We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #28 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Our family of four, two adults and two children aged 2 and 4 years, stayed for 5 days at the Essence Hotel in the third week of February. It was an absolutely fabulous stay in every regard. The hotel is small and a true boutique. The staff are great, the breakfast's are very memorable, the room was perfect (we had adjoining rooms with our kids), the babysitting (yeah, babysitting!!) was good, and the location of the hotel can't be beat. Really, nothing else to say except that I'd stay there again on my next trip to Hanoi for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonahArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,463 - 2,469 of 2,844 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed at the Essence Hanoi Hotel in March 2012, with my husband, 20 month old son, and my parents. We stayed in the interconnecting rooms, which were beautiful and quiet...there were flowers and baloons in the room on arrival, much to our sons delight...and fresh fruit. The hotel has everything you would expect if travelling for business such as mini bar (very reasonably priced), safe, wireless and a laptop....and was nicely furnished, making for a lovely hotel for a holiday.

The location is great, down a small busy street in the old quarter, walking distance to the lakes and water puppet theatre etc, and good shops very close by. The food was lovely, and service was quick. The staff were all lovely, and our son took a shine to 'Tam' on reception, he was still saying her name a couple of days after returning to Singapore. We booked directly with the hotel which was really easy and efficient, the hotel also booked our trip to Halong Bay and sorted our visas on arrival. They really made everything very easy for us.

As we walked around Hanoi, we did not see any other hotel that looks as nice and inviting as this one, we would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at the essence hotel for two nights. The first night was separated with an overnight trip to Halong bay before returning to Hanoi.
The hotel really was a haven. The staff were all so welcoming and couldn't do more to help. We had a load of questions and they were able to answer them all. They even recommended a tailors which was perfect (bamboo silk) along with a host of other things.

Even prior to our arrival we were impressed as vuong Manh was available to answer all of my booking queries and information about our stay which he did professionally and timely.
The lady on the front desk was amazing, unfortunately we didn't get her name but she did have a receptionist badge on-so thank you for all of your help and for recommending the tailors.
When we went to halong bay the hotel kept our luggage which made it a lot easier for us.
The rooms were lovely, great decor and really quite surprising to find such a great hotel with a good price tag right in the heart of the old quarter which we sometimes found overbearing. This made the hotel our haven!
The food and drinks in the restaurant were all good and the breakfast was of a high standard.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who would prefer a little luxury on their trip to Hanoi.

Essence - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malonekaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed at level 7 in a suite room for a really gd price(booked direct with e hotel). It offered a gd view and e room was really nice and comfortable, with daily fresh fruits provided and a complimentary bottle of red wine(though I din drink it). The laptop and dvd player offered me some entertainment when I wanted to escape e noise and traffic of e old quarter. Location wise is simply great, walking distance to Hoan Kiem lake and many other major attractions. But the best part was the helpful and hospitable staff. They made you feel so welcome and went all the way to help, way before I checked in. Very impresssed with the high std of svc and e commitment of e staff to making e guests' stay a pleasant one. My 1st choice accomodation for hanoi definitely:)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porcupinechow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We are presently on our trip in Vietnam. We have travelled all over the world and mostly try to stay in nice (3 star or up) hotels that we look forward to coming "home" to after a night out. The essence Hanoi exceeded our expectations. The location smack in the middle of the old quarter (which is busy, noisy, authentic Hanoi). When you walk into hotel its like being in another world. Quiet, elegant, amazing service, friendly smiles. They never say no. I had a headache on arrival. Asked for a pharmacy. They immediately send someone out to get avd deliver to room. Hotel Manager booked all our tours the following morning. Everything was first class from Halong Bay cruise (princess) to Sapa trains. They literally escorted us to station and into train cabin. Food at the restaurant is excellent quality. We ate there several times. And breakfast is fresh, made to order eggs, pancakes, Pho soup. I know this review is glowing but I am going to miss the staff when I go home. They even let us shower before train as we didn't have a room that day after cruise. Also, stored our luggage an entire week while we did overnight trips.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenbFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were being warmly welcome by the hotel staffs, a warm towel to refresh up and a hot cup of ginger tea... it was rather cold when we arrived in Hanoi, and that cup of tea was really GOOD !! (in fact too good that i almost ask if its possible to buy some...)
On the third day, we started a wedding photo shoot for my client, whom they stayed in the same hotel, the staffs were really helpful and meets all the request that we had ( well done guys !! ) even help us to sorce for photo shooting location and asking the locations if it is possible to do wedding photos, arranging taxi for us..
The hotel is very well located, we can pretty much get to most tourist sights on foot, and the hotel is very thoughful that they map out the routes and streets, where and what to shop, eat etc on a map for guest that stayed in the hotel.
The room size was nice, the bed linen were well pressed, clean,and because of our busy schedule, we "rush" in and out of the hotel during our shoot, we( me and my photographer) sometime pop into our room to pick up a dress for the bride or steal a break for a cup of coffee ( coffee and tea bags courtesy of the hotel ) The cups were being cleaned when we return in the evening.... WELL DONE house keeping !!! and one more very important thing, people that have been to Hanoi will know how much the motorist or drivers like to HORN on the road... once in the hotel room with window shut... ahhhhhhhhh.... PEACE !!
Because of the warm smile, helpfulness, welcoming mood of the staffs from ESSENCE HANOI HOTEL at 22 Ta Hien Street/ Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District,Hanoi 10000 , Vietnam ... Even the weather was COLD... we felt good during our stay in Hanoi.
Last but not least, i will go back to the same hotel if i am doing wedding photography again in Hanoi. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK GUYS !!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cole k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I would highly recommend the Essence Hotel to all travelers.
Situated in the Old Quarter in Hanoi,close to Ma May street
for restaurants.
The reception staff are hard to fault.,keen to help you with
tours and what to do whilst in Hanoi.
We had a suite which consisted of bedroom.lounge,2 TVs, 2 ACs.
free laptop.
The rate we paid cannot be beaten.
Suitable for all ages

Room Tip: Suites as you have lounge and bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#25 of 597 in Hanoi
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £45 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing