We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An oasis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Essence hotel was our base in Vietnam - we stayed there on 3 separate occasions for one night at a time. They stored our luggage while we went to sapa, halong bay and hoi an. We stayed in 3 different rooms - each room was spotless, very comfortable and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. The level of service was outstanding and essence puts a lot of larger (impersonal) hotels to shame. The food in the restaurant was of a high quality - excellent choice for breakfast and the staff were only too happy to tell us how to eat our unusual dishes! We booked essence after reading the excellent reviews in TA and we're not disappointed. We hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulu210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,531
    198
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
541
1,350
178
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Like many before us, we chose the Essence Hanoi Hotel based upon the reviews of other travelers. It was a great choice. From our initial contact and until we left after a 6 night stay, our experience was outstanding. The hotel arranged our visas upon arrival, airport transfers, and a 3 day 2 night Au Co Cruise of Ha Long Bay which was also fantastic. We stayed in a suite with a balcony that was a quiet, and the occasional morning rooster was an authentic reminder that we were in Vietnam. The restaurant's food was excellent as well. We apologize for not including everyone, but our favorite staff members were Jennifer and Amanita in the restaurant, and Andrew, Jack, Sophie, and Suzy Nonami. Overall, this was probably the most professional and fun hotel staff we ever experienced. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoandgmt412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Hanoi essence for 2 nights during our trip to Vietnam.
The hotel is very conveniently located in the centre of the Old Quarter. Rooms are nice and clean and breakfast is particularly good. Service was good and the hotel organised our airport pick-ups very efficiently. Prices are very reasonable for the quality of the service offered, so we would definitely recommend it to travellers looking for a good value for money option in Hanoi. It's all that you need for a fab stay in Hanoi

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValeriaLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you want to be in the middle of Hanoi historic culture with the original street layout and architecture of old Hanoi, then this is the place to stay. It is within walking distance to the lake of the Restored Sword The staff are very attentive, and Steve was a great help for advice of where to go. There is a tour desk located in the lobby. We had a tour guide called Rick who taught us a lot about the culture and history of Vietnam during a 3 1/2 drive to Ha Long Bay with a private van and boat. You won't believe how many motorbikes there are on the road and how the traffic somehow weaves in and out without hitting each other.
Rooms are spacious with a private bathroom.
Kitty corner to the hotel was a great local bar called the Green Pepper. Busy but fun.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor. I would recommend asking for a balcony room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJSPTheSweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel is in the middle of the old quarter which was fantastic to enable us to be immersed in the hectic flow of Hanoi life especially after dark.
The hotel itself is not large but lends itself to being more personable. We stayed on the top floor, 8, and weather was exceedingly hot and the air con tended to struggle. I should have spoken to the front end staff earlier as they were quick to act on our behalf. Our 3rd night was changed into a luxury suite.
Staff here were amongst the best we have ever experienced. They were polite, professional, personal, had a sense of humour and nothing was too much trouble.
A pool would have been great but the experiences offered due to location etc made up for that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I spent 4d/3n at the Essence Hanoi from May 27-31, 2014. We wish to commend the staff led by Frank, Jack, Sophie, Chris, Ann, Alex et al for making our stay a most enjoyable one. Perfect location at the heart of the historic old quarter. For a boutique hotel, the room was tastefully furnished, while the bed and pillows were so comfortable that our sleep was uninterrupted. The food was excellent, specially the authentic Vietnamese cuisine like their various salads, pho, spring rolls, etc. -- natural and fresh, delicious and flavorful, healthy and nutritious! But most of all, the quality of customer service was excellent, because the people were as authentic as the food -- indeed the "essence of Hanoi" comes to life in this charming hotel. The prices are extremely reasonable for the quality of stay, food and service. Incidentally, unlike most other hotels around the world that require full payment in advance, this is the only hotel that asked us for a mere deposit of US$75 to hold our reservation for 4d/3n including a late check-out.

My wife and I have decided to send our 4 young adult kids to Hanoi in the fall and stay at Essence Hanoi, so they, too, may relish the experience.

And thanks, too, to all travelers and tourists who have contributed to tripadvisor for making travelling a lot easier and less stressful. Indeed, Tripadvisor is a traveler's best friend!

-- Willy Arcilla (Manila, Philippines)

Room Tip: You must specify if you want a window in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WillyArcilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We chose to stay in Essence hotel in Old Quarter based on the great reviews we read on Trip Advisor, and we were so glad we did! Everything the other reviewers wrote was true. The service in this small yet cozy hotel is superb! The room is pretty nice and clean, but what made us the happiest people in Hanoi was the sincere-friendly smile of all staff there and the amazing delicious food in Essence Cafe!! The service was truly excellent!
We were also very happy with the location of the hotel as it is so close to everything; street food, souvenir shops, and walking distance to the famous Hoan Kiem lake.

We will definitely recommend Essence hotel to our friends! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Febby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#15 of 579 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#20 of 579 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing