We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic organisation”

Footprint Vietnam Travel Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Private Tour: Ninh Binh Day Trip from Hanoi
Ranked #135 of 806 Tours in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Footprint is an ethical company offers trekking, cycling & package tours. We aim to provide our guests with unique experience & true value in travel.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic organisation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

The fabulous Hang organised our north to south trip to Vietnam and we can't speak highly enough of Footprints. We told Hang our interests and she compiled an itinerary to match. At every destination the guides appeared slightly earlier than scheduled and whisked us off in air conditioned cars. The guides were flexible when we suggested a different attraction and happy to engage with our myriad questions. Having organised our own itinerary a few years ago to Borneo, this was definitely easier and we got the advantage of local knowledge.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footprint_Tours, Hang - Travel Consultant at Footprint Vietnam Travel Day Tours at Footprint Vietnam Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Chao Alison,
Thanks for your travelling with Footprint & giving us a wonderful review.
We were glad to deal with you along the trip. And surely we'll pass on your appreciation to the guides.
Thanks again & hope to serve your next trip back to Vietnam or other countries in Indochina.
Sunny regards,
Hang & Footprint Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    10
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb organisation of our customised trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

The entire tour was seamless from start to finish with superb guides who were all friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. We highly recommend the team at Footprint as they were very prompt, professional and incredibly helpful with customising our trip - we can't speak highly enough!

Helpful?
Thank MattNCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footprint_Tours, Footprint Team - Footprint Vietnam Travel at Footprint Vietnam Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi MattNCT,

Thanks for travelling with us and we really appreciated your time for leaving wonderful words to our team on Tripadvisor.

In reply to your supports, the whole team is taking all your comments about our services to make it much better in the future.

Once again, thanks for your recommendations & we hope to take care you in your next trip to Vietnam!
Best regards, Footprint Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Hanoi tour with guide Bao”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a great day tour in Hanoi with a german-speaking local guide named Bao. He really spoke the language very well, which was great for my husband, who does not speak english. Footprint did a great job on the communication with me from the very beginning. They always responded quickly and very friendly.
The tour was much more than we expected, so we really have seen a lot, however, my highlight was the literature temple and the cyclo tour. Bao was restructuring the shedule shortly, when it turned out, that the Ho chi minh mausoleum was closed. He had a deep knowledge about the city and we ended up sitting in an authentic street coffee on small chairs and chating about this and that and his time in germany and so on.
The only drawback came in the next morning. when our tour was over, Bao told us, that the driver will also pick us up in the morning to bring us to the airport, which surprised me, since I had not seen this extra in the initiary. So I asked him again and he said yes, that is a free offer from foodprint. So we related on that and did not pre-order a taxi in the morning. But nobody showed up. The hotel staff was very attentive and said, that this is not usual and we should have preordered a taxi. So we decided to call Bao. He promised to get back to Footprint and called back a view minutes later to tell us, that Footprint will not send a car, and it was a misunderstanding. He stated, that Footprint should have called the Hotel in the evening before to inform us, however, the Hotel staff did not know about that (and they were extremly professional, so hard to believe, that they missed to tell us so). Finally they were able to get us a taxi quickly but we lost a lot of time and really had to hurry then to get on our flight. That was a pity as it left a bitter aftertaste on a great Hanoi experience.
However, in the end, I can highly recommend Footprint and Bao as a tour guide.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TripMember09282015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footprint_Tours, Hang - Travel Consultant at Footprint Vietnam Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Chao Beatrice;

How wonderful to have your reviews online for us, thanks for spreading the words.

Yes, the taxi was a misunderstanding, our guide Bao had a mix-up with a different group who booked this and thought it was you, our apologies for that.

It was our real pleasure support you traveling in Hanoi and would love see your return in the future.

Hang & the Footprint team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So professional and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is not the first time we have used this company and it will not be the last. I could go on and on about this fantastic company but I truly feel I would not be doing them justice. Hannah is such an efficient travel agent, friendly courteous professional just a pleasure to do business with. Toi our guide, what can I say just brilliant no question to small that he will not answer, totally honest, and I must say so knowledgeable he made our tours so very interesting, so friendly it is like you are travelling with a good friend not a guide oh and he is also very funny! When Hannah went on Maternity leave Miss Hang took over and completed our tour itinerary making sure requested hotels could accommodate our tour group and at times that was very difficult. And last but not least our wonderful driver Hai. Vietnam is traffic crazy this guy was fantastic weaving in and out of insane traffic ensuring our safety at all times. Well done Footprints top class, I believe our countries travel agents could do with some lessons from you in how to do business.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footprint_Tours, Hang - Travel Consultant at Footprint Vietnam Travel Day Tours at Footprint Vietnam Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Chào Murphy,

Thanks for your excellent review,

The whole team were so glad to know that you had been back to Vietnam.

As you known, Hanna is on her maternity leave, she read your review at home & call us to send you a special thank for your nice words you spent for her.

Mr. Toi, actually his name is Thoi. He also would like to thank you for your compliments to him. He had a great time with you, a pleasant family.

With all your pretty supports, it's gonna be our big motivation to improve our service more and more great than ever.

Thanks for your appreciation and looking forward to welcome you back to Vietnam next year.

Hang & Footprint Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not great for day tours of Hanoi”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We booked with Footprint, given their great reviews and interesting, off-beat itineraries. But we only had time for a Hanoi day tour and a half-day walking tour. We expected that, given their reputation and values, these short tours would be different than the standard tour. It turned out that what we got was a free-lance guide, who just followed the standard script. I don't believe he was at all aligned with the values expressed on-line by Footprint. In fact, even doing the standard tour, our guide was not very good. He was very hard to understand, did not adjust to our needs, and even forgot things like telling us we needed to wear pants to get into Ho Chi Min's mosoleum. He was not good at communicating what options we had once we realized the mistake -- only after our questioning and walking around for a while did we figure out that we could still see the grounds around the mosoleum, including Ho Chin Min's house. He also had a tendency to only talk to me, but not my wife, and made jokes about me needing to find "a pretty girl" (maybe a fun joke, but not multiple times in front of my wife). All in all, not good. I suspect that Footprint is quite good with their non-standard tours. Indeed, some local college students we met were surprised that their guide was so bad, given Footprint's good reputation. So, I don't want to put down their overall abilities. But I don't think that Hanoi day-tours are what they are good at or put much effort into.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank FrappyBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footprint_Tours, Manager at Footprint Vietnam Travel Day Tours, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Chao Ray & Liz;

We thank you for traveling with us and we very much appreciate your valuable complaints.

Please accept our sincere apologies for all the issues you had, we understand that this has ruined your trip experience which as a business we never wish to hear and see.

As you can see, from our all reviews, we've tried very hard for our clients' satisfaction and to keep our reputation but this guide has not gotten our travel style and the true value to you. We decided to send him back for further training before we can accept him again.

Please see our latest personal email for the refund as this is a part of our commitment to offer our clients' true value in travel.

We thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Footprint Vietnam Travel Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Footprint Vietnam Travel Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing