We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we found it earlier!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Ranked #53 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Fantastic staff, very helpfull and enthuastic with excellent english! perfect position just around the corner of the lake in the old quarter, where you can go for a run or do laughing yoga in the mornings! Also makes it really easy to find where you are being so close to the lake because it í really easy to get lost in thís city.
Rooms are clean and modern, not noisy! Bathroom is the best we've had in all of Vietnam! The shower ís awesome! you have to try it to know what i mean!
wifi is fast and the in room laptops are a great idea for wrtting emails, or ìf you don't have an iphone.
Breakfast ís included and so much to choose from, western food (eggs, bacon, sausages, pancakes, fruit and yoghurt, cearal, pateries ) as well as traditional vietnamese style(pho, fried rice, and other things of whom their names i am not sure, but taste good! ), they make the scrambled eggs and omlettes in front of you and you pick the ingreidents.
The staff aranged airport transfer for us and can do tours.
we ramdomly walked into the hotel after returning from Ha Long Bay and wish we had found thís hotel when we first arrived to Hanoi a week earlier.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
There are newer reviews for Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

I had a deluxe double room with a small balcony in mid November. The room, for the promotional price is well above average. Very clean and plenty of room. Nice TV and bathroom with large enclosed shower and good water pressure. Hopefully they will add bathrobes to the rooms in the future. The large bed was actually just two put together and it and the hump was noticeable. That being said, it was still comfortable. Welcome fruit plate and the room has a water kettle and a couple coffee/tea packets. Each room has a laptop for guests to use, which is great! I had my own laptop, but that would be a really great feature for those not travelling with one. Wifi worked pretty well.
The staff is very friendy and nice. They always great you with a smile and greeting and seem eager to please. I asked for a late check-out and the young man behind the counter wasn't sure and said he would check with his manager. Later I was able to check out at 1pm, which was nice as I was not departing Hanoi until 6pm.
I opted for the car service both ways for $18/way. I live in Vietnam and could probably arrange a taxi for $13 or so, but it is also nice just to have someone waiting for you and not have to deal with the hassle.
The only problem I had was the breakfast buffet. It was less than impressive. Got an omelette, which was fine....but the bacon, potatoes and sausage was cold. The dining room is nice, although small and seeing that it is a relatively small hotel one can understand that they cant have some huge spread for a buffet. However, the bacon container was completely full at 7am. They should have have smaller portions available so that they can replace and always keep it fresh and hopefully hot.
All in all, it is a very nice place. The rooms are quite comfortable and the staff great1 The location is superb and they will probably do very well. MOST important question, as always, is "Would I return?" I would.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms on lower floors will have some noise from traffic and the street, but that's...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meracus Hotel H, Manager at Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Dear Patrick,

It's our sincere thanks to your support and valuable comments to improve our services. We do realize that F&B is the most area need focusing and in the progress of improving. We do hope that our improved breakfast will make an impression to you next time.

Other than that, we are glad to learn that our service did contribute to your pleasant trip to Hanoi and that you had a good time here. We will continuously improve our service to meet all your expectations and serve you better.

Once again, thank you very much for being the one of the first distinguished guests to stay with us during the rough opening. We are looking forward to seeing again soon.

Kind regards with thanks,
HANOI MERACUS HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed 2 seperate nights. We left our main luggage at the hotel when we travelled.
The rooms were well appointed, very clean, quiet and comfortable.
All the staff - front of house, food and beverage and housekeeping were extremely friendly and helpful.
Reception staff arranged tours and "no fuss" transfers with efficency.
Would recommend a stay
Rosemary: Australia

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hammo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meracus Hotel H, General Manager at Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for being the first distinguished guests to stay with us during the rough opening. We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks to your support and valuable comments

We are glad to learn that our team's effort did contribute to your pleasant trip to Vietnam and that you had a great time here. We will continuously improve our service to meet all your expectations and serve you better.

We are proud of the newest hotel in Hanoi with good location, facilities and decoration and look forward to welcoming you all in the near future.

Kind regards,
HANOI MERACUS HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed at least 3 separate nights at the Meracus and would stay there again. The room was very comfortable with excellent Jacuzzi type shower, a laptop at our disposal beside all the other expected requirements (kettle, safe, fridge, hairdryer, etc.). The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. They kept our main luggage between stays. The hotel is situated very near the puppet theatre and the north side of the lake.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have outside windows. Look out for special offers such as 3 nights 4th night free. If...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LOUIE787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I and my friend come back Vietnam for holiday and with Meracus Hotel, we have a special holiday in Vietnam.

Follow a friend recommendation who stayed at Meracus when it just was opened. We used the Meracus Hotel as our hub during our holiday in Vietnam, frequently returning before starting the next part of our adventure. The always friendly, helpful and smiling staffs arranged numerous transfers to and from the airport, train station and Ha Long bay making our holiday seamless - even the 5am arrival.

The room is clean, lovely and equipped with a laptop really helps us to update news, our travels and connect with friends in Melbourne.

The staff can't stop smiling and far exceeding our expectations. Thank you very much!

We would stay there again and definitely recommend to anyone going to Hanoi.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phong_Nguyen275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Located in a cool shoe-shoping street which is very exited in the daylight but quite at night, the Hanoi Meracus Hotel has just been opened in October but is a friendly, lovely hotel with incredible customer service. It is. The hotel location is great with a few steps to Hoan Kiem lake and water puppet theater.

The breakfasts are yummy and the rooms are very comfortable, simple but cozy with wonderful bed, free wifi and in-room laptop. Fresh fruits is offered everyday in my deluxe room. So lovely.

Would definitely come back again! Thanks staffs and management!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed at The Hanoi Meracus for 6 days and was impressed with both the accommodations and service.The hotel had been open for two weeks but was operating up to western standards during my stay.The rooms were well designed and equipped with quality bedding and bathrooms.The management has provided guests with a laptop in each room with a fast and reliable connection.Breakfast is included in the room rate and is ,again, up to western standards.

The service was more than adequate.The staff were friendly and genuinely helpful in every respect. The front desk staff ,June and Hermes, were particularly helpful with transportation,reservations and in assisting with a variety of questions and requests. The security was good ..I never worried about leaving my computer, Ipad and camera in my room.

I would recommend this hotel to both tourists and businessmen alike. A very pleasant stay at a reasonable rate.

Stephen Croll

Shanghai

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabotcroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#23 of 598 in Hanoi
928 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#24 of 598 in Hanoi
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#30 of 598 in Hanoi
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1

Address: 11 Hang Dzau, Hoan Kiem Lake | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £27 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hang Dau (Hang Dau) street – the famous shoe-shopping street of Old Quarter Hanoi, Meracus Hotel is at convenient place where you just step out and feel the true life of the over-1000-year-old beautiful city. With graceful design of lobby, lounge, restaurant and rooms, Meracus Hotel is the most right place for your relax after hours of working or traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing