We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gondola = a great stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gondola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gondola Hotel
Ranked #91 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gondola = a great stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in Hanoi 2 years ago and thought our hotel then was a great place to stay [and it was for the price] but the Gondola Hotel was simply superb. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Their English was very good as was their service [they even stored some of our luggage during our trip to Sapa]. Great breakfast every morning. The view from the rooftop restaurant was great [especially to get a night time shot of the lake]. Its location in the Old Quarter is pretty hard to beat. You'll read other reviews that say that the Hoan Kiem Lake is only a 5 minute walk away but I would argue that this is a leisurely 5 minute walk. Turn right upon leaving the hotel and, a few minutes later, you will find yourself at the top of the lake from where you can access the Ngoc Son Temple. From the hotel, it is a 5 - 10 minute walk to the Traditional Water Puppet Show. In fact, everything was quite close eg great little restaurants, shops, the night markets. The rooms were clean, quite spacious and very well presented. Despite being in the Old Quarter and its close proximity to the lake, our room was very quiet and we didn't hear any noise at all during the night.We have no hesitation in recommending the Gondola Hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Hanoi. We would most definitely stay there if we went back to Hanoi.

Room Tip: Breakfast is on the Mezzanine floor so ask for a room on Floors 4 - 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldcoasters_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    228
    52
    6
    3
See reviews for
90
251
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great service from staff generally but exceptional service from Annie Tran who made us feel welcomed and catered for our every need. Great location - within walking distance to many attractions in Hanoi. Any tours/transfers can also be arranged through Gondola & the service is excellent.

Room Tip: We booked a Superior Double with lake view but hotel management upgraded us to a suite on the 7th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Excellent boutique hotel in old quarter Hanoi. Great location, near restaurants, shopping, night market, the lake, etc. Very friendly and helpful hotel staff, especially the servers during breakfast. Great selection on their breakfast buffet that includes warm and cold dishes plus an egg station / soup station. I love their breakfast. Our room was in the 8th floor below the bar area but was quiet. It was clean and refreshed every day though the bed was kinda hard for me. Over the course of our trip in Vietnam I found most of the beds we stayed in had hard beds as well. Very accommodating in allowing us to store our luggage for a couple of days when we headed out to Halong Bay. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ima1derer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bukit Mertajam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My family stayed in the Gondola Hotel, a three-star establishment right smack in the heart of the Old Quarters of Hanoi, within five minutes walking distance of the Hoàn Kiếm Lake, shopping and sights, and great local Vietnamese food!

Despite the hotel's close proximity to some of the busiest streets in Hanoi, the rooms were unbelievably quiet. The road on which it was located was quaint and laid back, a throw-back to the old colonial times.

All the staff was friendly, and the doorman was always ready to help with the guests' luggage. The front desk staff especially was very helpful. As they spoke excellent English for a Vietnamese, conversing with them wasn't a problem at all. In fact, I kept having a feeling that they wanted to talk more and used us to practice on their English. Well, that, I wouldn't mind at all.

Like almost all buildings in Vietnam, the Gondola Hotel is long and narrow. I would estimate that the width of the hotel is not more than 17 feet. There were altogether eight storeys and we stayed on the fourth floor for the first two nights and the sixth floor for the last two nights after returning from an overnight trip to Halong Bay.

Rooms were very clean and spacious, and I would kind of rate them as four-star or even five-star equivalent. Only the absence of a swimming pool may have denied them a higher star rating. And did I mention that the rooms come equipped with a very fast WiFi speed? Yes, they do.

In my opinion, the breakfast buffet did not offer a very luscious spread but it was still a good, ample mix of western and local Vietnamese food. A cook was ever present to prepare eggs in whichever manner was requested of her, and a highlight of every meal was the preparation of the Phở (rice noodle soup).

My verdict of the Gondola Hotel: highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSQuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the Gondola Hotel as part of our Halong Bay Northern Vietnam package. The hotel is well located in a quiet lane but only a short walk to all the sights and shopping. The room we stayed was extremely well appointed and comfortable but did lack a window (quite common in Hanoi!). The breakfast buffet was good and catered for all tastes with the egg station and daily noodles, plus other hot and cold choices. All the staff we met were so helpful and friendly. There were no issues with the hotel securing our luggage when we were on our overnight Sapa trip. I also managed to leave a bag of clothes in the taxi when we returned from Sapa and the front desk assisted with calling the taxi and tour company to try and help locate them for me.
Wifi was excellent throughout the hotel.
The Rainbow Cafe a few doors up from the hotel serves great food at a reasonable price.
The Gondola Hotel had everything we needed, was well located and priced right. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Not sure what the price differences are but check when booking if you want a window in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bundygirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed a night at this hotel and it was a really pleasant experience!

I took the overnight train from Sapa and returned to Hanoi at 4am in the morning. Reached the hotel at 4.30am hoping to get some rest at the lobby since nothing was open this early. Asked the receptionist what will be the earliest time I can checked in and he said that my room was already ready since I mentioned in my booking that I will be returning from Sapa in the early morning and indicated that I would like early check-in. I was so shocked that I can check in at 4.30am (when the check in time is usually 2pm and there was no extra charges!) and was even allowed to have inclusive breakfast for that day!

Room was clean and properly set up, with in-room slippers, safe, fridge and mini bar.

Breakfast was good with a wide variety- salad bar, egg station, Pho station and also the usual staples of noodles/rice, fried stuff, meat and veges.

Airport transfer was at the price of the usual taxi fare (~18USD) but in a much better vehicle! (definitely helps when even the highway in Hanoi is pretty bumpy) Strongly recommend to go for their airport transfer!

All in all, I would say that Gondola Hotel is like a mini version of a 5-star hotel!

Keep up the great service!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wang W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel is modern, location is brilliant, one street away from the lake area, right in the middle of the old quarter but in a quiet street, yet right in the heart of everything. Only blocks from the the night markets,silk road, cafe's, shopping. Staff were fantastic! So accommodating and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, wide choice and fresh. The best value for money. I would recommend this hotel to anyone weather a tourist or business person. We opted for the executive suite just give us a bit of space.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennytme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#93 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunline Hotel
Sunline Hotel
#98 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#103 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
#114 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
#53 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#73 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gondola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gondola Hotel

Property: Gondola Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Hanh Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 84 4, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gondola Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gondola Hotel in Hanoi is exquisite merging between Italian spirit and Hanoi culture. Right in the heart of Hanoi Ancient Quarters, steps away from Hoan Kiem Lake and all other major sights of the city, this romantic boutique hotel is perfect for leisure and business guests. At Gondola Hotel we provide 40 glamour & elegant rooms where you can retreat into the peace and relaxation from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. Full fill your enjoyment by dining on delicious Vietnamese and European cuisine at our Gondola Restaurant or relaxing in the stylist roof-top bar while admiring the picturesque panorama of Hanoi. Welcome to Gondola Hotel and allow us serve you with all of our professionalism and enthusiasm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gondola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing