We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So great to get back to.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #26 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2013

After the craziness around it is a little sanctuary. The staff so helpful the service and food in the restaurant was good. Smaller then imagined but very clean and welcoming. Great position, funny to hear a rooster in the morning and afternoon amongst the sounds of the motorbikes. The suite was so very well worth the extra ( what little it was) value for money. If ever in Hanoi again this would be my choice. We stayed also in the Movenpick Hotel for a night but a much bigger hotel although nice this little gem did it for me.

Room Tip: The suite is a must
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,831)
There are newer reviews for Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,944 - 1,950 of 2,831 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

We chose the Essence Hanoi hotel because of the many fantastic reviews by tripadvisor fans. From the very first email to our final good-bye, this hotel, and all of the staff, could not have been better. I started emailing their reservations department with many questions on the area, the visa process, a possible HaLong Bay cruise and of course their hotel. Mr. Vuong Manh always responded promptly and was extremely helpful and informative. We ended up booking 2 nights with the hotel, then an overnight trip to HaLong Bay, and then another night back at the hotel. Mr. Manh organized everything, including the Visas (highly recommend this) and the cruise aboard the Paradise Luxury Boat (check our review of that boat on their TA listing).
We travel extensively but have never been to this part of Asia and had a ton of questions. Mr. Manh was very patient and I never, ever felt pressured to book with them as some of the hotels do.
From the airport pickup (perfect) to the stay in the Essence Suite (amazing..big rooms with balconies& includes FREE minibar, FREE laundry, FREE WiFi with laptop & FREE wonderful, huge breakfast), to the exceptional meals in their restaurant, to the private transfer to HaLong bay and back, to the transfer to the airport, it really could not have been any better.
I have to admit that my partner was a little nervous, as was I, when our car was first pulling into the neighborhood. It is unlike anything we have every experienced in our life. But that hesitation quickly disappeared upon entering the hotel and being greeted with fresh juice and a wonderful staff.
The location is incredible & the hotel and the room itself, is great! If you want to experience Hanoi, Old Quarter Style, this is the perfect place. You are right in the middle of so many exciting streets to explore. We ended up never leaving the Old Quarter and even ate every meal at the hotel's restaurant! The General Manager, Mr. Dung, was so hospitable and friendly. He even invited us to 2 tastings in the restaurant to try out some new dishes that Chef Emmanuel Weller, had prepared! Chef Weller is a very talented Chef and his dishes were inventive and delicious. The GM, Mr. Dung, was always in the hotel, with a smile on his face, and willing to assist you with whatever you need.
I can honestly say that this was one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had. It provided many memories on an amazing trip.
We can highly recommend this hotel, and the restaurant!!

Room Tip: Book the Essence Suite! It provided exceptional value for a very modest price. We loved being able t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeSoFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My husband wondered what I was taking him to....it was perfect.Even had a laptop in the room. Staff were so polite and attentive. Room although small was great. The only complaint was that the hotel could have benefited from a bit more soundproofing but it was on the whole an excellent find.
Food in the restaurant was excellent as was the breakfast.
Across the road to the left on the corner sits a little micro brewery where the lager is made each day and drunk on the same day. A glass of this nectar is approx 20pence!
Would certainly stay here again. So central. You can walk to the lake and walk leisurely around it.
Altogether a lovely place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nasus29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

From the airport pick up they organized to leaving we received excellent service. The rooms were small but very nice and clean. It has a laptop and Internet connection. There is free Wi-Fi in the hotel.

The outstanding Essence Cafe is in the ground floor. Even if you don't stay here, you would need to try the restaurant.

The laundry is very cheap, but the clothes were not ironed well. But for the value, I would not mind it.

When you step out its very crowded as its in the centre of Old Quarter, but its worth staying there.

We loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Umanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I'm sitting here in the Essence writing this review. We've been with them for three days now. I couldn't wait to write this review until I got home.

The Essence is the best property we've ever stayed in. They seem to have thought of everything: comfy beds, welcome drinks and fruits, international electrical outlets that do not require adapters, umbrellas for guests, atm machine right on their doorstep, excellent restaurant on the first floor.

But these things alone do not compel me to write about their hotel. It is their service. I booked a Halong Bay tour and train tickets to Sapa through the hotel. Even before our trip, the hotel managers were detailed in their responses and only once did a few days lapse before they responded. The Halong Bay trip went off without a hitch. When we returned, we accidentally left a bag on the tour bus. One of their people chased down the tour van on a scooter to collect our bag. Our Sapa train tickets were mixed up, and we ended up taking a different train company on the outbound trip than requested. Even though the mix-up was not their fault, the Essence manager made sure that we were compensated for the inconvenience.

If anyone here has ever wondered about how the hotel managed to accrue such a terrific staff, it turns out that many of them are former or current Hanoi Kids who are interning. After speaking to them, it becomes very clear how highly they regard their staff and their customers. This is a terrific hotel and company. Don't wait to book a stay here!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are sunnier than Superior. Interconnecting rooms appear to be two superior rooms put to...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank molly2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We have just left the essence hotel.
First of all we have travelled a lot and this hotel would have to be ranked one of the best.
The attention to detail is superb
The hotel manager could not do enough for us, he arranged transfers to halong bay, made sure we had enough time to get to airport. At the end of our halong bay tour. Had our washing ready. He held our suitcase while we were at halong bay......
The staff were so fabulous, their training is a1.
The room was so nice , awesome even we had a suite .
The brekkie was outstanding.
They were like family.
We will return and I cannot speak highly enough of them.
And it was smack in the middle of the old quarter a perfect authentic spot.
You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The junior suite
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guildfordians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We arrived in Hanoi in the afternoon and were due to take an overnight train that night to Sapa but decided to drop by the Hotel to pay the balance room charges as we did not want to carry the extra cash around - they actually offered us a free shower and let us store our luggages for a few hours. needless to say, they were also able to arrange our pick up at 5am from the railway station when we returned, and again let us shower and store our luggage until the rooms are ready for check-in at 2pm.

Never have I stayed in a hotel with such immaculate service. Just another example: when we were waiting at the lobby for our day tour guide to pick us up, they offered to call the tour company to confirm they are on their way. And they did this not for just 1 day, not just to us, but to everybody and every single day. I later found out they had every room's daily travel plans written down on a piece of paper at the reception for their own reference - don't ask me how they know! Either they listened very closely to us when we chatted with them and make notes, or they have their own sources.

The rooms were oriental-themed, tastefully fitted, clean and new. The location was convenient - right inside the old quarter where you will spend many hours exploring - and within walking distances to famous attractions like the women's museum, thang long water puppet theatre, hoan kiem lake, etc.

Trust me and the many who have given rave reviews here, this is one hotel you will never regret staying in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reissee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#24 of 598 in Hanoi
963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £44 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing