We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, black mold”
Review of MOD Palace Hotel

MOD Palace Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MOD Palace Hotel
Ranked #456 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Horrible, black mold”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The door handle broke (they never came to fix it), black mold around the rim of bathtub, tight space between the desk and bed (keeps bumping my knees to the desk), horrible breakfast. I Need I say more? The campus and the location is quiet hat's is all the good things I can say about this hotel. Horrible value! If it weren't because of work that I need to stay here, I would have bolted and never had checked in!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatFoodisHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights for a conference, would not have chosen it ourselves. This is the former Ministry of Defense, an imposing building, but badly in need of modernization. For some unknown reason, we were given what appeared to be the "presidential suite": 4 enormous rooms comprising a conference room (!), bathroom with jacuzzi and separate shower, dining room, and bedroom. The furniture is huge and dark and there was only one outside window (those in the bathroom were opaque and the others looked out onto a long, dark corridor), which was in fact french doors opening (with difficulty) onto a huge, very dirty terrace. Unique accomodation no doubt, but we would have preferred smaller, cleaner and more modern! There is an outside pool, with dirty, delapidated sun-loungers - almost impossible to get towels or seat-cushions. The breakfast was horrible, very little choice, lukewarm tea/coffee, omelettes prepared in advance getting cold & congealed in a greasy container - to be avoided! Location OK, near the Hanoi Opera. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

the m.o.d. palace is located near the the old city (walking distance). the staff was friendly and was able to communicate in english.

the hotel has two buildings, an older and a newer one. we stayed in the older part. as we entered the room, is actually smelled a little moldy, but after turning on the air condition, the smell disappeared quickly. the room in general was not in very good condition but it was ok. the bathroom was clean but here too, you could see that it was a really old building.

there is free wifi in the hotel but the speed is very limited so surfing was a little exhausting.

Room Tip: try to get a room in the new building, they might be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aschubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a conference, and absolutely loved it. The staff were friendly, the rooms were spacious and very clean, and it was a nice area. It was also quite an old, and interesting building. I found it to be an excellent stay, and will definitely head back there if I am in Hanoi again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quy Nhon, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Located in a relatively quiet part of Hanoi, but still close to the center (10 min walking to Old Quarter, 2 min to Opera house). Friendly receptionists, all fluent in English. Rooms are spacious and clean, a little bit dark unless you open the curtains. Bathrooms with bathtub, newly renovated. Wireless LAN very reliable. Western style breakfast buffet with not too many choices, but you can also order noodle soup. The best is the pool with salty water, especially in the summer (it is however a public pool and during hot days in the evening it can be crowded). Very safe place, I have stayed there several months while working in Vietnam, never ever has anything been stolen. They have rooms in the left wing (above the reception hall) or in the Old Castle (French style, built from 1874 to 1877). Price-performance ratio is absolutely adequate (room rates around 50 USD).
Do not expect anything special, but it is absolutely okay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oveokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.7 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#100 of 588 in Hanoi
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hong Ha Hotel
Hong Ha Hotel
#339 of 588 in Hanoi
48 reviews
1.6 mi away
Army Hotel
Army Hotel
#233 of 588 in Hanoi
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Viet View Hotel & Spa
Viet View Hotel & Spa
#113 of 588 in Hanoi
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Army Guest House
Army Guest House
#299 of 588 in Hanoi
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOD Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOD Palace Hotel

Property: MOD Palace Hotel
Address: 33A Pham Ngu Lao, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #456 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Hotel Class:3 star — MOD Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your MOD Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing