We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing service!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. They really treat you like royalty! We stayed in the junior suite and it was wonderful. The staff will go above and beyond for you - One of the reception staff, Em I think her name was, came with me to get my Vietnam Dong changed into Hong Kong Dollars because the money changer didn't speak English. I was so impressed! Very friendly, clean, modern rooms, everything was awesome.

Thanks Essence!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,581
    207
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
550
1,380
184
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel has quite rightly got good reviews from other travellers, so the only thing I can add is this: If anyone has anything bad to say about this hotel and especially the staff who work here, you can come round to my house and I will fight you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The reviews on this place were so good, I was a little skeptical. Could this many people really have given this place 5/5? But the stay was excellent, so I'm adding my own excellent rating to the pile.

The staff was great before and during our stay, so incredibly friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. Before even firm booking, we received a list of great recommendations from the hotel staff along with the room quote. Upon arrival, some of the best service of my life, really. We were celebrating a birthday and they surprised us with a cake and balloons in the room - fun! (They also provide fresh fruit and bottled water, which is great.) They were always at the ready to help us with bookings, directions, getting cabs, questions, everything.

Breakfast was quite good - liked that ample, delicious Vietnamese offerings were available. Food was very fresh and tasty.

Rooms are not huge, but are clean, very new and quite comfortable. We left for a couple days to do a Halong Bay cruise (recommended - they will store your extra luggage so you don't have to drag it all on the boat - very nice), so we stayed in two different rooms. One side of the hotel seems to offer more natural light, but will likely have a little more street noise. The other has minimal natural light, but is quieter. All rooms have a laptop in them so you can surf the web - nice touch. And wifi is free and reliable in the rooms and lobby (as it should be in every hotel).

They offer an airport pickup for a reasonable price, direct billed to you. Do it, as Hanoi cabs are famous for scams, taking you to a different hotel than you booked, overcharging, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xeno111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Everything here is exceptional! The staff are wonderful, breakfast is delicious and the location is great. The place is exceptionally clean, which I really appreciate. The staff helped arrange tours for us and never over- charged or scammed us. I think these are genuinely lovely people who take great pride in doing the right thing...as they should. We liked it so much that we decided to stay at the sister hotel in Hoi An. It's nice also, but the Hanoi staff can't be replicated. I highly recommend this hotel. Also, we extended our stay and the hotel discounted our rate since we dealt directly with them rather than agoda.

Room Tip: Higher floor level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

A small boutique hotel in the heart of the old town. the staff really know how to make guests welcome. Great advice and nothing is too much trouble. Very good breakfast which was included in the room rate. The restaurant is highly recommended for dinner - maybe a little pricier than the small restaurants down the road but the quality is superb as is the service. There is an ANZ ATM right outside the door. We booked our Halong Bay tour from the hotel and their recommendation for abaya cruises was excellent.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore NSW
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

If you want very expensive 6* luxury, go to the Metropole. If not, stay in the ESSENCE. Ideally located in the vibrant Old Quarter, with an extraordinarily courteous, friendly and efficient Vietnamese staff, who will help with everything you need. If we could afford to stay in the Essence for a month, instead of four nights, to explore Hanoi, we'd book and go back tomorrow. (This is being written in the Essence, Hoi An!) Perfect for travellers who like style without glitz.

Room Tip: We found the least expensive room more than adequate. It had one small window with no view. Who care...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

A truly amazing hotel located in the old quarter. I could not fault a thing, from the airport transfer, wonderful staff to the excellent food and wine in the Essence Restaurant. The room was also very spacious and spotlessly clean.

Don't waste your time looking at other hotels as this one was first class and very personal.

If you have time I would also recommend booking a trip to Tam Coc
( arranged through reception). it is known as the inland halong bay and was so beautiful and peaceful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 588 in Hanoi
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing