We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winning formula”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A winning formula”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great location - situated in the old quarter and just 2 minutes walk to the bia hoi corner.

Great staff - staff were always smiling. They looked happy and enjoyed their work.
We were looking for a local sim card. The staff asked about our needs and sent a member out to buy us one. They even put it on and tested it was working properly.

The room was nicely decorated, comfortable and clean. Unfortunately, it had no window.

We will definitely stay there again but ask for a room with windows.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hiho_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,581
    207
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
550
1,380
184
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A great little hotel that we chose to stay at based on the reviews on TripAdvisor.
It lived up to all expectations and was in a brilliant location to see the sights of Hanoi.
All the staff were so friendly, helpful and always full of energy which was great to experience at the start and end of each day.
We were there for 5 nights in August [Very Hot]
A special time was spending the day with a guide who took us to many of the "not so touristy" places [local places, alley ways and villages] A very full day but definitely the highlight of our time in Hanoi.We chose this as we had been to all the regular attractions by our selves.
Would I stay there again............Yes.........or maybe even in the new wing of the hotel which is right next door to the the Essence Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhulme1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in total. For 3 of those nights we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a spacious suite! Very comfortable room and especially the bed. Ate at the restaurant several times and the food was delicious. All the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. All in all a great experience for the end of our trip. Thank you!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CharingX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were very impressed with the lovely facilities of this hotel; especially for the price. It's in a perfect location near the famous beer corner, and it's close to everything in the old quarter. We wanted to say a big thankyou to the wonderful staff, who went out of their way with everything. Thanks Eric, Clayton, Jane, and Harry
P.s thankyou for the beautiful honeymoon welcome

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Damianjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a wonderful time at Essence Hanoi, the hotel is very conveniently located, the staff very friendly and very helpful. We ate twice at the restaurant, which is also very good, though pricy. I'll definitely recommand it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabidai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

the best hotel , we booked 2 rooms for few days , steyed 2 stays 1 day stay
the staff was wonderfull , good food nice brakfast , womderfull hospitality
abselutly the best i travel a lot never like this place
this guys are amezing

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avi-lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I didn't stay at this hotel, but would on a future trip now that I have seen it and enjoyed the spa. It was my last day in Hanoi and I had decided it would be nice to have a few spa services. I happened upon this spa and it had only been open a week or so. I went for a two hour service that included a body scrub and massage. Both were excellent! The people working there were friendly, welcoming, and professional. I am not a regular spa-goer, but they made me feel comfortable and at ease. The facilities were clean and new. It is a very small facility and I believe I was the only customer there that afternoon. I would highly recommend for a low key escape from the bustling city.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 588 in Hanoi
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Property: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Address: 22 Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence Hanoi Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa ensures you an unrivalled luxury boutique experience just steps away from the Lake of the Restored Sword, nestled in the vibrancy, excitement and captivation of Hanoi's most historic location - the Old Quarter. Rooms have open windows, very quiet yet in the center of Old Quarter. Inter-connecting room for families available. Private laptop in each room with free wifi internet, Essence restaurant opens daily from 6.30AM until 10.30PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing