We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only good things... it deserves the #1” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #18 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Only good things... it deserves the #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

The hotel's driver picked us up at Halong Bay port and drove us to the hotel. The price was competitive with other offers ($5 USD more, I think), and I felt best having the hotel take care of everything. The drive was very enjoyable. The driver was very quiet, and safe. We stopped halfway at a store, that is a bit of a tourist trap, but we learned that the government requires (or something) this type of stop when transferring, because we had a similar stop from Saigon to Phu My. Regardless, we purchased a tea set and a laquerware bowl... they were probably more expensive than we could have gotten elsewhere, but far less expensive than New York prices.
When we arrived at the hotel, we received a warm welcome. We were asked to sit and given delicious ginger tea. We loved it, and ordered it from the menu a couple of times before leaving the hotel. We were promptly checked in. The receptionist asked if we wanted to upgrade our room, which we didn't. Our room was wonderful. We loved the flowers and fruit, and welcome note. The room was clean and extremely well equipped with a lovely bathroom and toiletries.
The location was great in the old part of town, within walking distance to most things... and taxis are so inexpensive that it is $2 USD to get to the French Quarter or fancy international area.
We asked for a restaurant recommendation and we were very pleased with the New Day Restaurant they sent us to. There were lots of hotel staff and locals there as well as tourists. The food was very good and very reasonable in price. We were so pleased that we went back the next day.
The breakfast was delicious, and the omelet made to order was better prepared than most you find in New York. It was perfectly cooked - with a baby drool center like it should be (I am a trained chef).
We had a little hiccup on the way out. The hotel handled it better than I could have asked for - and in a better way than I have ever seen. We arranged a transfer with the hotel to take us to the Hanoi airport. When we left the hotel, my boyfriend and I had a misunderstanding about who had his wallet. We became convinced we left it at the hotel, so we looped back in the taxi. The hotel manager went to the room with him to search for the wallet, but it couldn't be found. The hotel manager continued searching and called us twice before we boarded the plane. He was so apologetic and kind. The next day we received an email from him again apologizing, following up, and asking if we had any luck locating it. We felt SO bad because we did find the wallet 5 days later when we returned to the cruise ship and learned it was in the safe the whole time.
This hotel cannot be beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitsEnd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,487
    194
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
529
1,324
176
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
874 reviews
275 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I didn’t want to leave this hotel! I had room 606 was was comfortable and very quiet. It had twin beds, big flat-screen TV with CNN, BBC and movie channels, a desktop computer (wi-fi is also available), nice bathroom amenities and a good-size fruit basket.

Reception and restaurant staff are professional, helpful and extremely friendly. The buffet breakfast is excellent, beautifully laid out and you will also be presented with a menu to order eggs/omelets,etc. Coffee is excellent.

If you want to have dinner at the hotel, make a reservation as it is a small restaurant. The food is excellent, and is beautifully presented. One night I ordered a la carte, and the next one of the Vietnamese set menus.

It is a 1 1/2 year old property in a perfect location. You live in a elegant, quiet environment, yet step out the front door into the chaos of Old Hanoi. Walking around is a leap of faith as you dodge motorbikes, cars, bicycles, and big fat, SUV’s. On Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights several nearby streets are blocked off for a night market. Though it is supposed to be pedestrian traffic only, a few motorbikes sneak through so you still need to be alert. “Silver Street” is around the corner and their community house (looks like a temple) is worth a visit and they offer a tradiitonal music concert several nights a week at 8pm.

I am very happy I stayed here for two nights and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

We are two couples who stayed there in junior suites for two nights i February 2013. We stayed in the middle of the Old quarter and still it was very silent. Very nice clean rooms and lots of extra. Even free vine and fruits. The small restaurant had nice and cheap dinner and very good breakfast. The staff could not be better. Very recomendable.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Audun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

The service here is top notch! The staff speak great english and are eager to please! Nothing is too much for them. I had to take a quick shower even after check out and the staff abliged with no reservation. The breakfast is one of the best I had in Vietnam, esp the pho! very tasty. There were always different varieties of exotic fruits to choose from. We also had lunch at their restaurants and it didn't diasppoint!
My only advice is to reserved the rooms with renovated bathrooms. These bathrooms are more spacious and modern because it has a standing shower as supposed to a tub. The rooms while small are cozy and cute. A/C works great. The hotel is a welcome respite from the chaos of Hanoi

Room Tip: Higher floors with renovated bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
293 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

This hotel in the very centre of the old town is a gem. Rooms are nicely decorated, a bit small though, and the staff is extremly friendly. Breakfast is second to none, the breakfast alone would warrent the room rate. Only thing which let us down was the lound humming sound obviously generated by the a/c units sitting side by side on the outside of the hotel walls which not only was annoying sound-wise but also caused the room floor to vibrate awkwardly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globusat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Lovely hotel... great room, very friendly and efficient staff...from the room service to the airport transfer and tips from reception about external tour guides and restaurants..great place to stay in the old quarter, I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: 8th floor room 805 very nice room, view over the city rooftops, fairly small but served us well with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

This is my first time in Hanoi and I selected the Essence hotel based on it's rating on tripadvisor. I've stayed in a few of the #1 rated hotels internationally (both boutique and large international) and am currently at this hotel for my second night of four. I can unequivocally state that the service and staff at the Essence is the best I have ever experienced. Every staff member is enthusiastic and helpful, to the point where four of them have already addressed me by name. From the airport pick up to check in to any needed arrangements and any subsequent questions, they are all incredibly helpful and attentive.

We have two adjoining rooms and are incredibly happy with how quiet they are being on the back side of the hotel. They are comfortable and nicely furnished with excellent amenities. While not extravagant as a five star property, the rooms are definitely above a four star hotel in a foreign country of comparable economic status. It truly is another world from the energy just outside the doors. The restaurant serves a wide variety of dishes for breakfast and we're looking forward to dinner tomorrow evening.

While you could probably save a little money at another hotel, this hotel is an excellent value compared to the larger western hotels which I'm positive cannot rival the staff and overall experience here. I've stayed at Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, and Trump properties and none have approached the level of service the staff at the Essence provides. My local native Hanoi family also asked how much I was being charged for the services I booked through the hotel and they said the prices were competitive, so don't hesitate to use their services.

If you're debating on whether or not to stay at the Essence, don't. For a taste of the warmest Vietnamese hospitality, don't hesitate to book a room here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VDPHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#13 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#19 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing