We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

First of all the only reason I'm giving this place 4 stars instead of 5 is that we happened to stay at another hotel in hanoi for the first night of our trip and it was slightly better.
That's not too say that this property isn't amazing and the staff are fantastic.
Sophie on the front desk was outstanding and so helpful as were all the other people that work there, it's really the people that make this place as good as it is.
We stayed at the elegance diamond on our first night and that was just a slightly better hotel with a nicer restaurant but there's certainly not much in it.
Over all I would still highly recommend staying here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank symonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,561
    201
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
544
1,367
182
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
General Santos, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Again am thankful to tripadvisor and those who shared their reviews about this hotel. Essence Hanoi Hotel is truly number one. Airport pick up was done even if we had last minute flight change. When we arrived at the hotel lobby we were given a helpful orientation and map about Hanoi. What stood out was the genuine concern of the hotel staff they really go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Clarissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed at the Essence last year ,returned again this year with friends ,lovely little hotel right in the heart of the old quarter, the staff at the hotel are what make it so special ,all so helpful .they organised several trips which were all great .would go back time and time again all our friends were impressed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 89deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Essence hotel was our base in Vietnam - we stayed there on 3 separate occasions for one night at a time. They stored our luggage while we went to sapa, halong bay and hoi an. We stayed in 3 different rooms - each room was spotless, very comfortable and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. The level of service was outstanding and essence puts a lot of larger (impersonal) hotels to shame. The food in the restaurant was of a high quality - excellent choice for breakfast and the staff were only too happy to tell us how to eat our unusual dishes! We booked essence after reading the excellent reviews in TA and we're not disappointed. We hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulu210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Like many before us, we chose the Essence Hanoi Hotel based upon the reviews of other travelers. It was a great choice. From our initial contact and until we left after a 6 night stay, our experience was outstanding. The hotel arranged our visas upon arrival, airport transfers, and a 3 day 2 night Au Co Cruise of Ha Long Bay which was also fantastic. We stayed in a suite with a balcony that was a quiet, and the occasional morning rooster was an authentic reminder that we were in Vietnam. The restaurant's food was excellent as well. We apologize for not including everyone, but our favorite staff members were Jennifer and Amanita in the restaurant, and Andrew, Jack, Sophie, and Suzy Nonami. Overall, this was probably the most professional and fun hotel staff we ever experienced. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoandgmt412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Hanoi essence for 2 nights during our trip to Vietnam.
The hotel is very conveniently located in the centre of the Old Quarter. Rooms are nice and clean and breakfast is particularly good. Service was good and the hotel organised our airport pick-ups very efficiently. Prices are very reasonable for the quality of the service offered, so we would definitely recommend it to travellers looking for a good value for money option in Hanoi. It's all that you need for a fab stay in Hanoi

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValeriaLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you want to be in the middle of Hanoi historic culture with the original street layout and architecture of old Hanoi, then this is the place to stay. It is within walking distance to the lake of the Restored Sword The staff are very attentive, and Steve was a great help for advice of where to go. There is a tour desk located in the lobby. We had a tour guide called Rick who taught us a lot about the culture and history of Vietnam during a 3 1/2 drive to Ha Long Bay with a private van and boat. You won't believe how many motorbikes there are on the road and how the traffic somehow weaves in and out without hitting each other.
Rooms are spacious with a private bathroom.
Kitty corner to the hotel was a great local bar called the Green Pepper. Busy but fun.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor. I would recommend asking for a balcony room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJSPTheSweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 586 in Hanoi
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#18 of 586 in Hanoi
2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing