We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Home away from Home in Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Ranked #138 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Your Home away from Home in Hanoi”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed at Ms. Dong's Hibiscus Hotel for 5 days when I was in Hanoi. It was a great experience! I travel a lot for work and I mostly book after reading people's reviews. This is your 'Home away from Home' place in Hanoi. Great central location, clean and tidy rooms, and most of all, very professional and friendly staff. Ms. Dong and her staff are super nice and super helpful. Highly recommended.

Thanks
Sivan

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    86
    26
    6
    16
See reviews for
30
145
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stumbled across this place at 5am after returning from Sapa on the night train. What a find! Although we only stayed 1 night, Mrs Nguyen Dong, the hotel manager, made us feel right at home. We stayed in Dec 2011, at this time the hotel had only been open for a few months. The rooms are remarkedly clean and spacious and come at a bargain price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloemelb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I love this little boutique hotel. The rooms are New, big and clean! Mrs Dong is the perfect host and really delightful. I feel like its a second home. I really can't say anything bad except it's COLD in January. Bring warm jammies ;)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNLindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We booked three nights' at the Hibiscus and paid a deposit prior to departing on a three day tour of Halong Bay. We were really looking forward to staying as the hotel is great - lovely rooms, brilliant breakfast, friendly owner: one of the nicest hotels we walked into during our trip around Vietnam. However, on our return to Hanoi (very much looking forward to the comfy bed and nice room) the hotel had mixed up our booking and there was no room for us - despite our receipt and the deposit. The owner was very apologetic and took us to another hotel round the corner for the night and was nice enough to cook us dinner. Mistakes happen, so c'est la vie.

We moved back to the Hibiscus the following day once a room was free for the remaining two days' of our booking and the hotel was indeed very nice to stay in... until the owner told us that evening that there had been another stuff up and whilst we could stay that night, there would be no room the following night and we would have to find another hotel. She was very apologetic, but goodwill only goes so far when you're being mucked around and what should have been a nice three night stay turned into three different hotels in as many days.

All in all, has the makings of a great hotel but I wouldn't touch it with a barge pole until it upgrades its booking system - it's just not worth the hassle.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1985Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

During our visit to Hanoi we stayed in several hotels across the city and decided this one was the best. The hotel had only been open a few weeks so it was a surprise discovery tucked away in one of the narrow streets of the Old Quarter. This location and its surrounds had the atmosphere of old Hanoi that we wanted to experience. The manager and her staff were efficient, knowledgeable and always ready to assist. It was definately our favourite!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty climbing stairs ask for a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

After a 14 hour bus drive decided to spoil myself and go for a slightly dearer hotel($30).Well worth it though - endless offers of coffee, free water and fruit on departure, I managed to lose my camera and they kindly uploaded my photos for me from the copy I'd saved on their PC. While on a cruise in Halong bay the guide informed me that Hibiscus had contacted him to inform me that they'd over charged for my laundry and he gave me the money back there and then,

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRIAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DongHa, Guest Relations Manager at Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Mr Brian
Thank you very much for your words on Tripadvisor. We appreciate it.
For the laudry, we just wanted to discount the laundry price for you ( not overcharged). But our staff forgot it and charged as listed price. So we asked the cruise operator to help us give the money back for you. We are very happy to listen your voice.
Have a good trip.
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Excellant accomodation , all new and wonderful service and facilities .The manageress Ms . Nguyen Ha Dong was so accomodating and friendly . She is also a wealth of information with places to see and arranging trips .
I will always recommend this wonderful hotel ,not all hotels have breakfast supplied so this is a benefit as well . Don't miss it , it is in the best part of old Hanoi culture and around the corner from St Joseph's Cathedral .
First Class ! in my book
Yvonne Elkins

Room Tip: For senior / elderly choose a room on the lower floor . As you will realize , very few highrise buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yvonne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#106 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#59 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#74 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#88 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luxury Hotel
Luxury Hotel
#80 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel

Property: Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Address: 52 Ngo Huyen Str | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in September 2011, this hotel in an addition to the Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel providing fine accommodation as part of our Hanoi Cozy Hotel chain. Conveniently situated in the heart of Hanoi, the Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel just 150 meters from the famous Hoan Kiem Lake and within walking distance of many tourist attractions such as the Ngoc Son Temple, the Hanoi Opera House, the Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre and the special atmosphere of Hanoi’s Old Quarter.Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel offers affordable, luxurious accommodation in an authentic Vietnamese neighbourhood. Rooms are furnished with wooden floor and state-of-the-art facilities. All rooms feature bathrooms and shower, hair dryer, and IDD telephone. Hotel services: currency exchange, laundry, and tour information.Just a few steps out of the Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel hotel you can explore the best of Hanoi's architectural gems and walk along to experience the wonderful flavour local food, night market, and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing