We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #25 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Incredible Value”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment we were enthusiastically greeted by Jack at the front door, to the spacious clean quiet cool room and generous breakfast of western and Vietnamese foods (try the strong Vietnamese coffee!) we loved this hotel and its gracious staff. Great location in old quarter, ATM right outside the door, helpful staff. Hanoi and Essence Hotel were great places for our introduction the Vietnam.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank deeandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,595
    211
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
554
1,386
184
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Essence Hotel was wonderful, staff go the extra mile on a daily basis to ensure the highest customer experience. Rooms are to a very high stand, restaurant food is fabulous, breakfast is excellent and I would absolutely recommend this hotel to friends traveling to Hanoi.
Jack who works on reception is a super star :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd and 3rd floor to back of the hotel and it was really peaceful. The location is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed 6 nights in total at Essence Hanoi Hotel. They have excellent customer service staff, who know their city very well and who give great advice - including tours, taxi fares, sight seeing, restaurants, directions, money, etc etc. The rooms were very comfortable, the restaurant had lovely food and room service was excellent. Laundry done every day, and nice cold drinks appear from no where when you need them. All of the staff were cheerful and professional, and would be the best hotel team I have seen. Is right in the Old Quarter and easy to get back to for a break when you need one. Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShazzerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

In May me and my family we're meant to stay at Essence in Hanoi for only one night and booked the hotel the night before arrival. We ended up staying for 3! We had a small issue with our reservation, that we had booked online the night before. We wanted an extra bed in the room. We made the reservation through their website as to avoid risk by using Booking.com where we couldn't select a roll-on bed. The confirmation email showed a small mistake but I assumed it was something with the system as I had double checked everything and the price added up. This however did turn out to be a big issue when arriving at the hotel. It took half an hour of discussion and pointing out that the numbers added up for them to give us our room. However never had I seen a staff so apologetic! The following days they jumped through hoops for us, we received a complimentary diner at their amazing restaurant, were offered a refund for our taxi from the train station, were upgraded to a nicer suite for a very good price. And we in turn ended up staying three nights instead of the planned 1. Great hotel, great food, great service, and very competent staff.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the windows, certain rooms don't really get any natural daylight which might bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ana4210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Essence for 3 nights from 6 June 2014. All in all, there were 8 of us staying in 5 rooms. The hotel is very well located in the Old quarter, and is surrounded by shops, cafes, bars etc. We stayed in the junior suites and the Essence suite, and thought the rooms were very good value for money. (Note this is a small hotel with 8 floors only). But what sets the Essence apart from other hotels we've stayed at over the years, is the exceptional service from the front desk staff. Especially Jack and Sophie who were excellent in organising all kinds of things - the standard tour bookings, restaurant + shopping recommendations, where to change money for the best rates, help in purchasing local SIM card... and the list goes on. It was like staying in a suite with our personal butler/ friend to organise everything for us.

Room Tip: Just a tip - junior suites are nice and spacious, but you have to step into a bath for your shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked this hotel as it was rated so highly on Trip Advisor, and we quickly understood why.

Such friendly, helpful and informative staff - nothing was too much trouble for the reception, excursion and restaurant team. We had some laughs with the reception staff - they really added to our holiday and we won't forget them.

The hotel itself is a very welcome oasis from the hustle and bustle of the streets outside; quiet and tranquil.

The hotel is about 30-60 mins away from Hanoi airport (depending the time of day you're travelling) and is ideally located, centrally in the city. Markets, bars, street food, spa, Japanese Bridge very close by.

We broke our visit to Hanoi into two short stays (including a trip to Ha Long Bay in between - took just over 3 hrs by car to get there, by the way) and both times the bedrooms were spacious, modern, clean, and came with their own laptop (a first for us!).

Tip: we learnt from the staff that there's a chance you'll get a better deal by booking directly with the hotel rather than via one of the usual online booking agents. It's worth emailing the hotel directly to see what they can offer.

It was a pleasure to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel in the middle of the old quarter. Walking around we did not see anything as polished. We checked in very early and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. An idea we had for an excursion was arranged in just a few minutes. A welcome juice came shortly as we waited for our room, and a fruit bowl appeared right after we settled in. Not just for the price, which was a bargain, but this level of service is impressive. It made our first trip to Hanoi even more special.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Apolonio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#24 of 591 in Hanoi
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing