We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first experience, will return”
Review of Hanayuki Dao Tan

Hanayuki Dao Tan
Ranked #675 of 2,240 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great first experience, will return”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Japanese restaurant we were on our way to turned out to be closed and we happened to come across Hana Yuki on Mai Hac De. 6 pm on a saturday night and an abundant staff greeted our party of four welcomingly and invited us to choose the ground floor or private rooms upstairs. Our upstairs room way cool and intimate. A waitress, who spoke very good English, stayed with us while we looked over the menu in case we had questions and for basic efficiency. Our drinks came right away, we were offered a little mise en bouche while we waited. Our food came as it was ready, as everywhere in Vietnam, in whatever order it was prepared. And it was delicious. Thick slices of fresh sashimi, perfectly cooked gyoza, savoury tamago wrapped eel, piping hot miso, seared tuna with lightly spicy sauce, fresh octapus sashimi. Unfiltered sake, one option from a good list. A very satisfying meal at a reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoniqueinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not the best, but OK”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I visit Japanese restaurants in Hanoi occasionally, and for this one these are my points:

- Private rooms, although a bit small but good enough for groups of 2-3 persons. Each has its own air-conditioner. (+1)

- The price is a bit less expensive than some other Japanese restaurants. (+1)

- Dishes are quite OK, compared to those of more costly restaurants. (+1)

- Parking space available. (+1)

- Offer welcome fruit drinks. (+1)

- Outside the rooms, staff chatting loud at times. (-1). Compared to other Japanese restaurants in Hanoi, their service is not bad, but certainly not the best.

Overall, they deserve 4-star of of 5.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vingrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanoi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“hanayuki”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We heard this was a great restaurant. Two of us visited tonight and the food was excellent. However it was a little expensive and service was awful. The food to ages to arrive (after also having to remind staff of our drinks order) and the staff looked totally uninterested and bored. Only one polite gesture and a slight hint of smile all night! Get over yourself Hanayuki and employ some staff who have manners and take service seriously. There are plenty of other better restaurants to choose from in Hanoi.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I went to the one at 25 Mai Hac De”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

As far as I can remember, we ordered Sashimi, nigiri zushi, sushi and tempura fried chicken . There are some kinds of sashimi here but I like tuna most.

So +1: for those things above
+1: for private and nice room
+1: relaxing atmosphere
-1: wasabi was not spicy enough! the taste is light!
-1: the waitress was not professional enough, she brought my friend a full cup of beer but didnt open a soft drink can for me.
-1: the waitress didnt close the door carefully when she walked out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jullie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanayuki Dao Tan also viewed

 

Been to Hanayuki Dao Tan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing