We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be happier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Ranked #43 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Couldn't be happier”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for a total of 5 nights in April and I’m so glad we chose this hotel.
The location was perfect as it was right in the old quarter and about a 2 minute walk from the Hoan Kiem Lake. We also discovered that it was a quick walk away from 2 of the best rated spas in the old quarter.

The hotel gave us a fantastic map which I found very useful, with many restaurants, shops, attractions etc.. marked on it. This is the only map we ever needed during our solo explorations of the old quarter, and needless to say, we never got lost.

Not sure what the other rooms are like but the junior suite we stayed in was fantastic for the price we paid. It was quite large and had a sizable balcony too. The place was clean and well organized. I didn’t find the street noise to be an issue. Yes it was a bit noisy in the morning, but with our windows closed and the aircon working, we could hardly hear anything.

The staff were simply amazing! They were so friendly and helpful and I must say that their recommendations of where to eat, where to shop etc. were spot on.

The breakfast spread was much larger than I expected for a hotel of this size. It comprised mostly of Vietnamese dishes with a few western staples thrown in, and everything was very tasty. The staff were very happy to bring our coffee up to our room after breakfast each morning!

And to top it all off, on our last night at the hotel, the staff left us a hand written than you/farewell card, which was so touching!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatCatCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    142
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
158
540
98
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My sister and I stayed here in February at the start of our trip, and were delighted with this hotel. The rooms were very clean, nice hardwood floors and had wifi and a computer for us to use in the room. Flower petals floating in the sink upon our arrival and fresh flowers in little vases, very nice touch. Great big walk in shower, hair dryer, lots of towels. Breakfast buffet was included in our room rate, and the selection covered everything - soup, eggs. ham, omelettes, pasta, pastries, juice etc etc, and was excellent. The staff were friendly, very helpful and eager to please in every way. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here 4 nights in total broken up with Halong Bay and Sapa. What a lovely place so comfortable and welcoming. The staff were friendly professional and would help you with any thing you needed. The room was so relaxing with a laptop provided and the shower was the best I have ever had. Breakfast was buffet style plus egg station and the choices were many and varied a wonderful start to the day. Location in the old quarter is perfect walking distance to most attractions. Hope to return to Hanoi and would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nannup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms are fantastic, the service is brilliant and the food is more than you could ask for,
But most importantly, I think the staff of Meracus are the friendliest I've met in A long time, I'll definitely re-visit in the future and can guarantee anyone else staying here will have an enjoyable experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, fantastic staffs, and nice breakfast. Lab top provided too. Love it so much. Will recommend to relatives and friends. And will visit again. Wish all the staffs stay healthy and cheerful forever. Bye bye everyone, we will miss you guys!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just left this place 2 months ago and still feel like I am staying there. Great hotel with great people, great service and great memory. I did not expected to much just clean and quiet room for long travelling days. Well, that is such a normal thing in all the hotels world wide. However, since I step out of Airport car I known what true service was. The staff smiled with me and tried to assist me like it was their happiness. They even gave me earplugs when they known I am sensitive with noise. They remembered my name and spent time to take care of me every morning. The final thing that made my stay absolutely perfect was the Rice cakes with a handwriting goodbye card. I loved every second I spent in Meracus hotel, I loved every single staff and everything they did make my stay most memorable.
Cant wait for my return trip next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

All information sheets on how to use the toilet and other devices are very meticulous, logical and easy to understand.
Staffs are caring and paid attention to details, in short they worked extra miles.
All 5-stars hotels can learn from Meracus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#23 of 586 in Hanoi
895 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 586 in Hanoi
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#28 of 586 in Hanoi
423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#27 of 586 in Hanoi
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1

Property: Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Address: 11 Hang Dzau, Hoan Kiem Lake | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hang Dau (Hang Dau) street – the famous shoe-shopping street of Old Quarter Hanoi, Meracus Hotel is at convenient place where you just step out and feel the true life of the over-1000-year-old beautiful city. With graceful design of lobby, lounge, restaurant and rooms, Meracus Hotel is the most right place for your relax after hours of working or traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing