We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room,great staff”
Review of Mai Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mai Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #189 of 663 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Best Hotel i ever stayed. It is really apartment room type,it's really big room,big bedroom and big bathroom. And also a private sauna too.such a great hotel.so clean. Good service too. The staff are great,especially Sarah,thanks for your help Sarah *hug*..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cube_mice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

I have stayed in about 10 Hanoi hotels, usually in the chain that owns Jasmine hotel/Posh Hotel etc, but thought I'd try this one after seeing it heavily discounted on Agoda. We booked a double room and got a free upgrade to a parger room upon checkin.

For about $27/night the room was much bigger than the usual Old Town room size for under $40 - abour 6mx6m with a good size bathroom and rain shower. Good strong aircon, flat screen TV, and a buffet breakfast included. The only possible criticism is that it is a little dated - but for the price this is really irrelevant.

It is on the western edge of the old town, a 5-10 minute stroll in a straight line to the lake. There are 3 beer hoi shops right next door which is handy - start your evening with some beer and chili salt ribs only 5 paces from the front door. There is a good Bun Cha stall right across from the hotel too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Location is ideal for the adventurous types who want to get amongst the locals for the great food and shopping. Situated in the Old Quarter this lovely little boutique hotel was amazing value. We booked 6 nights as a base for going on tours. Unaware of what to expect in Vietnam we planned our itinery on the run as we found pre booking tours, accomodation etc from Australia expensive and vague.
Sarah the Mai hotel manager provided us with loads of tour options, transfers and shopping advice at fantastic prices. We are very happy with Sarah as she saved us a large amount of money during our stay and really went out of her way to give us the personal touch/experience. This was refreshing as some tourism Vietnamese we came across were mainly interested in somehow getting a quick financial win (which is totally understandable given their circumstances) however Sarah was passionate and focused about Mai Hotel and their guests.
We travelled to Sapa and Halong Bay while staying at Mai Hotel which was assisted by helping us travel on these tours lightly. We left our main luggage in our hotel room along with our gifts and purchases we had accumulated. Trustworthy staff, clean rooms and great value for money I thoroughly recommend all Australians to stay here. Suitable for most age groups except for those with young children.

Room Tip: Go all out and book the Royal Suites, had a peak inside and were gobsmacked at the design - fluffy w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We are very pleased with our 2 nights stay at this hotel. We had a warm greeting and were offered a tea upon our arrival. Hotel manager upgraded our Premium suite to Silver room Mai luxury apartment.80 sq. m. Very large rooms with clean and quite side of the hotel. Hotel staff recommended us places to visit in Hanoi. Breakfast was very good. Can't complaint on anything. We even ordered dinner in our room at almost midnight and hotel chef cooked veggie pizza for us. Watched some EPL soccer and other satellite shows. Rooms were shining clean and there were no noise or smell at all. We also ordered a taxi to airport and all was in time. Next our visit to Hanoi we know where to come.
May be maps of Hanoi should indicate the hotel on it and some landmarks on the way to hotel (like other hotels or shop names, or theater). It would be easier for your guests to locate the hotel. Internet worked in living room only, but it is even better. The table and sitting area was very comfortable for surfing.

Room Tip: Silver room is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisher313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

room is poor because in case of fire there are steps to escape.
In emergency, it is dengerous.
Breakfast is poor because like banana at my home I throws it for my chicken to eat.
Touring service to Ha Long Bay is poor. It is only promises. During in the bay the
service is only lip.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thannarong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

They selling rooms with window on Agoda and give you, with no chance to upgrade, a depressing room with no window upon arrival. Staff not effective at all, way over priced for that range. Not very clean, very noisy. Look somewhere else...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avrile v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed here in December 2011 with my family and I must say that I was very happy with the staff's friendliness and hospitality. They were really helpful in flagging down reliable cabs whenever we requested for one and guided us in our selection for a day tour. Rooms are large and clean, felt pretty homely. Staff were always willing to top up food during breakfast as we usually came down at the later part of the breakfast hours, there was a good variety too. One of the best thing about this hotel is the location. Situated in the Old Quarters, we could walk around almost anywhere. An excellent choice of accommodation in Hanoi indeed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dramaramaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
1 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#100 of 606 in Hanoi
2,396 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Hotel Hanoi

Address: 2D Duong Thanh St | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 663 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: £20 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mai Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing