We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much more”
Review of Mai Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mai Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #163 of 601 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Could be so much more”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This is in the old quarter so good location to explore. Breakfast is good and miss sarah is so helpful. The rooms are ok but very noisy as we think attached to a nightclub and often smell of smoke. Would help if the rooms had prices for the minibar/room service, if that's important to you they don't currently. Unless a few particular receptionists are working you will experience language barriers. Just a few tweaks and this hotel would be so much more.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    24
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
8
22
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I booked this hotel by booking.com from Brussels and I travelled alone. This hotel is well located in the center of the old quarter. Very important when you are alone. to find diverse activities. This hotel is really proper and the staff is very helpfull. At few steps you can visit the litterature temple and the Hoan Kiem lake. This hotel proposed city-trips to Sapa, Halong Bay, book your different flight/train/bus and hotel. Staff speak very well english and is friendly. The rooms are well equieped. TV, safe box...

A special thank you to the salae manager (S.) for her help and advice along my trip!

Room Tip: Number 308 is very good when you are alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tchapos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Mai Hotel Hanoi Center in Vietnam,

The dedicated staff were fantastic, and gave us a wonderful reception and great stay at Mai hotel

hard work and

Wed like to make a special note about Miss Sarah, who made the best organization of trips around Hanoi and Halong bay, who professionally arranged tours with the maximum itinerary fitted in to our short time to our full satisfaction

They took care of us during evry momets of our stay in Hanoi

They even us a taxi to await us in the airport, they have a truly special service and a very warm hospitality..

We would difinitely and highly reccomend this hotel to other travellers..


Israel & Debbie

Room Tip: The silver room is one of the nicest hotel suites we have evr seen..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Book two rooms for 3 nights at this hotel for less than 30usd a night per room with buffet breakfast. Located downtown so a lot of shops and restaurants nearby. Rooms are clean and modern. Air conditioner is not so good though on both rooms. Staff are very helpful and courteous. For the price, i was satisfied

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at the Mai Hotel for three nights. We arrived very early and checking in was no problem, although they gave us the wrong room to begin with. There are rooms here without windows. To be fair we were moved with the minimum of fuss. The room was really quite small, but we had a balcony. The room comes with air con, showeroom, tv, tea and coffee making facilities and a rather small double bed. The rooms are very clean. Location wise the Mai Hotel is a good walk from the nightlife but not too bad for the museums. The staff are friendly and the breakfast is really quite good. All in all, not a bad place to stay. Be warned though, there are a lot of hotels with Mai in the title, make sure you have the address written down and do not get out of the taxi until you are sure that you are at the right hotel.

Room Tip: Be warned, there are rooms without windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Booked the top room , premium suite if I remember correct. Air con leaked all a over the room so I put my foot down after getting out of bed into a puddle of water.

Terrible breakfast, ironically the pizza was the only edible thing. Avoid. Get what you pay for. Stay at the golden silk instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bugatti08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Its a little bit late...bcos my travelling in hanoi is almost half years ago...that is my first time i am going to Vietnam.Before i arrived at hanoi,i already made a chat with the manager Mai Hotel..i asked her about the tour in Hanoi.But i am still not sure,so i decided to booked the tour when i arrived at Hanoi..the service is very2 execelent.I get an upgrade to RoollRoyce room<i think its the highest level>..the manager also give me a reasonable price for the tour.All the staff,from bellboy,receiptionist,security,manager and the restaurant staff is perfect.Next time if i go to Hanoi again,i will stay in there....Two thumbs up for the staff....you guys awesome..

Room Tip: Rollroyce room if you go with your family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrias C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Helios Legend Hotel
Helios Legend Hotel
#165 of 586 in Hanoi
114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.4 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Hotel Hanoi

Property: Mai Hotel Hanoi
Address: 2D Duong Thanh St | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 601 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mai Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing