We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip”
Review of Exotic Voyages

Exotic Voyages
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
Half-Day Hanoi Backstreets Bike Tour with Brunch
More Info
US$108.00*
and up
Day Trip to Ninh Binh from Hanoi Including Local Lunch Experience
Ranked #116 of 837 Tours in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exotic Voyages provides luxury tailor-made trips throughout Asia, including Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar,Thailand, Sri Lanka and Bhutan. We provide a variety of exciting tours from day trips all the way to several week tours. We have experienced English speaking guides and 9 offices throughout the world. Our travel experts have over 20 years experiences with wide and deep knowledge in local travel, creating even the most complex tailor-made tours on your every detail request. Our tours are designed to let you approach the local daily life while enjoying true luxury service.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 10 days in Vietnam, all arranged by Exotic Voyages.
I would highly recommend them, everything went smoothly and the accommodation was great.
On the one occasion we weren't entirely happy with our room, our guide spoke to the hotel and they upgraded us.
It was a very no-fuss experience, we especially enjoyed the cooking classes, which are also a wonderful chance to chat with the locals.
Would have no hesitation in using them again and recommending Exotic Voyages.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cash66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExoticVoyages, Manager at Exotic Voyages, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Hello Cash (Kerri and Crag as I guess), on behalf of your Exotic Voyages, I sincerely thank you for your praise and recommendation. It's our honour to plan your trip. We are very happy that you enjoyed your trip. Wish you all the best!
Huyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We really can’t thank or recommend them high enough.”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My mom and I have just returned from a 3 week trip to Myanmar and Vietnam. We had a wonderful time there. Now really want to say thank you to Exotic Voyages, they helped our trip become so memorable. I had no idea that there were local companies that create such luxury flexible trips in Asia before I worked with Exotic voyages.
My mom is 72 this year and worries about everything, along with a complicated diet, so I decided a private tour is the best choice for us. They really understand our needs, be patient, caring and sensitive as my mom has special demand for accommodations, food, activities. I came across exoticvoyages on an internet search, they seemed meet all our demands and replied so quickly we decided to try them!
We traveled leisurely with the itinerary LA - Yangon – Bagan – Inle Lake – Yangon – Hanoi – Halong – Hanoi – NhaTrang – LA. Mai (our travel expert) suggested us skip Mandalay on this trip due to my mom’s health, we didn’t want to fly much. She gave very exact and frank advice, never “pushed” us to book but offered impartial advice. When we questioned about skipping Mandalay and was worried about my mom’s health, she still explained to me very clearly about pros and cons of Mandalay, allowing us the information to make our own decision but with her local knowledge. This choice was later proved wise as I see many people reviewed Mandalay as touristy, busy and crowded, not what we where looking for.We had a great time in Yangon and Bagan, seeing enough temples and didn’t feel sorry for skipping Mandalay.
All our guides were well informed about my mom’s diet so she always had “decent” food. However we didn’t enjoy the food in Bagan much, just because their strange local flavor, not because lack of preparation just to our tastes. While the dinner at a local house on Inle Lake was fantastic, my mom said she could “survive” a month in Myanmar with this food. Mai suggested us a beach extension in Vietnam, exactly what we wanted. We would travel a lot and need to relax. We had planned to go to Ngapali but as Mai said nice resorts are closed during rainy season, instead she recommended Vietnam beaches and we agreed. As we had to fly through Hanoi on our way to the beach, Mai suggested we consider looking at Halong Bay for an extension again not pushy just her advice, as we may never get to come here together again we took it on board. It was a fantastic suggestion even though it was delayed due too bad weather by one day, Mai was in contact with us and re-arranged everything to be altered to fit our plans. It was well worth the journey such stunning scenery and aboard cruise which was picked specifically to accommodate mom’s requirements, the food was amongst the best we have had anywhere never mind just on this trip!!
The hotel recommended for our beach stay was simply incredible and again just what I was looking for. We wanted some luxury on a quiet beach to reflect on our time away together, Mai suggested to us the An Lam Ninh Van Bay just off NhaTrang although this meant taking a flight and short boat trip. It really fit the bill, allowing us time to rest and enjoy the whole trip again whilst sitting around our own pool, having our own butler tending to our every need. It really was the perfect ending to such an incredible trip that I think was made possible to our choice of exotic voyages in the beginning. We really can’t thank or recommend them high enough.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ddenise903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExoticVoyages, Manager at Exotic Voyages, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Hi Danise,
It's nice to hear from you again. We did try our best to please your mom and it was amazing that she loved the trip. Wish your memories in Myanmar and Vietnam will last long in your mind.
Many thanks and regards,
Huyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cambodia and Vietnam”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Have just returned from probably the best holiday we have ever experienced. We cannot praise the staff at Exotic Voyages enough. Mai Phuong produced a wonderful itinerary. The arrangements went like clockwork. Guides were waiting at each destination and the transport was first class in air conditioned vehicles, cold water and wipes provided to refresh us after every visit. Visa's were taken care of by the company which made transit through airports quick and efficient. Each Hotel was special in different ways. Nam Bo in Can To was a particular favourite but The Church in Hanoi is great for visiting the old town and buying silk!!!The guides are knowledgable, friendly and enthusiastic. We felt as if we had known them a long time. They tweeked the plans to make sure we saw the important sights. For example the afternoon we should have gone to Angkor Wat the tower was closed for a religious festival so the guide swopped our visits round so we could experience the views the next day. In Saigon a suggestion by our guide to visit the Theatre enabled us to see a fantastic acrobatic show. Highlight of the trip? Too difficult to decide ---Halong Bay, Bicycle ride cookery class and foot massage in a Vietnamese house in Hoi An, the beach, the boat trips to the floating markets and villages and the orchard in Can To and Chau Doc not to mention the walk we did around Hanoi coffe with the locals and home brewed beer that our guide treated us to as is the custom. On a more serious note the historical sites we found very interesting and gave us a greater insight into the war. The tunnels and the museums and the school in Phnom Penh that was a prison are powerful sites of interest.
This holiday was a celebration trip for our birthdays and it was a holiday of a lifetime.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Exotic Voyages to anyone who wants to visit Cambodia and Vietnam.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank An602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExoticVoyages, Manager at Exotic Voyages, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Hi Anne,
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to Cambodia and Vietnam in the future or in our other destinations, we'd love to welcome you again.
Wish you all the best
On behalf of Exotic Voyages team
Huyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Vietnam and Cambodia”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were so impressed by the amazing trip that Yen from Exotic Voyages arranged for us. At each airport we were met by a driver and guide, our visas were expedited, and everything was easy and relaxing. The hotels were well-chosen for location and services. The tours we experienced in each location (Hoi An, Siem Reap, the Mekong delta, etc.) were fascinating, personalized, and taught us so much about the culture (we visited herb farmers, coconut farmers, brick makers; we rode bikes through the jungle and through rice paddies; we got to fish from different kinds of boats; the list goes on and on). The guides were wonderful and helpful and funny. Part of our trip was cancelled due to a typhoon, and Yen was so accommodating in rearranging our itinerary for us (and she was dealing with 4 needy adults and 2 needy children, so I give her big props)! We will ALWAYS use Exotic Voyages when we travel to SE Asia! Highly Recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExoticVoyages, Manager at Exotic Voyages, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Hi Amy,
Sorry for my delay responding to your review. I hope you still keep your best memory in Vietnam and enjoyed the images of you and your son I sent on the Welcome home email. Thank you very much for your lovely praise. It was our pleasure to travel with you in your interesting and meaningful trip.
Cheers,
Huyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cambodia: Phnom Penh, Siem Reap and Sihanoukville”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Mai Phuong planned an excellent 10 day trip for us in Cambodia. We went to Phnom Penh, Siem Reap and Sihanoukville. Overall the trip was great and the level of service we received from Exotic Voyages was fantastic. We were met by our guide at the airport on arrival and immediately felt at ease and knew we'd be in safe hands. The hotels in Phnom Penh and Siem Reap (Raffles and Heritage) were of an extremely high quality and great value for money. Our tour guide in Phnom Penh also took us from Sihanoukville to the airport and when she came to collect us it was like seeing an old friend. The trip was extremely well planned and we were very impressed that Exotic Voyages took the time to check during our stay that everything was going well. If we were to go on the trip again we probably would not include Sihanoukville on the itinerary as there are better beaches in Thailand but this is not a criticism of Exotic Voyages who had actually advised us to stick to the cultural sights. The team seems genuinely concerned to ensure you have the holiday of a lifetime which is very refreshing. We would highly recommend Exotic Voyages and would be thrilled to travel with them again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExoticVoyages, Manager at Exotic Voyages, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Ben and Anne,

On behalf of all at Exotic Voyages, thank you very much for your detail and positive review on our service. We were deeply happy to have brought you and Anne such a lovely and we hope long lasting memories. It was an honour to share such a great trip with such a lovely couple.
We are very happy to know both of you enjoyed the Cambodia trip very much and your willingness to recommend Exotic Voyages luxury service.

Hope you both keep the good impression and nice memory with Exotic Voyages!
See you in your next trip to Asia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Exotic Voyages also viewed

 

Been to Exotic Voyages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing