We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Fantastic Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Ranked #43 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Fantastic Staff”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The staff are what really sets this hotel apart from the rest. The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful - they gave us 'friendly tips' for travelling in Hanoi (e.g. how to cross the road), booked various trips/activities/transfers at our request, and seemed genuinely interested in us and our trip. The location is fantastic -- right in the mix of the old town, and walking distance to restaurants, bars, and tourist attractions. The room was great too - clean, spacious, comfortable beds, great bathroom, free wifi. They had even thrown rose petals around the room for our arrival! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa-Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    142
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
158
540
98
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

All the staff were polite, friendly and dedicated. You'd get treated like a family. Excellent location. It was easy to go shopping, drop off the shopping, and go out again. It is also close to the Water puppet theater. Amenity was wonderful, fresh flowers and fruits in the room every day. The neighborhood was very safe till late at night. The hotel was clean. Breakfast was wonderful with Vietnamese coffee. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andres S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here on the 18th, 21st, 22nd april 2014

This hotel is lovely inside. Our room was very comfortable we were in room 703 on the top level. The staff were great, very helpful. Breakfast was great, good variety, you could get eggs cooked however you wanted, fresh fruit, yoghurt, pastries, cereal, and Asian food.

I also booked our Halong Bay cruise through the hotel before i left Australia.

This hotel is situated in the Old Quarter, which is very convenient. lots of shoe shops in front of the hotel. it is also walking distance to the Water puppet show and Hoan Kiem Lake and lots of restaurants and eateries.

we also got a thank you card and gift from the staff here.

Highly recommended hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: room at top was great. had a great sleep here as it was above traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The staff cannot do enough for you, Ms June and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful.
Although our room was small, it was very clean and had everything you needed. Buffet breakfast was adequate, has complimentary Wifi and the bed was very comfortable.
Overall great service and value for money

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexzanehamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here before and after boat trip to halong bay. You are greeted with a welcome drink and extremely friendly receptionists who cannot do enough for you. When waiting to be collected they called the tour company as they were late and have been so helpful on all our requests. Location is right by the lake and everything you need is within walking distance - the hotel even gave us a map of a walking and shopping route with recommendations of shops, restaurants and tips for getting about and haggling. Great stay here would highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jodie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Small hotel located at the Old Quarters. Staff are very approachable and friendly. Decent command of English. Buffet food is tasty with good spread. Complimentary Wifi is a major plus point. Only drawback is that the traffic noise is noticeable throughout the day. Will definitely recommend this hotel to those visiting Hanoi.

William

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJH_William
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ha Giang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As this was my first time to stay this hotel, I read reviews from many others on TA and was attracted by this property. I would agree in that all of the positive comments are true!

Upon arrival, the staff was wonderful and friendly. They not only made sure my needs were met but also wanted to ensure that I would know my way around the area.

I found the room to be of good size and certainly there was value for the money. My room had a large queen size bed, so it accomodated 2 adults easily. I found the room very clean and comfortable. My room was on the top floor and view to the city was so nice, I never heard any noise coming from other rooms or in the hallway. There was a minibar in the room which I did not use but it was stocked sufficiently and the prices seemed reasonable.

The property is located in the heart of the Old Quarter. I found it easy to get to and it made navigating my daily trips quite easy. I was there during my friend wedding, so staff very friendly and assisted me a lot.

In fact my friend who lives in Hanoi had never been to this property but was duly impressed as well. I know that she will refer this to her friends and business associates as well. I will be returning to Hanoi in the next Autumn time and will certainly stay here again.
• Stayed October 2013, traveled solo

Room Tip: Ms. Dung and her team were so nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johny1Wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#23 of 586 in Hanoi
896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 586 in Hanoi
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#26 of 586 in Hanoi
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1

Property: Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Address: 11 Hang Dzau, Hoan Kiem Lake | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hang Dau (Hang Dau) street – the famous shoe-shopping street of Old Quarter Hanoi, Meracus Hotel is at convenient place where you just step out and feel the true life of the over-1000-year-old beautiful city. With graceful design of lobby, lounge, restaurant and rooms, Meracus Hotel is the most right place for your relax after hours of working or traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing