We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled us for any other tour company”

Footprint Vietnam Travel Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Private Tour: Ninh Binh Day Trip from Hanoi
Ranked #141 of 824 Tours in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Footprint is an ethical company offers trekking, cycling & package tours. We aim to provide our guests with unique experience & true value in travel.
singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Spoiled us for any other tour company”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I never used a tour company before, but being short on time, I decided to give it a try. From beginning to end Footprints was fabulous. The communication was prompt & clear. Emailing with Tra was a delight. Her warm personality coming through with every post. All transfers happened perfectly with various accommodations, drivers & guides. Speaking of guides, we loved our guide in Sa Pa, Nam. He was wonderful & had some great suggestions for us. Always pleasant, helpful & available. Use Footprints & you will not be sorry!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank singinginsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    10
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Floro, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

We had a great time when we visited Hanoi, and that is due to the very good help, and proffesional approach from our contact at Footprint! We ran into some minor problems underway, but this was no problem, as our guide immediately figured out alternate destinations for us, with no delay or any extra expences!

These guys are simply as good as it gets, and we will for sure be using them again, when we return to Vietnam at a later time! And we'll be recommending them to everyone that we get a chanse to!

Helpful?
3 Thank Haakon_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footprint_Tours, Tra - Travel Consultant at Footprint Vietnam Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Mr. Haakon,

Me and the team of Footprint were very happy to serve you during your trip with us, our apologies for some minor problems happening en routes, thanks to our professional guides who acted promptly.

We thank you for your understanding and for keeping the trip interesting with our guides. We also appreciated all your comments you gave directly to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent tour company that really understand what you want”
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic time in Vietnam and we wouldn't have seen or done anywhere near as much if we'd booked it on our own instead of with Footprint. We really appreciated the fact that Footprint understands that we were coming to Vietnam to try to see the real country and not just the tourist side of it (e.g. they organised a proper homestay instead of a hostel-like experience, walks in Sapa avoided the main tourist rush, and the trip in Halong Bay included visiting a remote area that wasn't crowded with other boats). All of the guides were helpful and knowledgable too. An excellent experience.

Helpful?
3 Thank AngelaLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best of Viet Nam”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We chose Footprint because we were looking for a tour company that offered responsible travel to Viet Nam and we have not been disappointed. We just came back from our third Footprint trip in two years. All three times, we were lucky enough to have Tra Nguyen as our consultant, and can't say enough good things about her professionalism and willingness to give us the customized trip that we were looking for. She went out of the way to answer our requests. This time round for instance, I wanted some Vietnamese music and books but was afraid not to have enough time during our trip to visit book and music stores. Tra arranged for our guide to get what I wanted before I even got there and even said that payment was not necessary (I refused to listen of course). Our guide was happy to modify the program as we went along to suit our needs. Our grateful thanks to Footprint and to Tra for showing us the very best of Viet Nam.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank pvlwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hanoi Countryside Bike Tour - Not organized to accommodate a younger child”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

First, this was one of our favorite experiences in Hanoi and we had a great day; however there were definitely some things that should be addressed to accommodate younger bikers. My 6yr old is very strong and was able to do the entire ride without any real issues, BUT I believe he is likely an exception for his age, which I will explain.

1. The company was very friendly and helpful as we chose our bikes and adjusted them. The bikes were in fairly good condition; however our helmets really needed to be cleaned.
2. To get to the countryside, we had to bike through traffic in Hanoi and over a 100yr old bridge that crossed the Red River. My son labeled that bridge "the bridge of doom". First Hanoi traffic is chaotic and dangerous for an adult biker let alone a child. Second the bridge was about 6.5 ft wide full of motor bikes honking and passing. if by some chance you fell over and hit a railing, you probably would have fallen off the bridge as they were unstable. The guide did help us understand the "rules" of the road however they knew we had a 6yr old so why not just drive us to the countryside and start the ride there? It was our first day in Hanoi, so we did not have a good understanding of what biking in traffic meant, nor did we know the distance.
3. There was no water provided at the start. We have done these bike tours before and there are always water bottles provided at least at the start. It's a good thing I thought to bring our own.
4. There was no support vehicle or even a vehicle that met us halfway to do a gear check or water check, people check. this is also standard on these types of tours
5. There was no bathroom breaks scheduled. It's a good thing I have a boy bc we just pulled over to the side of the road
6. Our guide was very new and not used to having such a young child on the tour, so he did not look back nearly enough and despite us asking, he did not give us guidance on turns far enough in advance especially when we were biking in the city. I was the one that called the turns, called oncoming traffic or motorbikes etc.

We are an adventurous family and we bike often, so despite some of the situations being less than ideal, we had an amazing day and our guide was very friendly. If you are considering this tour with a younger child, you need to consider the above factors in addition to their strength and ability level.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank pdoebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Footprint Vietnam Travel Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Footprint Vietnam Travel Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing