We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #25 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here for just one night & I wish we had booked another night. Perfect central location in old quarter. Step out the front door and you are stepping into the action. We stayed in a superior room with a comfy king bed. No natural light through window but upgrades with views available. Good size room with clean, modern amenities. Friendly staff & thorough check in with suggestions on how to spend time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harmonysweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hanoi was one of the stops during our honeymoon. We decided to stay in the old quarter... We chose this hotel due to reviews and it was all true. From the second we arrived we where greeted with smiles and fresh drinks and cold towels. I think it was jack who booked us in and he was a delight to chat to and gave us information on places we wanted to visit. Our room 505 was setup with flowers and swans for our honeymoon and a lovely touching note for our honeymoon. We had a bottle of wine and fresh fruit and nibbles to. We upgraded to the suite so we had the free mini bar and laundry service which we used both for... Amazing turn around and great service. Room comfy, clear and modern with a Vietnam touch. Wifi was also very good. 100% I would return and recommend. We ate at the hotel restaurant which was equally amazing.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here for five nights, couldn't ask for a better hotel. Staff great and very helpful with things to do & recommend.Got picked up from airport & dropped off.Great location to everything.Very clean,lovely.Book direct & you get complimentary breakfast, snacks - chocolate bars,chips,nuts,etc drinks in the bar fridge were complimentary too - beers & soft drinks & can't forget the complimentary laundry service too that was a life saver.a beautiful welcome gift of white wine,fresh fruit,dried fruit,free wi-fi throughout the hotel,they even provide a laptop in the room for you to use,hotel safe, air-condition, room rate was so good.We paid $95- (US) a night,kept it when we did the Halong Bay overnight.Restaurant was great. We had lunch there for our City Tour we booked with them & dinner on the night we got back from Halong Bay as we were exhausted from the 4 hour drive back.Food is outstanding.No pool or gym but otherwise would stay again.

Room Tip: we had room 305.only 5 rooms per floor.Not much of a view but we didn't mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motherhen408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for three nights in a Junior Suite and then one night in an Essence Suite after a cruise in Halong Bay.
Location is brilliant. Very quiet. Comfortable beds. Free WiFi.Ate in the restaurant the first night. The food is very good but so are other restaurants nearby at better prices. The staff are fantastic as shown by the manager driving out personally to the airport to deliver a bag which had been left at the hotel due to a mix up.
Nice breakfast . Stay here. Junior Suite is the best value.

Room Tip: Choose junior suite. Room 505 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chunky1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at the Essence hotel for 4 nights and what a good choice. It has a great location in the Old Quarter and only 5mins from the lovely Hoan kiem Lake. We stayed in a Deluxe room, immaculate, free Wifi, bowl of fresh fruit on arrival and fresh bottles of water each day. The staff were fantastic, helpful, courteous, friendly , always cheerful and the service excellent.
We also dined 2-3 times at the superb restaurant, pleasant environment and again excellent service and great food and variety from local to Western.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Customer service was AMAZING, from chauffeuring us to the train station and picking us up again after our weekend in Sapa, recommending amazing local restaurants, even letting us have a shower in an unused room after our long flight when our room wasn't ready yet. Room was spacious, clean, lovely. Great breakfast. Unbeatable location. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AustralianinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

All things considered this might just be the best hotel I have ever stayed in. From the great location, immaculate rooms, charming and friendly staff to the restaurant that serves some of the best food (Viet and western), this place is hard to beat. It eating an old world charm with modern efficiency but delivered with warmth and sincerity. The restaurant staff are lovely and interesting to talk with. Front of house staff went to great lengths to help me plan my onward journey south and from booking train and plane tickets and hotel rooms nothing was too much trouble and it made for smooth sailing.

The fact that the staff seem to enjoy their work suggests a happy workplace and tht is a tribute to management.

The Essence is a delightful experience, hard to beat.

Gee, I only checked out 2 days ago and I already miss it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakembaKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#24 of 599 in Hanoi
1,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £50 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing