We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrifying experience - a death trap!!”
Review of Mai Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mai Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #167 of 604 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrifying experience - a death trap!!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE. This hotel was disgusting, not to mention a death trap. After booking on wotif website the photos of the hotel looked really nice but were nothing compared to when you get there. As soon as we arrived there were problems with our check in and they had no idea what rooms we were in. I was with my partner and a friend and we had booked 2 apartments. The descriptions said 2 'luxury apartments with balconies'. After meeting with the manager who spoke English he admitted that no rooms in his hotel had balconies! After 15minutes of confusion we finally got a key that said rolls royce we were taken to a large room with 2 bedrooms and large bathroom however the room had the most disgusting musty smell, there were cracks in the jacuzzi bath, cracks throughout the bathroom, fingerprints on the mirrors, the tv didn't work, the walls were lined with fur! It looked like something out of a seedy strip club, there was no way we were staying there. We requested a change in rooms to a more 'normal' room. We got given the silver room which was slightly better but the shower didn't work, and the wallpaper was peeling and in much need of an upgrade. The second night of our stay the 3 of us got in the lift and it broke down on us, luckily the boys could pull the doors open and we managed to jump up back on onto our floor. After failing to find the stairs on our floor we called to reception who informed us there were no stairs!!! What a disaster we were locked on the 5th floor of this disgusting hotel. After many calls down to reception it was clear they could not get up and we could not get down! There was a diagram of the layout on the wall which showed there were stairs however the door to these 'stairs' was padlocked on our side! We decided we were getting out of this absolute hell hole and broke down the door which lead us to a dark unfinished staircase which eventually lead us to the back entrance which indeed looked like the entrance to a seedy strip club. The only saving grace was the manager was apologetic and could speak English, however I do not recommend anyone stay in this death trap, it was definately a scary experience and I still can not believe how disgusting the rooms were and nothing like they look like on the different websites (agoda, wotif, last minute).

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank CMcc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    24
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
8
22
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here as a couple on first trip to Hanoi. The hotel is located on the fringe of the west of the old quarter. On check in we were greeted with a smile and glass of fruit juice. We were taken to our room which was large complete with tv, aircon, safe, kettle, tea / coffee making facilities etc. the room was clean and overlooking the main road. After getting out of the lift onto our floor - the design of the hall reminded me of faulty towers and I was waiting for basil and manuel to make an appearance. Our room rate included breakfast which had a satisfactory buffet with both se Asian and western tastes catered for. The hotel is situated next door to a KFC and around the corner from a nightclub. The nightclub appeared to be open every night and the music does thump throughout the street and can be heard even when the window is shut - although the loud thumping appeared to stop at 1am each night. We found some good eateries near to the hotel and the old quarter is such that you can by anything and everything...! The hotel staff are friendly and attentive although some conversations get lost in translation. Overall the hotel is fine with an ok location - if only the nightclub would share the same fate as the hacienda.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Franky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We changed our previously booked hotel to this one as we were generously welcomed by the team at Mai Hotel. It was not a surprise to be given the best suite at a very reasonable price. It is more like an apartment with two large bedrooms, marble stairs leading to the reception, a hallway, a saloon and a Jacuzzi for two/three people. Breakfast goes with what other hotels offer. Wifi is free but signal can be weak at times.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite book Rolls Royce!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SHADIADNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel,nice staff they always smile with people and care for their customers.I like my suite it's a 2 bedroom apartment,rolls royce suite.Good price.If you need any informations ask for the reception and they will let you know everything you need.I like their services.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_Nha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stuff very friendly and helpful. Great room and breakfast considering I paid so little. Would recommend it to anyone. Good location and easy to get round Hanoi with the maps they provide at reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VijayHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Our family of 5 have just spent a week at the Mai hotel in Hanoi. We had a leak in our apartment due to heavy rain and the staff quickly moved us to 2 new suites. We were very pleased with this. The staff were always eager to help you with anything you needed. Phu, the travel operator was an absolute gem! Nothing was too much trouble for him- he walked us to a money exchange place with a terrific rate and no commission. He looked after our every need and booked tickets to our tours which went very smoothly. Breakfast was very good with eggs cooked to order.
On our return from Sapa to collect our luggage that we had stored at the hotel we were given a room for a few hours to shower and freshen up in. We were also given breakfast before our transfer to the airport.
Overall this was a very good hotel. The staff made it what it is. The actual hotel is in need of some renovations but this can be overlooked when the staff are so wonderful! If we go to Hanoi again we would definitely return to the Mai hotel. Thank you Phu!

Room Tip: Some standard rooms don't have windows so maybe go deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulkeeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

When we arrive at the Mai Hotel Hanoi we were greeted by the happy and pleasnat doormen, We checked in at the front desk and were escourted to our room. It was such a lovely surprise because what we were paying in accomadation was so cheap, Our room was very clean and it had an airconditioner the bathroom was also fine. We went down to the reception area and Jacke at the tour desk helped us with all our tourist advice. The buffet breakfast was so great you had breads fruits cereal some hot food also. We ordered breakfast every morning and the chef did a great job. Also delicious crepes with banana or chocolate. The omelettes were so delicious. The tea and coffee always hot, Jackie booked flights for us organised a tour guide and and recommended Vietjet airlines as they are there cheap airline. We also booked the Halong Bay cruise with Mai Hotel and it was so lovely. You didnt have to pay for the use of the internet and we went down south and were so happy with th Mai Hotel we came back and stayed extra nights before we flew back to Australia. Thank you Phu aka Jackie and all the staff at the hotel for all your help from charging my phone to anything I asked. The Hotel in such a great area of the old quarter and we had no noise in the rooms and Jackie bought me an icecream from the KFC that is right next door to the hotel. Lovely happy faces at the Mai I will remember forever.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boobiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Helios Legend Hotel
Helios Legend Hotel
#160 of 588 in Hanoi
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Hotel Hanoi

Property: Mai Hotel Hanoi
Address: 2D Duong Thanh St | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mai Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing