We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel & service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Ranked #37 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We started off our stay in Vietnam in the Meracus, and were so impressed we booked it again for our last night when we flew back from Hanoi. The staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming, the hotel itself is very new, clean and modern, and the location is perfect-right in the middle of the old quarter by Hoan Kiem lake. Extra touches like laptop in the room (+WiFi), petals on the bed, waterfall shower, and welcoming tea & cold towels really make this hotel stand out from all the other places we stayed in during our trip. Breakfast was decent (though as a westerner I struggled to get my head round the traditional Vietnamese breakfast anywhere we went-think spring rolls & soup). Great value for money and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    135
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
150
527
93
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Narre Warren, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We spent 5 nights on and off while travelling to Halong Bay and Sapa. Hotel facilities are excellent and clean. A laptop in every bedroom comes in very handy (although WIFI is at times unreliable). Biggest asset for the Hotel is their staff. They are exceptional, friendly and extremely helpful. Very convenient location. They kept our excess luggage safe and secure while we travelled. It is a recently and tastefully renovated Hotel.Hope they will be able to maintain the standard. We recommend wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brindalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

It was a great experience to stay at this hotel. The room is just perfect for a good rest (clean plus comfortable bed). The staff were very helpful, they let us check in early in the morning as we arrived by train. The location is convenient, there are many restaurants and shops around.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripOfOurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Great hotel, great location, great service, great price. I don't think you will find a better option in all of Hanoi.

Recently took a 4 day trip to Hanoi with a friend. We wanted something that was convenient to the tourist sites, that had some 'character' wasn't overly priced, nor too loud. This one was perfect.

It was literally 2 blocks to the lake and the water puppet theatre, smack in the midst of all kinds of shops and cafes. The rooms were comfortable (we stayed in 2 different ones as we took an overnight trip to Halong Bay in the middle). Possibly the best shower ever - body jets, super hot water... nothing better after a long day of sight seeing. I was worried about noise, as a light sleeper, but never heard anything. It was as quiet as a library at night.

The staff were incredible! I was travelling with a strict vegetarian and they were able to make some really great recommendations for places to eat. My friend also had her phone stolen while we were out walking around. The hotel staff helped us fill out the police report and personally walked us to the police station to translate and help us submit it. WAY above the call of duty.

All in all, we were very happy with our choice and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Hanoi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingWeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here for two seperate nights when travelling with a friend.Highly recommend it!
Centrally located, 5 mins from the Water Puppet Theatre.
Offers complimentary breakfast - a delicious spread.
Rooms are slightly small if you have a lot of luggage but it is a brand new hotel and everything is in great shape. Laptops with wireless access in each room.
Most importantly, the staff at the hotel is extremely helpful and super nice. In particular, I'd like to thank Ms. June! My phone was stolen while in Hanoi and Ms. June translated the incident report into Vietnamese for the police and walked us to the Police Station and translated for us. The staff's friendliness and helpfulness is truly what made our stay there so comfortable. I would highly recommend it as a place to stay in Hanoi.
One quick note - the hotel does not offer complimentary airport pick up/drop off; but they can arrange it @ US$ 18 per trip

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mh_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

As I am writing this, I'm still at the hotel, but I'm so pleased with our stay here that I couldn't wait to write about it!
What can I say other than the fact we had a great stay here? impeccable room (we were welcomed by a bed and bathroom filled with rose pattels and some fresh fruit), very friendly staff (always at your service), great location (at 2 min. walk from the lake and water puppet show), quiet room (although in the shoe shopping street of the old town)...
This was our first time in Hanoi, but if we ever return, we'll certainly choose the Meracus hotel to stay and I will recommand it to my family and friends!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Everything was great at this hotel. The service was excellent, location perfect, room was as expected and the staff was magnificent!!
The first day at the hotel was slightly tarnished by the fact that the air conditioning unit was faulty, we were moved to the hotel nearby for the night as they were fully booked. That was fine because we returned to meracus the next day. June the receptionist that served us most of the time, was extremely apologetic. Hermis, another staff member whom we spoke to had great English and that helps when one does not know how to speak the local language. Again great service and help. The other staff were great too!!but I didn't get a chance to know all their names.
Breakfast spread changes slightly everyday, which is a bonus. Pho and egg station is simple but awesome.
The only area to improve on is probably keeping the bacon warm and also not to over cook it. Creme caramel, so yummy!!
Left really early for our flight and they prepared us a breakfast to take away which I thought was really nice.
Great hotel and will definitely come back if I visit Hanoi again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodgloriousfood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#20 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#19 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi E Central Hotel
Hanoi E Central Hotel
#9 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1

Property: Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Address: 11 Hang Dzau, Hoan Kiem Lake | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hang Dau (Hang Dau) street – the famous shoe-shopping street of Old Quarter Hanoi, Meracus Hotel is at convenient place where you just step out and feel the true life of the over-1000-year-old beautiful city. With graceful design of lobby, lounge, restaurant and rooms, Meracus Hotel is the most right place for your relax after hours of working or traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing