We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the chaos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the chaos”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Clean, friendly staff with great memories and comfortable beds and pillows. We did overnight trips to Sapa and Halong Bay and it was no hassle to keep our large luggage in our storage rooms. The staff remembered where we had travelled, and always made the effort to ask about our day. Great breakfasts and and good cafe with a good choice of food if you were too exhausted to venture out. Perfect location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,581
    207
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
550
1,380
184
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tannum Sands, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

This Hotel was such a surprise when we stepped inside. Outside typical crazy Hanoi street in need of repair but this boutique hotel is an oasis after a long night of flying to get here. The staff are super friendly and made us feel welcome from the start, asking us to sit down while they checked us in then providing a walking and shopping tour map with a business card so we will always be able to find our way back. The bed linen is all white fresh and clean with scattered rose petals. Our room is on the top floor, air-conditioned and very quiet. Give it a go - you won't be disappointed!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank funtraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed here and at the charming 2 hotels. Both are fantastic. It depends what you want though. Charming 2 is probably better value , but Essence is in the thick of it at night, which is great if ate and night life are your thing.
The service standard is over the top at Charming but still outstanding at Essence. Breakfast is better at Essence

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Service, Service, Service.
This hotel couldn't do enough for me and my new wife.
Upon arrival we were greated with a refreshing soft drink and then shown up to our room.
We were on our honeymoon and the hotel were kind enough to upgrade us to the best room in the hotel. They also decorated the bed for our arrival (see photo)
I cannot say enough kind words about this hotel, it exceeded all expectations.
The Old Quarter in Hanoi is manic, but stepping through the doors you are immediately calmer and more relaxed.
The breakfast was also great with a wide selection of food.
Location was pretty much perfect.
Walking distance to most attractions in the city or a small taxi ride away.
This hotel is right in the middle of the Old Quarter so walking around nearby is sometime tricky due to the volume of motorbike traffic, but I guess you would know this before you arrived.
Hanoi wasn't our favourite place in Vietnam but this hotel certainly was.
Your only mistake would be not to choose to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed allready in different hotels in Asia,even in five star hotels,but this hotel was the best.The hotel is located in the heart the old quater.
From the moment you arrive you feel warmly welcomed,the staff informs you about the places to see,books your trips and helps you whenever you have questions.
The room is modern,new and clean.The breakfast is excellent .The restaurant is not overpriced.
The hotel is the perfect stay if you want to visit this amazing city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I was travelling with my teenage daughter and wanted to find somewhere clean and safe to stay.We found the hotel by accident as the hotel we wanted to stay in was fully booked and recommended this one. It was beautiful and so reasonable, the sink and beds were scattered with rose petals when we arrived, the staff were friendly and helpful at all times and I would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of the Old Quarter and is a gem! Upon arrival from the airport, the street in front is in total disrepair. Don't let this deceive you-as this hotel is a Five Star experience from the moment the front doors are opened for you. We spent 3 nights plus stored luggage in between other side trips and we were catered to all the way. The staff of the Essence Hanoi anticipate your needs and provide a pampered experience for their customer. This hotel is a real bargain for the level of service they provide. Food and accommodations Excellent!

Room Tip: Room off the street is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applelady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 588 in Hanoi
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing