We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely flawless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #23 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Absolutely flawless”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed 7 nights at the essence and everything was wonderful from the internet reservation to our departure.
We scheduled a shuttle and although had a late arrival were happy to meet a smiling driver; we left early ( 4 am) and had breakfast in a bag waiting for us, as well as someone helping with the luggages!
Had done the checkout the night before, so all was in order for a smooth departure.
We enjoyed the freedom, to walk around, do nothing at the pool (small but never crowded) eat in town or at the hotel, (delicious food, maybe more expensive than other places in town, but it is often the case in hotels)
We used the spa and they accommodated us perfectly.
The hotel is not in the busy old town but 15 mn away. You can walk or take a shuttle who runs a few times a day, we used it to go to the beach, and it is always punctual.
We choose a family room for 2 teenagers and an adult, it was crowded but worked out well.
Breakfast is a delight, lots of fruits, eggs, we had a blast !!!
I highly recommend the place which gives you a sense of calm,within minutes of city activities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PascaleV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,579
    204
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
547
1,379
183
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Located in the heart of Old Quarter, this boutique hotel strives to give the best experience to its customers. Spacious and clean rooms come with complete noise free setup which bars all the street noise from below to guarantee a peaceful sleep. The suites are artistically designed too.

The Essence cafe is very famous in the area with patrons from other hotels visiting this restaurant. Vietnamese dishes are best to be tried here, the staff go the extra mile to explain how the dish is to be consumed.

The staff of this hotel are definitely its strength where in providing the best customer experience is surely the USP of this hotel. Steve, Stephen and Jack deserve special mention for their customer service.

The travel desk is also very efficient in booking the complete itinerary for us to Ha Long bay and train tickets to Sapa. If you need a visa to enter Vietnam then best is to get the travel desk to arrange a visa on arrival for you.

Overall a great place to stay while in Hanoi. Look no further.

Room Tip: Junior suite if you can go for it. Deluxe and Superior are also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roddamranganath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This may be a 3-star hotel but the service from the incredible staff puts the fancy 5-star hotels to shame. When we first checked in we asked the front desk staff where we could buy a SIM card. One young lady immediately went out and ten minutes later came back with a SIM card and put into the phone for us. Every single person in the hotel staff was enthusiastic and eager to please, and they came across as genuinely sincere and friendly. Essence Hanoi was the first hotel we stayed at during our three-week tour of Vietnam. As we traveled South and stayed at a dozen other hotels, most of which are 4 and 5 stars, we found that most of them provided very good service but somehow lacked the warmth and the personal ambience that was unique at Essence Hanoi.

Our room at Essence was very quiet, spotless and pretty (rose petals on the bed upon checkin was a nice touch). It was nice to have a laptop in the room so we could check email anytime without needing to leave the room. The hotel recommended SF Spa which was a five or ten minute walk away and it was great! We had couples massages there twice - ask for Hoan, who gave the best hot stone massage I've ever had!

We had lunch and dinner in the hotel restaurant a couple of times and the food was tasty. The daily breakfast was also very good.

The hotel was a short walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. Besides walking around the Old Quarters and browsing the shops there, we took a taxi everywhere else and it costs only a few dollars to get to other places.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlover2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and it was fantastic.
Great service and very friendly staff who go out of their way for you.
The food was amazing and steeping into the front door is like entering a perfect sanctuary that smells amazing. Loved it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights at the end of a trip to Cambodia and Vietnam. The hotel is located in the old town of Hanoi and was teaming with fun things to do all around it. The staff was exceptionally helpful and attentive. Great place to stay at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobsadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Contest, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent 4 nights in a de luxe twin and 1 night in a junior suite. We appreciate the quality of the staff; the room is clean and confortable. The emplacement in the old quarters of Hanoi with theirs restaurants and typical stores is very fine.
If we get back to Hanoi, we shall return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wokingham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was our first hotel in Vietnam for our long journey from North to South. It is in the heart of the Old Quarter and there are great bars and restaurants very near by at cheap prices. Our room was very clean and adequate for our stay and the staff were very attentive to all our needs. The breakfasts were very good and varied. On our first night we had dinner in the hotel due to late arrival and it was our first experience of Vietnamese food and very tasty. I would recommend this hotel due to location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 588 in Hanoi
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#197 of 588 in Hanoi
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing