our luggage we didn't need for the halong bay overnight trip with the hotel. Computers in our rooms were not working, but internet access was available. So if you have your own devices, it's good enough. Toilet in 1 of the rooms had sewage problem. Didn't drain well..so do check your room's toilet after u check in. Bottled water in mini bar was priced similar to outside. Reception provided map (if you ask) and gave advice on how to walk around the area. Enjoyed the central location in old quarter..

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pub may be noisy for some, but they have better views and are the better rooms. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaiHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    30
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
14
37
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, before and after my Halong bay trip. Big and clean rooms in at a midrange price. Got a room with a balcony facing the street.

The backpackers hostel down the street has a pub crawl almost every night and the end up at the opposite bar from this hotel. So be aware that it is going to be a little bit noisy between 22:00 - 01:00.

Needed a cab very early in the morning and the staff help me fix it to a good price (14 dollars, nov 13) Do not go for the private car, no need.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Liv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

loan was a very helpfull and intelligent staff member and also mr lucky was looking after all needs i think the review about the noisy bar opposite is stupid as all you need to do is go in there for a drink and it is very close to the hotel so you can get well drunk and then you will sleep well no problem!!!! once again thankyou loan for being so attentive xx

Room Tip: get well oiled in the hair of the dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poopookins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndoch, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This hotel is in a great section of the old Quarter. It is clean, the staff provide good service, the rooms are well equipped.
BUT and this is the BIGGEST BUT you can get. This hotel is directly opposite the biggest and loudest nightclub in Ha Noi. A new nightclub called "Hair of the Dog Hanoi" (check it on YouTube) opened in late May 2013. It starts playing techno "music" about 7 pm. That's OK as there is plenty of competing street noise til 10pm. Then as the other businesses start to close down at 10.30 (as the law states) these guys crank it up and start to play D&B (drum and bass). When the officials come through at 11.30pm to check if all businesses are closed, they drop by the nightclub. By this time the walls of your room will be vibrating and the ceiling pulsating. Finally, about 12.30 to 1.00 am the noise starts to quieten.
We were booked for five nights - first night was directly opposite the nightclub - needless to say we eventually got to sleep after 1.00am. Second night they moved us to a room higher up and further back. It was only marginally better. For the remainder of our stay, they moved us to their sister hotel (Nam Hai Hotel) a few streets away and it was perfect.
Being in the accommodation industry we talked at length with the manager about his problem. He says that young people who go out to nightclubs and get back after 11.30pm have no problem but anyone who expects to sleep prior to 10.30pm has justifiable issues. The community are trying to get the law enforced but not getting anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimBarossaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We've stayed here for about 20 bucks per night - yes it was cheap, but I need to others know of pros and cons of this hotel.

Cons: POOR FACILITIES

I could see this hotel was quite old as compared to others in Hanoi -- the old hotel could be functional as well but it was not the case for this hotel really.

First of all, in-room WIFI was always down throughout our stay. We could see WIFI signals but no internet connections. The IT guy couldn't fix it, and even the WIFI on the lobby was often down so we had to go to cafes to use WIFI every day.

Secondly, there was strange "ZZZZ" noise from electric cables in our room for a whole day. We were afraid of fire outbreak or something, and on top of it, we could not sleep well due to this noise.

Thirdly, we got water leaking from the AC.

Other facilities such as bathroom items (shower curtain, etc.) were also old and needed replacement.

Pros: OK SERVICE and GOOD LOCATION

The biggest advantage of this hotel is its good location. Ma May is in the middle of the old quarter downtown with many restaurants, bars, and shops. A bit noisy and hectic, but very convenient. BUT you can find many other (better) hotels in the area, so I do not think the location can be a determinant to choose this hotel.

Second, the service. I was wondering if I should list this as a pro as the service was not excellent, but relatively good in the VN standard. Staff are generally friendly and helpful and speak good English.

All in all, I do not chose this hotel if I choose to stay in this area as there are many other hotel with the similar price range (or a bit higher like 30-40 USD) with much better, newer facilities. No WIFI was really inconvenient.

I think the hotel needs refurbishment now.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenyalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Really couldn't have done any more. Kept our bags for four days while we went on trips without any problems. Nice breakfast. Computer in our room was really handy. Great value for bed and breakfast. Area is noisy at night but that's not the hotels fault!! Air con and fan in room also and arranged our airport transfer on time and at a decent price. All in all a great experience

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bear107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

While staying in Hanoi I became extremely ill with a staph infection. The staff of this hotel had me in a cab and on the way to the Hanoi Western Clinic where I received high quality care at a very reasonable rate. I began my recuperation at this hotel and the staff was very attentive. They arranged two excursions, a flight to Hue and my cab to the airport - all at a rate I could not beat on the internet. The breakfast was good and hearty and the room was clean. Since it was in old town, across from a night club of sorts the street noises did drift up to my third floor room, but closing the door to the balcony silenced all but the loudest noises. The location in old town meant that you were never bored and it was a great place for walking. If you are on a budget and need a good hotel, this is it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djude1148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Suite Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Boutique Hotel 2
Hanoi Boutique Hotel 2
#278 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Space Hotel
Hanoi Space Hotel
#42 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#20 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#15 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Style Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Style Hotel

Property: Hanoi Style Hotel
Address: 35 Ma May, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #441 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Style Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Old Quarter" – Hanoi Vietnam, Hanoi Style Hotel offers affordable, luxurious accommodation in an authentic Vietnamese neighbourhood. Shop in the nearby Dong Xuan market. Visit the many small shops, restaurants and coffee bars. It is just outside your Hanoi Style Hotel door. Hanoi Style's professional staff are well educated, speak English and Western languages and are committed to making your stay a pleasant, care-free experience.Visit our site and check out all latest hotel room promotions & special offers to enjoy your holiday in Hanoi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hanoi Style Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing