We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #26 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great location”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great choice of hotel for Hanoi. Not expensive but decent rooms in a calming atmosphere. The staff are friendly and go out of there way for you. An example is how one member of staff escorted me to the chemist as he knew it would awkward for me to get what I needed as my girlfriend had twisted her ankle. He did this twice without question. Top man. The hotel is positioned amongst the bustle of Hanoi with people selling all matter of things, and close to busy street food and drinking bars. Suits us nicely. Would stay nowhere else. Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmc303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,595
    211
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
554
1,386
184
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bonn
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in January at the start of our 6-week Indochina trip. We had booked an airport transfer as it was our first time in Hanoi. As soon as the car drew up, the hotel doors opened and we were ushered inside by friendly helpful young members of staff. They really made us feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble, any query was dealt with immediately.
We had booked a suite and were automatically given one on a high floor. We had a living room, bathroom and bedroom - all spotlessly clean and nicely furnished with big sliding doors and balcony. No problems with noise.
Breakfast was good - a limited selection but everything was fresh and nicely presented. The restaurant staff was very friendly and service was fantastic.
We had dinner twice in the restaurant. Food and service were good, but atmosphere was lacking. I commented on this and soon received an e-mail from the manager outlining some changes that had already been put into place, including a new menu and restaurant name. This certainly shows that guest comments are taken seriously.
The location of the hotel is great for sightseeing and when we left, all the staff in the lobby came out to wave goodbye. A lovely place and a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montemaranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had the pleasure of spending 4 nights at this lovely hotel in mid January 2014
The room was spotless and the breakfast buffet was outstanding

He hotel was a welcome refuge from the hustle and bustle of The Old Quarter
There is a very vibrant art scene in Hanoi with countless very talented local painters etc
I had the privilege of purchasing several unique paintings.

The general manager of the hotel (Tung) went beyond the call of duty to act as a liaison between myself and the gallery

He followed up with the shipping company and the gallery owner several times after my departure to ensure that everything was in proper order

For this, I am truly grateful

Tung Nguyen, you are a true gentleman

Thank you again

Room Tip: Consider the top floor if you don't mind walking just 1 flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlitosSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel is absolutely excellent - the presentation and attention to detail is incredible. The staff are all exceptionally attentive and so friendly and nice. It is an ideal location in the old quarter. The restaurant is first class and breakfast was the best we had during our 3 week trip around Vietnam.

Room Tip: We were in room to the back, possibly room so front would be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyoldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, VA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We just spent two nights at the Essence Hotel and it was great. It's located right in the Old Quarter next to lots of little street bars (25 cent USD beers!) and is within a few minutes walk of the lake. The staff is very friendly and the rooms were immaculate. Breakfast was fantastic each morning and included a buffet along with complimentary made to order items like omelets and pho. I had the pho both mornings and it was great. Given how loud Hanoi is, our room was pretty quiet! They also provide you with a fruit basket when you arrive which was perfect after 20 hours of flying and eating airline food.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I cannot praise the Essence Hotel highly enough!

Before my arrival I wrote with many enquiries about airport transfer, day trips, overnight trips to HaLong Bay, local sites and restaurants. In every instance I received an almost immediate response with all the information I requested as well as other pertinent comments and suggestions. When I did arrive (and, yes, all the preliminary arrangements were perfectly executed) and I thanked the gentleman who had been signing the emails from the Essence he most graciously and generously acknowledged all the other people on staff who had also participated. This is the Essence style; gracious, professional, and hospitable.

The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. There was no noise (and I am a very light sleeper), the temperature was comfortable (and I was able to adjust it easily), the bed comfortable. The restaurant downstairs was fabulous for breakfast, lunch, or dinner! Not only was the food excellent, fresh, and quickly delivered, but again and always the staff were outstandingly warm, helpful, and professional.

After sampling many hotels and restaurants in Vietnam, from Hanoi to Danang, to Hue, to HCMC,
as well in other parts of the world, from 5 stars down, I find the Essence Hanoi to be of the highest echelon and will look forward to another visit soon. If only I could live there permanently.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerAlamo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Absolutely amazing place. Excellent service and right in the middle of all the action in old quarter. Delicious breakfast with a variety of all types of food. Fresh fruit coupled with both Asian and Continental food. Extremely friendly and hospitable staff which make you feel right at home. I found the staff always willing to help and they truly made my stay enjoyable and memorable. Extremely comfortable bed and room and very clean. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geetha1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#24 of 591 in Hanoi
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing