We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mai Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nova Hotel(Hanoi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
29
24
9
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
24
9
2
6
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The Mai hotel was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Beware they advertise all rooms have a balcony but they don;t. We were put in a 2 bedroom unit that did not have ONE window, it was like being in a cave. The room was decorated like a 1970 brothel, all hideous black and gold furniture with mirrors everywhere. The people in the room above us played very loud techno music at midnight and it did not stop till I belted on thier door at 7AM. We had made several phone calls to reception, along with most of the guest in the hotel to get the music stopped. The staff did ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. We checked out the that morning with the staff at recpetion trying to get us to stay as "the noisy peolpe had checked out so would be a quiet night".......something they should've thought about while we got NO SLEEP AT ALL the previous night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Rooms
We spent 4 nights at Mai hotel in mid of May 2013, the reason we chose the hotel it has spacious apartment unit with two bedrooms. The apartment living room decorate simple but with luxury furniture sofa set in black with crystals and little chandelier , well equipped with fridge, televisions, and hair dryer. Unfortunately, we couldn't find a window in this unit like staying in the basement and we feel uncomfortable the two pillars put in lots of mirrors.

Each room has plasma TV with lots of interesting channels but mostly are Vietnamese channels, WIFI is free. The master bedroom comes with spacious restroom with Jacuzzi pool. Overall is fine to us.

Hotel Services
The receptionists and front desk helpers are friendly and helpful, clean and bright reception area.

Breakfast
Simple but delicious breakfast Asian style and semi American breakfast served with porridge with yummy side dishes, fruits, sausage and ham, Asian fried noddle/rice, real fresh juices, coffee, milk and breads.

Tour Desk
The hotel has tour desk the staff friendly, gave us a booklet and recommended tour for selection. We end-up chose Perfume Pagoda. Whole trip well and great arrangement.

Nearby
When stepped out from the hotel KFC outlet (Kentucky Fried Chicken) is on your right side and the corner lot on the left is a local restaurant (Cua Hang Ngoc Linh) offers many delicious dishes. Most of the time we had our lunch or dinner at this restaurant and until became friend with the owner and waitresses. We had ordered Fried Pork Ribs, Salt and Pepper Fried Prawns with drill herbs, mix vegetables, Hanoi Beer (Bia) must try !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Getting in need if some work but we worth the $40 a night price hall ways a but of a damp smell but no signs of it room well appointed clean and large enough wifi a bit slow but good coverage around hotel breakfast ok

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulwoodsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was quite a nice hotel in the old quarter of Hanoi. It had a mini bar, a good shower (option of rain shower or hand held) and was clean. As with anywhere in Hanoi it was noisy from the street sounds. It was also located a little out of the tourist hot spot so that was both good and bad.
The breakfast was great and the chef made us fresh eggs every morning. The staff were very helpful and friendly. This was a good choice for Hanoi.

Room Tip: Try to get a room off the street.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

At the rates we were charged for the premium suite, this hotel offers great value. Service is reasonably good.

Room is big, but basic. The hotel is strangely configured with steps on the level we stayed. Not wheelchair friendly at all. We were told the hotel was renovated last year, but it didn't feel like it, or the maintenance for the hotel needs serious upgrading.

Hanoi was very cold when we arrived. The heating was not working and we had to endure with the cold throughout the night. The hotel managed to send a mechanic to fix it the next day and it was much better from then on. However, as the room was big, the heating was not adequate and some parts of the room and especially the bathroom felt cold.

Bathroom was not very well maintained. The toiletries rack was rusty. The sink shook when pressed upon, it wasn't secured properly. There were gaps around the bathtub such that water pooled after a shower.

Breakfast was an adequate mini buffet, with pretty standard food as found in most Hanoi hotels.

If one is on a budget, this hotel is an excellent choice. However, having been to Hotel Anise where my friends stayed, the hotel was really much much better in terms of furnishing and comfort. We won't be coming back here, would rather spend more somewhere that offers more comfort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OrangeWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews