We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab place in the thick of it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #20 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab place in the thick of it”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We could not be happier with our accommodation in Hanoi. We've spent 3 days here and the stay has been perfect. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Their English is fabulous although it doesn't help out Vietnamese . Rooms are crisp and clean with lots of small touches. If you call the front desk for assistance they will be at your door in under 2 minutes! The location is perfectly placed in the old quarter, 2 minutes from Hoan Kiem lake. The breakfast is pretty amazing especially as it's included in the price. We will definitely come back here when we visit Hanoi.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hairywoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,522
    200
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
538
1,346
178
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for over a week while we were in Hanoi. The staff here are amazing, attending to your every need. My partner ruptured his eardrum on the plane trip over so we had to cancel our trip down to Hoi An. They were able to sort all of this out with the hotel in Hoi An, were able to book in the same room we were staying in for those extra days and were able to get us to an International doctor. We were asked constantly whether everything was okay and always helped when needed. We were able to keep our luggage there while we went to Halong Bay. Breakfast was brilliant, although it would have been good to have some vegetarian hot meals. The hotel is quite small which means you are able to interact on a more personal level with the staff as you see then everyday and they have the time to talk to you and ask about your day and what you have planned. Wonderful experience, thank you!

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor which means there was hardly any noise from the street except from a rooste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helpchlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Everything you read about this Hotel is true. Its unbelievable. Brilliant service,Brilliant Cafe,Brilliant staff!!! I really cant say enough good things. From the moment you arrive they swamp you to carry your luggage. Front staff are quick and efficient.Rooms are basic but clean,tidy and comfortable.They even provide a notebook computer.We had a family adjoining room.Perfect!
The Cafe is simply superb. We ate there all the time.Attentive staff,fantastic food at a great price.Yes its more expensive than outside but its clean,safe,tidy and fresh authentic food!
I would never stay anywhere else in Hanoi. This would be the best service and food I have ever had in a Hotel anywhere!! Now outside the Hotel its mahem. Hanoi is so busy.Shops and people everywhere. Very interesting place. Its like stepping into a timewarp coming back to the Hotel.
Do yourself a favour,stay here and see what old fashion service is all about!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Our_USA_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binningen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We had such a great time at the essence hotel!!
The hotel is in the center of hanoi, everything is near, so you can walk around the city and visit different things. The personal was very friendly and helpfully.
They also booked a trip and the bustransfer to the next city for us.
The room was beautiful and very clean, the food was delicious. Also the service was very friendly!
Next time were in hanoi, we will choose this hotel again!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christoph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for a total of 3 nights at Essence in Hanoi and thoroughly enjoyed the whole "Essence" experience. From our first welcome by Jack to our departure we were made to feel very welcome by the wonderful staff.
From tips with food to sightseeing they were extremely helpful.
We were able to store most of our luggage during our 3 day Ha Long bay cruise whic was a godsend.
Will definatley be staying again on out next trip to Hanoi

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night in this hotel. Very frequently, I am used to stay in airport hotel nearby Noi Bai Airpot but I did in thus hotel in this moment.
Amazing! Guest room, food, almost everything was very nice. At any time, the hotel can be satisfied you 100%.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 승계 이
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our group of 9 had total of 4 rooms with connecting doors. The rooms were small but nice and quiet and had all the necessary amenities and free wifi. The hotel was very helpful, provided recommendations and arranged cabs and airport transportation. They held our luggage when we left for Halong Bay for 2 days. They also organized a birthday cake and sang to help us celebrate the birthday of 1 of family members. Besides the good breakfast selection, the Essence Restaurant was also excellent when we had lunch there. Delicious food with attentive service. The only thing that can be improved in our opinion was the slow check-in process and luggage delivery.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#13 of 578 in Hanoi
2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#19 of 578 in Hanoi
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing