We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, not the worst - could do much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Landmark Hanoi Hotel
Ranked #258 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not the best, not the worst - could do much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Positives - Booked for 3 nights so got airport pick up included, which was handy as the airport is quite a long ride out of Hanoi. Reception staff friendly, good info for onward travel and no pressure to book tours with the hotel.

Negatives - booked a standard room but on arrival was told we'd been upgraded free of charge for one night only. I prefer honesty not flannel and also do not want to unpack twice on a three-night stay. I asked if it meant there was no standard room available for the first night and EVENTUALLY established this to be the case. The "deluxe" room had a safe that needed resetting and no tea, plus the aircon didn't work. The wardrobe door was also off and stuck down the side of the wardrobe. Very deluxe! We went out to try and find some food and mentioned the first three problems. We were told they'd be dealt with. 45 mins and some poor food later, nothing had been done, so we waited whilst someone tried to fix things. He couldn't get the aircon going either. The hairdryers was not powerful and the shower had poor water pressure.

Breakfast was ok, buffet style, Asian, eggs to your taste, fruit, cakes, jam, bread..... though on day 2 I had to scrape the uncooked egg out of my omelette. The other two days were ok, the small baguettes were nice and fresh. There was an almost dead cockroach under the able on the last day though!

The standard room was adequate but compact to say the least. The aircon didn't work in there either but as the staff member didn't know how to fix it in the first room, we saw no point in reporting it again so just didn't bother using it for two days. Funnily enough, the hairdryers in the standard room worked great, but the shower was useless, you either scalded yourself or froze, and regardless of the setting the hot water lasted for a few mins only.

Finally, the standard room had a small window onto the corridor with a blind, so easy to block out the light, but the door had a window above it with n blind o curtain so there was a lot if light coming in when trying to sleep.

In both rooms, the noise from inside the hotel was very loud - doors opening, people talking..... The walls are very thin.

To summarise, we've paid less money for much better rooms and more money for a much worse hotel. So I'd say this hotel is pretty average, nothing special. With a bit of work on some of the problems in the rooms it could be much better, as the staff were friendly enough. Having seen a few hotels in Hanoi now I'll be sticking to the old quarter in future where there's more food options on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are like shoe boxes
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landmark H, Manager at The Landmark Hanoi Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Hanoi.
By this letter we would like to say sorry for any trouble happened that made your stay uncomfortable. Thank you for spending time to share your personal views here.
According to everyone's budget, before choosing any hotel to stay, we should know how much we will pay and what we expect for. As you see on this page, The Landmark Hanoi received a Certificate of Excellence Travellers' Choice - Bargain Hotels, not a 4 or 5 star hotel. And what we say Standard or Deluxe room here is a room in a budget hotel not a luxury hotel.
As you are a travel lover, we though that you acknowledge and easy to calculate how much it should be for an upper class or a luxury hotel. Many people want to travel when the budget limited, we are trying to lower the rates as much as possible then everyone can go, with just about what you had paid, around US$20.00/night for a double room with breakfast. We do offer a low rate when trying hard to maintain our hospitality service, warmly welcome everyone.
Hope with a cheap destination, now everyone can afford visiting Vietnam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    101
    45
    9
    8
See reviews for
36
126
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I loved the little street this hotel was on with the ladies selling food all along it. It was a bit quieter but quite close to all the main attractions. The staff are friendly, the towels are soft, the buffet breakfast has vegetables. The rooms at the back are quieter, but the ones with a front window are more interesting. The rooms are well appointed: huge bed, clean, newly renovated bathroom, kettle, fridge, safe, TV, phone, scales, tiny soap, 2 small waters per day. I found it to be of great value and quite comfortable. A great choice for a smaller, local hotel. I am not sure why anyone needs the large, expensive, Western owned hotels. I stayed 3 nights and did not hear the train others mention.
The tiny shop across the road has cheap water, milk, etc. Try the Food on Foot tour from Awesome Travel so you can find the tasty Bun Bo Nam Bo local food place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whirledgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

THis hotel is in the ideal location on the edge of the Old Quater of Hanoi. The staff are extremely friendly and the service they gave was professional and informative. The room was spacious,clean and well equiped. We booked several tours through the reception and there was no pushy hard sell. We were greeted on arrival with a cool drink to refresh us.Breakfast was good and again the service was great. the only slight moan was that there is a train service that runs a few times during night and early morning that we were not aware of. But despite this the service and hotel aer so good it is worth overlooking this minor issue

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark181063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

It was really nice to stay in this hotel. Rooms are quite large and clean. Trese is free wi-fi and air-condiotioning. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location - very close to the old Hanoi.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blenden_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I first hotel in Vietnam and we were very pleased. OK one can always quibble but staff so helpful especially as we tried to decide what to do about the typhoon. Great pedicure next door. We loved the local street as it provided great ambiance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jave15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

For the location its self not too good (very near the traditional market) but inside the hotel is clean and not smell. The room while i stay was so good, the shower drain in hot and cold water. The staff is very helpful, always respond my question. After all its nice stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank kaze752002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
421 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is excellent value for money, but there is a difference in what you get for the price. This was the 2nd of 2 hotels that we stayed in the Old Quarter (we had to move as our 1st hotel was booked & couldn't extend our stay), so it gave us a comparison of the level of service & room quality.

The Landmark offers good & larger than average rooms, but the beds are not as comfortable & the rooms not quite as clean as other places. Our room had a noisy bathroom fan & the shower didn't drain very well - nothing that really affected our stay, just indications that it wasn't quite to the same standard as other hotels in a similar price range.

It's close to the railway line & we heard trains up until around 10:30pm, but nothing that woke us during the night or early in the morning.

Breakfast was a little disappointing, with an unusual selection of salad items, but little fruit & no yoghurt. Fresh bread is available & you can choose from eggs in a variety of different ways or fried noodles etc.

If you on a budget, you'll get great service from the staff & a good room for your money ... but if you have a slightly higher budget, then for an extra $10-$15 you can find better a overall stay in some other hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 306KarenK306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
#163 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#126 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#101 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
#175 of 579 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indochina Queen Hotel II
Indochina Queen Hotel II
#187 of 579 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#122 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Hanoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Hanoi Hotel

Property: The Landmark Hanoi Hotel
Address: 19A Nguyen Van to Str | Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 84, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Landmark Hanoi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in 19 Nguyen Van To – District Hoan Kiem - Hanoi .The Landmark Hanoi hotel - Hotel 3*** stars with high levels of 30 rooms with elevator has been put into operation Oct 05, 2011, is one beautiful hotel and The most luxurious in the center town Ha Noi, Hotel Landmark Ha Noi will bring you to the Vietnamese cultural heritage. As an architectural romance filled with natural light modern furniture interspersed with fully equipped facilities. We will certainly bring satisfaction to you.Also with 8-minute walk out to your guests will Hoan Kiem - resort's famous psychic people of Vietnam. Has been associated with mental as well as the Vietnamese people's lives through thousands of years of civilization. From here just a few minutes, you can visit the ruins : One Pillar Pagoda, Temple of Literature Giams museum, the Cathedral, President Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, Ba Dinh Square, the museums to the city center and crafts, enjoy special Vietnamese dishes by hand the girl with charming ao dai serving you in the culinary culture Cam Chi - Tong Duy Tan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Landmark Hanoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing