We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanoi Haven in the old quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hanoi Haven in the old quarter”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the Essence Hanoi Hotel in early May 2014 and found the hotel to be a sanctuary amidst the chaos of the Hanoi old quarter district. From the moment we arrived the service was fantastic as was the advice for what Ha Long cruise to take to the recommendation and personal escort to a new spa for a much needed foot massage! The trip was for our 25th anniversary and the staff gave us a beautifully decorated room with lots of additional local treats, wine and fruit platter to sample. The restaurant staff were welcoming and friendly with a menu that had a good variety of foods to choose from. Would recommend this small boutique hotel to anyone travelling to Hanoi. I left my glasses in the foyer as we were leaving and they sent a staff member on his scooter to chase us in order to return my glasses - that is the type of exceptional service you can expect at the Essence Hanoi Hotel.

Room Tip: Junior Suite was beautiful and the bathroom was immaculate. Noise was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrjp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,561
    201
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
544
1,367
182
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at Essence in April/May 2014 and it was one of the best stays of our trip to Vietnam. The hotel is lovely, recommend the Essence Suites definitely worth the little extra, very spacious! We ate at the restaurant and found all the food to be really good. The location is great, in the Old Quarter close to everything. The highlight of Essence for us was the staff!! They were so helpful, organised all our transfers, Bruce was fantastic, he took us to the railway station and helped us get on the right train to Sapa, even delivering us right to the carriage so we didn't get lost. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always so happy and welcoming. Tracy and Ann who work in the restaurant were so nice! It really did make the stay in Hanoi even better. I can't recommend the Essence highly enough and am so happy we stayed there, we are talking about going back to Vietnam with our kids in a couple of years and will definitely stay at the Essence!

Room Tip: Recommend the Essence Suites, very spacious and the balcony was great to have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our stay at the Essence Hotel was an experience in itlself - a very positive one. We stayed for 4 nights in May 2014 in this small hotel in the Old Quarter.

Our room was excellent as were the staff. The staff were always ready and willing to have a chat and constantly welcomed us in our comings and goings. Everything was done quickly and with no fuss. Right from the welcoming cold drink when we arrived to the assistance with any request we had. The costs and charges were reasonable and we felt looked after (pampered even!).

If you are intending to stay in Hanoi, look no further than this excellent hotel

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor and could here street noise so if you are a light sleeper, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJP2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My group stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our holiday in Hanoi and did not regret with our booking . Hotel location is perfectly , just few minutes walking to water puppet theater ,local restaurants and specially international beer corner where we could exchange information with travelers from many different countries ,Excellent . I have stayed in many different hotels in my life,but its first time stayed at extremely friendly hotel with perfectly staff for English spoken ,helpful and smiling ,all of them always want to help us ,event called a taxi .Thanks for your excellent services and facilities . We are going to stay at this hotel only if come back Hanoi !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillipgrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Essence provided an excellent experience and a memorable experience on our first time to Hanoi. Within a bustling city,location is perfect and you can walk everywhere.The service is the winner, the staffs are extremely helpful and hospitable. We will stay here the next time we return to Hanoi

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

since we were woken up each morning at 5am by the local roosters! other than that, as other reviewers note, the staff are terrific, the hotel is great value for money in a great location. other than the roosters, you can still hear a bit of the hustle and bustle of Hanoi from the rooms, noticeable but not overpowering.
we arranged cars from and to the airport - back to the airport was fine, but the ride in - the driver parked his car in an uncovered parking lot and it was a furnace when we got in. it took practically the whole 45 minute trip in to town for the car to cool down. the rooms at the end of the hallway are next to the service elevator, with the beds right next to the elevator shaft. the noise wasn't so bad to be honest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVastMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essencehanoi, General Manager at Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share with us about your experience during your stay at the Essence Hanoi Hotel.

I regret to acknowledge your disappointment on the noise of a neighbouring rooster. Please be kindly explained that, like some other areas in the world, many Vietnamese have the habit of keeping pets in their houses and particularly a special kind of rooster like jungle fowl as a lovely pet and it caused nuisance to the neighbours sometimes. We all understand that depends on the awareness of the community and level of culture acknowledgment of owners. Otherwise, it is advisable that we keep the room windows shut.

With regards to the transportation from the airport, we both understand that now is summer in Vietnam, the outside temperature sometimes reaches 38 to 40oC. There is not any parking lot in the airport area having shelter thus it is really hot for cars to park under the sun in even 5 minutes. From now on, we will remind our driver to ask the passengers to wait for 5-10 minutes to cool it down.

We sincerely appreciate your concerns and seek for your kind understanding and look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Hanoi.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It must be difficult for an inner-city hotel to feel like a home away from home for guests, but Essence Hanoi achieved it for us. The reception staff were welcoming each time we went in and out of the hotel, and eager to help us with details of their city. Our room, though small, was comfortable, beautifully decorated, and with all the facilities you would expect, including free Wifi. Fruit was supplied, and flower petals sprinkled on the bed - a nice touch. The restaurant was superb. Breakfast offered a wide array of Asian and western cuisine, with lunch and dinner menus also varied. I recommend the fish pancake, which the waiter explained how to wrap and eat. The hotel is well-located in the Old Quarter, with just a short walk to Hoan Kiem Lake, the Dong Xuan Market, Opera House, and the Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre. We would certainly stay at Essence again if in Hanoi.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end of the corridor from the elevator and stairwell would be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cadarnle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 586 in Hanoi
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#18 of 586 in Hanoi
2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing