We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Alamo, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I cannot praise the Essence Hotel highly enough!

Before my arrival I wrote with many enquiries about airport transfer, day trips, overnight trips to HaLong Bay, local sites and restaurants. In every instance I received an almost immediate response with all the information I requested as well as other pertinent comments and suggestions. When I did arrive (and, yes, all the preliminary arrangements were perfectly executed) and I thanked the gentleman who had been signing the emails from the Essence he most graciously and generously acknowledged all the other people on staff who had also participated. This is the Essence style; gracious, professional, and hospitable.

The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. There was no noise (and I am a very light sleeper), the temperature was comfortable (and I was able to adjust it easily), the bed comfortable. The restaurant downstairs was fabulous for breakfast, lunch, or dinner! Not only was the food excellent, fresh, and quickly delivered, but again and always the staff were outstandingly warm, helpful, and professional.

After sampling many hotels and restaurants in Vietnam, from Hanoi to Danang, to Hue, to HCMC,
as well in other parts of the world, from 5 stars down, I find the Essence Hanoi to be of the highest echelon and will look forward to another visit soon. If only I could live there permanently.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerAlamo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,532
    198
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
541
1,350
178
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Absolutely amazing place. Excellent service and right in the middle of all the action in old quarter. Delicious breakfast with a variety of all types of food. Fresh fruit coupled with both Asian and Continental food. Extremely friendly and hospitable staff which make you feel right at home. I found the staff always willing to help and they truly made my stay enjoyable and memorable. Extremely comfortable bed and room and very clean. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geetha1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We just got back from a lovely stay at the Essence Hanoi. We booked with them on the strength of the reviews from Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is extremely elegant, the rooms, while quite small, are very nicely decorated and the staff are amazing - it is like a 5* service and hotel. When I was ill, they did all they could to look after me and it felt like we were staying with extended family. The breakfast was delicious.

We also used the travel desk, which was good, although the "Sa Pa Trek" was a bit mis-described, as the programme did not really involve any trek element at all (although both the guide and Hanoi Essence did their best to accommodate us and give us a proper trek anyway).

Thank you to everyone at the Essence!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Located in the bustling old quarter, this hotel proved to be ideal for our first visit to Hanoi. The staff are extremely competent, friendly, relaxed and very efficient We enjoyed best service, clean and well-equipped room, peaceful sleep, good food in the hotel restaurant with it's excellent chef and friendly staff. We will certainly stay here again and recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sinorayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Without repeating what others have said this is an excellent choice in a great area. Food is good but dining in Hanoi is cheap and you have many other options. Staff are wonderful, we would book again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twoleggedferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Essence hotel truly deserved the traveller's choice award from Tripadvisor in 2013. It is a charming hotel in the middle of the Old Quarter and within easy distance to lovely boutiques, great local eateries and a nice French wine bar/cafe. Ta Hien Street, where it is located, is a bustling alley during the day and a street party place at night when all the bars/restaurants set up their tables outside. The rooms are clean, and has character - better than the bog-standard rooms you find in chain hotels. The staff are incredibly friendly and attentive. The best part if the breakfast at the Cafe -- not the widest selection, but the quality of food is good. The price (US$55.00 per night including breakfast) is what makes this hotel very special. I sure hope that they stay within the right price point even after they get awareded best boutique hotel in Hanoi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a small window- one of the corner rooms - the little natural light makes a huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLLSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
619 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

All the positive reviews you've read are on the mark.

Location - great spot in middle of Old Quarter, surprisingly quiet considering location
Rooms - modest size but clean, comfortable and well appointed
Inclusive breakfast - great selection
Staff - AMAZING
Price - not the cheapest you'll find, but best value-for-money by far

We used Essence as our base while touring northern Vietnam. We stayed for five nights over two weeks. We could not believe how good it was for the price.

The highlight was the service. From the moment we checked-in, the staff recognized us by name and were constantly attentive. We booked a couple of our side trips through the hotel (more below). There was a glitch in one trip. The hotel staff solved it with one phone call, then continued to follow-up throughout our stay to make sure everything else was going smoothly. They bent over backwards to make up for the glitch. The day we left my wife was ill. The front desk staff offered to go to the pharmacy with me to make sure I got the proper medication. They insisted on sending breakfast to the room even though my wife couldn't make it for the buffet breakfast. Unbelievable. They all spoke good English. I consider this a bonus. There is no reason people in a foreign country should speak my language, but I appreciate when they do.

We stayed in three different rooms. All were comfortable if not overly large. They were perfectly clean and decently appointed. Rooms included free high speed wi-fi, complimentary coffee and tea and in-room safes. They were all quiet, especially considering the hotel is on one of the busiest streets in the Old Quarter.

The inclusive breakfast is terrific. There is a selection of foods to suit everyone - congee, dim sum, noodles, rice, croissants, cheese, fresh bread, fresh fruit, yogurt, bacon, sausage, grilled tomatoes... They also offer freshly prepared pancakes, french toast, omelettes, eggs and pho to order - all included. The food won't win any Michelin stars, but very satisfying nonetheless.

Side trips - we booked our trips to Halong Bay and Sapa through the hotel. The trips were subcontracted. Both trips were good quality and well-organised. As noted above, when we ran into a glitch the hotel quickly solved it for us. Beware though that this service comes with a price. Many travel offices in Hanoi offer similar trips for much, much less. Presumably the quality and service are not as good, but be aware that if price is your number one consideration, you can do better waiting until you get to Hanoi.

The restaurant is also great for lunch and dinner. See the separate restaurant review.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#15 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#20 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing