We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Gondola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gondola Hotel
Ranked #96 of 585 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Annandale, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms were a nice size, tidy, with a firm bed. Staff very helpful and go out of their way to make your stay a comfortable one. Only complaint would be the rooftop bar which more resembles a greenhouse on top of the building with no aircon. However being in the heart of the Old Quarter a nice cool bar (and beer!) are but a stones throw away!!!!

Also within close proximity to a lot of tourist hotspots, museums, mausoleum, water puppet theatre etc.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiwisnake82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    236
    52
    6
    3
See reviews for
90
258
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel is located in a narrow street along with other small hotels and bars, near to the lake. It is very convenient and within walking distance of lots of good restaurants and smaller places to eat. Also of the water puppets show. Rooms (we stayed 3 times) are comfortable and very clean, although perhaps a bit on the small side. The staff at reception were very nice and efficient. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razinha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This was a beautiful small hotel hidden in the famous and hectic old quarter. The reception staff were so wonderful and welcoming and eager to visit with us and offer their services. We had a beautiful spacious room with a large bath with full bath and shower. The furnishings were traditional and very comfortable. Breakfast included was very ample and delicious. Just outside the hotel were numerous restaurants, cafés, shops, etc and only 2 blocks to the lake which was enjoyable to walk along for the breeze. We walked almost everywhere and learned how to cross the roads amidst the crazy moped traffic. The value for the money was exceptional!! We paid around 50usd per night. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here three times recently and can thoroughly recommend it. The location is quiet but very handy for the old quarter and just by the lake which comes to life in the early morning as people congregate there to do their morning exercises. The rooms are good as are the facilities and breakfasts, but it is the staff that make it exceptional. They greet you personally and get to know you quickly, there's always someone on the door to help you in and out with your luggage and nothing is too much trouble. They give a great service and speak excellent English and overall it's a lovely tranquil friendly home in a hectic city.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have no windows so if this would bother you make sure you request one which does h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very friendly,clean hotel in a great location in old Hanoi - lots of restaurants nearby and Water Puppet Theatre just around the corner.Staff very friendly and helpful and spoke good English.Was initially surprised at lack of room windows until I realised that was because of the narrowness of the building - not a problem though.

Room Tip: Rooms don't have windows but only because of the narrowness of the building - not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavindempster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Gondola a few nights in late May. Annie was extremely helpful, even before we left for Vietnam. The hotel is in a great location, really close to the Lake and withoin walking distance to many attractions in Hanoi. We also enjoyed breakfast there, with Westen and Vietnamese dishes.
Overall, we are very satisfied with our stay there and the wonderful staff at the Gondola!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 5 or 6 nights in a 10 day period. Great location in old Hanoi. Staff very friendly and helpful . We left half our luggage when we took trips to Sapa and Halong bay. Good restaurants nearby and on the top floor of the hotel. Rooms are very comfortable tidy and clean. Wifi can be a bit iffy occasionally. Safe and secure place to be. Even a corner shop 24 hrs. Close to lots of street food.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#93 of 585 in Hanoi
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunline Hotel
Sunline Hotel
#107 of 585 in Hanoi
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
#56 of 585 in Hanoi
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#15 of 585 in Hanoi
849 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#108 of 585 in Hanoi
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
#119 of 585 in Hanoi
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gondola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gondola Hotel

Property: Gondola Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Hanh Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 84 4, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 585 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gondola Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gondola Hotel in Hanoi is exquisite merging between Italian spirit and Hanoi culture. Right in the heart of Hanoi Ancient Quarters, steps away from Hoan Kiem Lake and all other major sights of the city, this romantic boutique hotel is perfect for leisure and business guests. At Gondola Hotel we provide 40 glamour & elegant rooms where you can retreat into the peace and relaxation from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. Full fill your enjoyment by dining on delicious Vietnamese and European cuisine at our Gondola Restaurant or relaxing in the stylist roof-top bar while admiring the picturesque panorama of Hanoi. Welcome to Gondola Hotel and allow us serve you with all of our professionalism and enthusiasm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gondola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing