We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't say enough about the service & value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Moment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Moment Hotel
Ranked #56 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Can't say enough about the service & value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The name of the restaurant is Hidden Gem, and I would say the same about the hotel. The standout feature is the service. The four main front desk people (two men and two women) were excellent, and always had a smile on their faces. Unfortunately, the only name we caught was Jimmy Nguyen and he was super. I booked by email, and they were on top of things from the start. We were traveling with a large family (7 adults and 2 children) and the hotel gave us a good deal for the Penthouse Suite and a Family Room. Our stay was one night, followed by a Halong Bay Cruise, then another two nights. Upon returning for the second half of the stay, the hotel upgraded the Family Room to what I think they call an Executive Double (two large rooms with a single bathroom in between). The Penthouse and the Executive Double are relatively spacious (esp. considering the price), and everything was clean and working. The bathrooms were a little small, but that was a minor inconvenience. The location is good though not as centrally located as some other hotels. It's about a 10 minute walk to the main tourist/shopping areas (15-20 minutes with small kids and senior citizens). But the walk is pleasant because you see the small shops along the way.

Breakfast comes with the price, and that practically pays for itself. In addition to a self-serve continental breakfast, you can get eggs any way, pho, banana and pineapple pancakes, french toast, and club sandwiches. We tried them all, and all were good.

Back to the service: Our Halong Bay Cruise was supposed to arrange a water puppet show, but that did not happen. The hotel staff got us tickets to the Thang Long Water Puppet Theater and that worked out great. They also provided one good (Highway 4) and one great (Quon An Ngon) restaurant recommendation. They have a travel desk, and if we go back to Hanoi, I would trust them to make tour arrangements for us rather than do the research ourselves. Our kids enjoyed watching the fish in the lobby while we ate, and the staff seemed to enjoy having kids in the lobby. The staff spoke English well, though I had to get used to the tones and inflections (my problem, not theirs). Although luxury hotels are certainly nice, finding boutique hotel gems such as this add something to the vacation. It makes it that much more personal and memorable.

Book here -- you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    117
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
97
260
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a lovely room here. Our shower experience reflects other comments on this forum - I think it is not meant to be watertight as there is a drain grille on the main bathroom floor. But it does make using the other facilities a bit tricky once there is an inch of water on the floor. The staff here are amazing. They worked out it was my birthday from my check-in details and we found our room covered in rose petals and balloons with an elaborate birthday cake and a very sweet hand written card. Made my day! Breakfast was good and the location we found very convenient. 10-15 minute walk to the lake.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbbyWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This was our first stop in Vietnam and we had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights.

The rooms were very clean, great facilities, and above all everyone had a genuine smile and could not do enough for us.

They went above and beyond and arranged a moped, bus tickets, packed breakfast on our last morning as we had an early start.

The hotel is a little bit outside the main drag of western bars etc yet a short walk from the busier areas.

Thank you all so much for making our stay in Hanoi so memorable, it's all about the people and your people are wonderful!

Jeremy + Dee x

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillyspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rojales, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our stay at Moment 2 was excellent. Staff could not do enough for you. Food in hotel was good. We stayed in some 4 star hotels during our trip in Vietnam, Moment 2 was up there as one of our favorite. Definitely recommend this hotel. We stayed 3 nights and had two rooms from 13-15 March 2014. Special thanks to all the staff you made our stay.

Room Tip: Go for the Junior Suite you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night before heading off to Halong Bay in the morning.

Our room was well appointed, if not a bit small, and had a faint smell of mould. The bathroom was also small but the main problem here is that taking a shower caused the bathroom floor to get flooded.

The breakfast is excellent: apart from the buffet you can order pineapple or banana pancakes, eggs cooked whichever way you like, and french toast. The staff was also very helpful at every point.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I can't say enough good about the Staff and rooms at the Hanoi Moment number 2 hotel. First the facilities are first rate and five star (but without a swimming pool and fitness center). It is after all in the old, old part of Hanoi but completely modern inside and out. The staff and tour manager really took care of us. We arrived from Saigon at about 10pm and during Tet so all the westernized restaurants were closed. The manager went out and got us two great meals and sat us down in the dinning area while our bags were taken to our room. Now sit down, when we came in from our two nites at Ha Long Bay, our room wasn't ready because the previous guest hadn't checked out, so they upgraded us to a two bedroom suite for the same low price. Then when we left after two more days there, they called us a taxi and the bell hop went with us to the train station (to Sapa) to make sure that we got there on time and not ripped off by the taxi--this is really necessary. They even had a bell hop meet us at the train station at 5am on the way back to get our excess bags and a free breakfast before calling us a good cheap taxi to the airport that morning. Another treat was the fantastic free breakfast every morning, French style at its best. I recommend this Hotel and staff to all my friends. Now one last thing, when you go to Vietnam don't expect the cities to be speck and span nor the drivers sane. But the people are great.

Room Tip: The front rooms overlooking the street are preferred to the side rooms looking into the neighbors ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Top quality service at Hanoi Moment Hotel II!
Would definitely recommend to everyone!! The staff here are fantastic! We arrived at the hotel on the first night and were amazed by how beautiful this boutique style hotel is, we hadn't told the reservation we were on our honeymoon but after finding out they had set up rose petals, balloons, swans & a beautifully decorated cake on our bed, along with another bottle of complimentary wine!
During our stay in Hanoi we had wanted to try egg coffee, a street food tour and a Halong Bay cruise. The staff did a fantastic job at organising everything for us! Even to the point of printing out our boarding passes for our next flight! The value for money at this place is fantastic! Nothing but good things to say!
The rooms had double glazed windows which made it great for getting a good nights sleep! Bathrooms were clean with the rose petals in the shower adding a cute little touch! :)
The food was great! Loved the chicken pho and banana pancakes at breakfast!
Don't think I could say anymore about just how fantastic it was! Thanks to all the fantastic staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssaaa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#55 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Palace Hotel
Golden Palace Hotel
#39 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#54 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Glance Hotel
Hanoi Glance Hotel
#58 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Moment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Moment Hotel

Property: Hanoi Moment Hotel
Address: 42 Hang Cot Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Moment Hotel 2)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Moment Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the heart of Hanoi's old quarter, just a stone’s throw from the evocative Hoan Kiem Lake and a few minutes from many major sites, shops, bars. Well in a nutshell our desire is to give you great quality accommodation at a good price and with unrivaled customer service. We are committed to ensuring you leave Hanoi with happy memories of a unique city and a special hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hanoi Moment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing