We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Splendid Star Suite Hotel
Ranked #13 of 588 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bien Hoa, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'll be back.”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The staff alone is the best reason to stay at this hotel. They are extremely attentive and engaging. They make you feel like family and take care of everything you could possibly need. Mr. Ha (Jack) was super friendly and even ironed my shirts for me. He's a great asset to the hotel. You absolutely can not beat the location, and the hotel is super SUPER clean! The rooms are spacious, and the "rain" shower-head in my bathroom was heaven. Breakfast was absolutely amazing, fresh, and hot!

The downsides are: spotty and slow internet. My friends on the 4th and 5th floors couldn't connect to the wifi at all. I could connect from the 2nd floor, but I chose to use my phone's 3G as the internet was in and out - and very slow when it was in. The shower was amazing, but the hot water only lasted for about 5 minutes each time. Not nearly enough time to enjoy, but it was adequate for taking a shower. There is a tricky step between reception and the stairs to be aware of. I didn't see it twice and could have easily twisted an ankle. Maybe it should be colored so that it stands out - something other than white like the rest of the floors. Also, there is no elevator, but this isn't really an issue if you're on the 2nd, 3rd, or even 4th floors. The last negative is that my friends' rooms didn't have towels, soap, or shampoo upon their late check-in. We arrived quite late, around midnight. They called down to reception, but the attendant was sleeping and said he'd bring some up the following morning. That wasn't quite the response they were looking for as they had travelled a long way and just wanted to take a shower to clean off. Not the best first impression, but it was quite late and I wouldn't have wanted to walk up 4 flights of stairs to deliver towels and soap at that time, either.

Overall, an AMAZING place to stay. You can not BEAT the staff and their hospitality, and they are the reason I'll be back.

Room Tip: Room 201 is lovely. No view of the church but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gymnastmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    140
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
132
250
65
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The best Hotel staff ever!!! Our stay was excellent!. Breakfast is so good. Very courteous staff, we found new friends, I commend Jenny of Splendid Star Suite..she pointed out where to go, best place to eat etc. She spent several minutes talking to each one of us..we were 6 traveling and it was always the best moment. At night Mr Khanz will entertain you with his friendly smile and his story of being a working student in Hanoi. He is so helpful as well. Ms Hannah is very pleasant, she will always ask you what you need..
The rooms are big.. clean and neat. spacious bathroom..excellent balcony overlooking St Joseph Cathedral..Restaurant is nearby...few minutes walk to tourist attractions. Great location!!! We booked our Ha long bay trip here. Excellent trip..well recommended
Spending 3d/2n..is very short. We wished we could stay longer .

We will definitely go back and stay here again. Two thumbs up for great service. Thank you so much.
See you again Ms Jenny, Ms Hannah and Mr khanz.. Keep up the good work !!

Room Tip: Ask for lower level for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caroline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Staff very king and lovely. Alot of choice of breakfast. All of them are very good. The rooms are big (we had a family room) with wifi everywhere and a computer in the room. The hotel is in the middle of the city with shops and restaurants near of it but it s quiet for sleeping. We were 4 poeple and we were all happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ardijan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The staff are great, very helpful & friendly & speak great English! The hotel location is perfect, across the road from St Joseph's cathedral & only a block away fro Hoàn Kiém Lake, a variety of restaurants nearby. The rooms are clean & decorated nicely. Very affordable too. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There's no elevator so ask for a room on the lower levels. We had a family room on L3 & it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

It's a small hotel with very good facilities and amazingly lovely staff!!
Small as viewed from outside, rooms are in fact spacious and cozy! They look 100% the same as the photos shown on the website~
It may not be quite suitable for travellers who cannot walk though since the petite hotel doesn't have an elevator. Don't be put off though, I guess you can probably request for a room/suite of lower floor : ]
Breakfast there was really nice too : ]
What impressed us most, however, was the amazingly lovely staff!! They were really caring and friendly people. They kindly gave us a map of Hanoi and briefly introduced the different tourist spots to us. They even taught us to distinguish which taxi companies were reliable~ That's very helpful of them!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTurquoise503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The staff there are friendly and pretty as well. They will brief you about the tourist spot in Hanoi. The room is great with television, personal computer etc. The St Joseph Cathedral can be seen from the balcony. Some-more the location of the hotel is good. The tourist spot is just a few distance away. So we have saved a lot of taxi fare. I like the hotel because they have provided candy in the receptionist.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caiiyunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

As a woman traveling alone and then as a mom and two daughters I found this boutique hotel perfect. Good size, modern, clean and comfortable rooms. All with balcony. Professional, caring and English speaking staff. Delicious breakfast. Perfect location. All our tour needs taken care of at competitive rates. My only complaint is that I couldn't stay longer. They even surprised us with a birthday cake on my birthday! I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I would choose a "family room", 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teri r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#36 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#44 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Cathedral Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Suite Hotel

Property: Splendid Star Suite Hotel
Address: No 28 Au Trieu Street | Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 588 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Splendid Star Suite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the newest star in our hotel group, located at one of the quietest streets in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, and it takes you only a few steps to reach the heart of Hanoi - Hoan Kiem Lake, as well as a lot of famous tourist spots, restaurants and other recreational places. Splendid Star Suite is the result from learning serving-client experiences at three of our prior hotels, aiming at satisfying customers best. Splendid Star Suite is an excellent blend of modern architecture and tasteful design; also all rooms come with a balcony or a large window with large space, so you can see a extremely beautiful panorama of the church as well as the life of Hanoians. Rooms are equipped with sound-proof glass so as to provide a quiet and relaxed space to escape from the hustle and bustle and hectic pace of life in Hanoi. A more special thing is the design of round bed room with a romantic and cozy atmosphere dedicated to couples, definitely promising to bring you sweet and memorable memories. Above all, Splendid Star Suite hotel is a really ideal place to stay with the staff trained under the standards of Splendid Star Hotel system who are enthusiastic, professional and always ready to welcome you and longing to contribute to your memorable vacation about Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Star Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing