We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 6 Star Customer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #18 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A 6 Star Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The first thing that impressed me about this hotel is that my inquires where promptly & clearly answered. We stayed in Hanoi for 5 nights,during that 6 days the hotel help us booked all tours and activities. We went on a Halong bay cruise with Paradise Luxury, watched a Catru concert ( Traditional Vietnamese Music), rode a rickshaw and more. They even help us planned our itenerary on where to go and what to eat.

The hotel is well located near eating and shopping areas, less than a minute walk and you'll find yourself in street of food and drinks.

Hotel and its rooms are tastefully decorated with dark wood matched with light colored walls, along with soft pillows and feathery beddings. The rooms are suprisingly quiet even with the busy streets.
A laptop is provided with free internet and wifi. Complimentary drinks are given and if you book a junior suite wine, snacks, minibar and laundry are free of charge.

We only ate breakfast in the hotels restaurant. They provided an ample about of items to choose from your usual eggs, ham, oats, fruits and yogurt. Nothing special but overall good.

Finally the staff which for me what makes this hotel stand out.
They are very friendly and helpful willing to go our of their way ensure the customer is well taken care of. They help us transact with a local shop for my made to order stamp. Booked concert tickets for us,and the list goes on. They are always on alret to attend on customers need be it helping you carry your bag to pressing the elevator button. I have stayed in 5 stars hotels across Asia and without any hesitation I say that essence staff service can match or ever supprass that of a 5 star hotel. Remarkable "

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jed Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,485
    194
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
528
1,323
176
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at Essence Hotel in April 2014 on the recommendation of Trip Advisor. Fantastic location in the heart of Hanoi with everything of interest only a short walk away. Stayed here with several friends who all enjoyed the quality service offered by all the staff.
My family stayed in a family room which was clean, spacious and very comfortable. During our stay we spend 2 nights on Halong Bay organised through the Essence. Again they looked after every aspect of our trip and on return had rooms ready for weary travellers. The next day had an early flight and again the organised pick ups and had packed a takeaway breakfast for us.
Would highly recommend to families and all travellers as location is outstanding.
Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

So often these boutique hotels show the 5 star chains what real service is. Essence Hanoi is an exemplar of that. The friendly, and competent service here is as good as you will find. The staff enjoy their work, go out of their way to help and are great at picking and responding to the level of formality that the guest wants and expects. Recommendations for restaurants, bars, shops, day trips and even info about other cities in Vietnam were all great.

We loved our stay here; it just ticked all the boxes - nice room, comfy bed, free internet in the room, plenty of bottled water, good hot water, fabulous breakfast, terrific service for everything and they even let us have a birthday party in the lobby one night, in fact the staff joined in!

When you couple the quality of the hotel with the brilliance of the location, absolutely in the heart of the old town, I seriously would not think of staying anywhere else in Hanoi.

Room Tip: If you arrive at night the street is blocked off as a pedestrian mall, so taxi can't pull up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanmerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

From the time we started planning our visit with email communications to and from this great hotel, to the time we were waved off from the front door the service was fantastic. We only stayed 2 days, over a week with a trip to Sapa between, so it was really only a transit stop but what a stay it was. We arrive from a long flight from Perth to be met at the airport by the hotel driver, taken straight to the hotel and greeted by friendly staff a welcome hot drink and refreshing towel. The detail of explanations was incredible including maps and business cards (to make it easier to find way back to hotel). Our room was one of the suites including free access to mini bar and laundry service (which proved very useful), good size suite with clean bathroom, good shower and comfortable bed. Ticked all the boxes. Location was very central and we walked everywhere with ease, always to be welcomed back with smiles and personalised greeting. Australia hotel owners could learn a lot from a quick stay at this place. Our first breakfast was to die for, coffee was beautiful and kept coming. We were pleasantly surprised by the personal touch of the manager coming over and introducing himself, knowing who we were and what our plans were (side trip to Sapa) and explaining how our transport to the railway had been arranged. We were suitably impressed. Our side trip to Sapa (not booked through the hotel), involved leaving the hotel about 7pm well after our checkout, but they provided us complimentary access to one of their "Spa" rooms where we could shower and freshen up before our late departure, them supplying an "escort" to take us in a cab to the train station and not leaving until he had us settled in our allocated cabin. For anyone who has tried to do this on their own, you understand the value of this effort. We arrived to a darkened train, had to cross several rail tracks and work out the carriage as well as cabin number of the right train!! He made it so much easier. When we returned at 7am a few days later, they literally ran from the hotel to our cab across the street and insisted on carrying our luggage. The welcome was very warm and genuine, wanting to know how our trip went. They even arranged for the complimentary laundry we needed returned within the day which was a godsend to have all our clothes back clean ready for our next leg of vietnam. Our room was of course not available but again an offer of the spa room was made, but politely declined in place of having breakfast (at a very reasonable rate) in the restaurant. The manager again came over to chat and we stayed drinking coffee until about 10, when they announced our room was ready. Our friends arrived later that day to the same service, we had a meal in the Restaurant that night, same service, breakfast the next day before sadly leaving for Halong Bay. A truly wonderful experiance, thanks Mr Zoom (sorry missed original spelling), Sales and Reservations staff (via email), reception staff, bellboys, great escort to train station and fantastic restaurant staff. Every city should have an Essence Hotel.

Room Tip: Extra for suites is worthwhile, even if just for Laundry service
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in March and thoroughly enjoyed it.. Located in the bustling old quarter great to get a feel for this wonderful city.

Staff are so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Restaurant excellent

We intend to visit again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skelly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I am giving this hotel excellent 5 stars in all categories simply because I can’t give them 10. This is a 3 star hotel with a 5 star service and beyond. I have travelled throughout the world having stayed in hundreds of hotels and never have I encountered the hospitality and basic friendliness offered by this hotel which made you feel like you were home.

Essence is conventiently located in Hanoi’s Old Quarter so you are literally out of the door and into the action. We organised everything over Skype with their Travel Desk and in particular Thu (Jenny) who arranged our pick up service from the airport, our Ha Long Bay trip and our onward travel to Hue and HCMI. All documents, tickets etc where waiting for us when we arrived at the hotel. Our room was great and so was the food we ate at their restaurant which was accompanied by the sparkling personality of Tracey who offered her smiling face and insights into the food we were eating and the country she was from.

From the travel desk with Thu and the team to reception with Tom, Steven and the rest of the guys and front door chaps Bruce et al (who took us to our overnight train to Hue and settled us into the cabin and the hotel not accepting payment for the taxi to the Gare and back). Guys you do your hotel proud, your city proud, your country proud and me proud for the privilege of having met you all. See you on FB

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveller201160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was terrific! In the busy old quarter you have easy access to most sights. The staff were always smiling and helpful. They gave great advice and recommendations for restaurants etc. But they excelled themselves by holding our table booking for dinner even when we were an hour late from our tour of halong bay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larkfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#12 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#19 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing