We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great services and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Ranked #80 of 585 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great services and good value for money”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed for 4 nights total. 1 night initially and then we booked a one-night tour to Halong Bay/Bai Tu Long Bay followed by a 2 day Sapa tour. We booked both through the hotel. The service was very good and helpful, and the effort put in was really exceeded our expectations. All of the staff including those working out back in the kitchens and restaurant were friendly and never gave the impression we were bothering them even if we had lots of questions to ask. The front desk staff during our stay were Tim and Binh (who worked nights). Tim was great at recommending places to eat and a couple of times even wrote out in Vietnamese what we could eat at a particular restaurant in the case that we had trouble ordering! Rooms were clean and were got an upgrade for one night to the Honeymoon suite. The deluxe rooms aren't big but had nice decor. We also got free early check-in the first day we were there. There was also always free tea, coffee, and water available in the restaurant, which made a good place to just sit and relax for a while. Would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat if we returned to Hanoi. Great value for money considering we had stayed at hotels in Vietnam that cost more but weren't as nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris23L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    138
    27
    14
    9
See reviews for
58
338
82
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We, a family of three adults, stayed here for six nights in Dec 2012/Jan 2013 in their Honeymoon Suite as this room had sufficient space and the sofa served as an extra bed for the third person. We also arranged for the hotel to pick and drop us from/to the airport. A greeter met us immediately upon our arrival but we had to wait forty minutes before our car arrived. We were welcomed effusively and were treated to refreshments and fresh fruit while we were briefed on the hotel, tours, Hanoi sights and restaurants. Two maps were provided. The Honeymoon Suite, 501, is really a room with sufficient space for three adults. The room and the bathroom were clean and did not smell musty as many small budget hotels do in humid climates. The bed and furnishings were more than adequate and a basket of fruit and a bottle of good Vietnamese red wine came with the room. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, juice, Pho, eggs, bacon, sausage, butter, jam and some excellent bread. The Vietnamese coffee was unique and we purchased a Kg. from the hotel to take back with us, as their blend was not available in the market. The room was cleaned daily and toiletries, including toothbrushes, were replaced. Hot water was available at all times. A laptop was provided which we did not use as we had our own. The room also had a large wardrobe and an electronic safe.

The hotel is staffed by some lovely people who try their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible and we were made to feel quite at home.

The hotel arranged three full day tours to Halong Bay, Tam Coc and the Perfumed Pagoda, all of which were reasonably priced.

Don’t take rooms facing the road if you are bothered by traffic noise. This is Hanoi and even on the fifth-floor the noise from the swarms of motorbikes was quite audible.

A suggestion I would make is to serve breakfast promptly at 7 AM, as we were rushed to be on time for our tours.

The location is excellent and we enjoyed walking to all the sights in Hanoi in the cool December weather.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to people who want a clean and homely place to stay while in Hanoi. The value that we got in return for the money we paid was fantastic – in fact, the biggest bang for my buck in any hotel that I have stayed. Of course, this hotel is not for those who want five star luxuries and who have large budgets. This is a hotel where your money will go a very long way, a clean, modest, most adequate and certainly, a very friendly place.

Room Tip: Traffic noise in rooms facing the street may bother some people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FernandesC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

we stayed at the Tu linh Palace in Hanoi for 3 nights and it was our haven of peace in busy Hanoi. It's ideally situated next to the old town and easy walking from some great places to eat.
The rooms were very nice but a little noisy. I'm not sure that it's avoidable in Hanoi. The staff was extremely friendly accomodating. All that for a very reasonnable price.

On the down side, we booked a tour to Halong with them that was disappointing. It was sold as a luxury trip with White Dolphin and we ended up in a rather run down boat.

Over all, great hotel, go there, but make sure you shop arround before booking your trips.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeConstantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Extremely clean, with very helpful staff. The breakfast offered traditional western style food or Vietnamese style pho; both options were wonderful. Serving coffee and tea 24/7 the staff enjoyed helping out wherever possible (with recommendations, map directions, arranging transportation, indicating which money exchanges had the best rates). When we were picked up early for a tour, the hotel staff made us egg sandwiches to go. Located in the Old Quarter and walking distance to everything in town, this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We checked in here as Hanoi was very cold and we just wanted somewhere with heating as I was nt feeling well. From athe moment we arrived I was looked after so well. They checked if I wanted food upstairs if I was not well to come down, checked the room was warm enough, filled me up with tea and coffee and fruit and the attentiveness of the staff was fantastic. It's horrible being ill from home but I felt like I was in the best possible alternative place. Everything was clean and tidy and all the staff learnt our names immediately making us feel special. They helped with directions for places and just really couldn't do enough. I don't think I have ever had service like it. Thank you so so much to you all for making our stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisonfey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I could not be more impressed with the Tu Lihn Palace Hotel. We stayed in a nice room, with a brand new bathroom and amazing hot water - needed in cold Hanoi. The breakfast was lovely with a large range of choice and there always tea and fruit available all day. However what makes this hotel is the staff - they could teach a course on good customer service!! Ms Bac and Tim made us feel so welcome and like we had come home. They booked our Halong bay trip with Alova Cruises (fabulous as well), our sleeper train to Hue and picked us up from the airport. Even when we came back from the cruise and didnt have a room booked they let us take a shower, fed us and let us use the internet! They exceeded all my expectaions and I would definatley recomend them to any traveller travelling to Hanoi (and already have done!) Its is also well located nr the market and lake. You will not be dissapointed !

Room Tip: Rooms to the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellesbelles1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We flew into Hanoi, so this hotel was our first experience in Vietnam. We arrived late at night and the hotel had arranged to pick us up at the airport. We were welcomed warmly. The "honeymoon room" on the 6th floor was clean, attractive and eqipped with a computer. The bath was stylish and immaculate, the bed comfortable. Complimentary fruit in the room (including fruits we had never encountered) and a bottle of Dalat wine were very welcome. Breakfast was adequate, the location in the old quarter superb, but the best thing about this hotel was the constant and enthusiastic helpfulness of the staff. Manager Tim and his associate Ms. Bac, plus their assistants Min and Dien, were always ready to provide information, coffee, tea, fruit, to book tours, arrange train tickets and taxi rides, etc. Tim's English, in particular, was excellent, which made communication easy. We arranged our side trips to Sapa and Halong Bay with their assistance and were never disappointed. We returned to the hotel from each side trip, sometimes at impossible hours, and were always welcomed warmly and by name. Even when we were not spending the night, we were offered rea and coffee, and once even a complimentary breakfast. Having a place to store luggage and to wait for night trains was invaluable. This was five-star service at a budget price.

Room Tip: The best rooms have windows facing the street. Upper floors will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntsinthePants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#61 of 585 in Hanoi
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#86 of 585 in Hanoi
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#110 of 585 in Hanoi
1,306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tu Linh Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tu Linh Palace Hotel

Property: Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Address: No 2B Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem | Old Quarter, Hanoi 84, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 585 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tu Linh Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tu Linh Palace Hotel located at Hanoi's Old Quarter, erected on the street of old quarter hanoi is this famous near around: 36 old street, Dong Xuan market, Hoankiem lake, Ngocson temple and Chuongduong bridge… is about 800 metres prolonged. The area offers a wide range of excellent Vietnamese and Western food style and Surrounded many shops selling silk, souvenir with many other special of Old Quarter, Hanoi, Vietnam. The lobby and reception area are awash with colors of Oriental luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tu Linh Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing