We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff, Great Location, Good Wireless”

Friendly Backpackers' Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Friendly Backpackers' Hostel
Ranked #104 of 384 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Staff, Great Location, Good Wireless”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The nice things of this place first: They have a really friendly and helpful staff, they offer pleasant dorms, the wireless works and the location is really good if you want to stay close to the old quarter (Hoan Kiem).

Some negative things I observed:
- They offer male and female dorms on hostelworld.com but actually treat the rooms as mixed dorms. Also they offer private rooms which I didn't see in the hostel. I don't mind about that but maybe some girls/guys do.
- One early morning a girl was waiting in front of the door (she arrived at 5am) because the night guard wasn't there.
- The mattresses are hard but I like that :)

Maybe the manager can explain some of these

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    24
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
1
6
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed in a 6-bed dorm. Decent location on the edge of the Old Quarter. Room and beds were clean; simple breakfast included; staff was friendly and helpful; there was wi-fi and two computer terminals available for use. No complaints really, except for the narrow stairwell.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Really liked the staff, they were extremely helpful and fun. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. With big lockers in the dorms. Breakfast was ok for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadieh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

For US$6 per night for a clean dorm room, this place fits any backpacker budget. The staff was really helpful to show explain all the places to visit in the Old Quarters of Hanoi. When I come back, will stay here or their US$12 private rooms at their sister property across the street --- it is called Elizabeth Hotel.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank SoloSeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This hostel is on the east side of the Old Quarter, 10 minutes walk from Long Bien bus station. I stayed in a dormitory that sleeps 4 people. The room was clean, although luggage had to be carried 3 floors up a narrow staircase. This was not a hassle for me but may put off those with lots of heavy luggage. Breakfast was a nice surprise - a choice of noodles, fried eggs, fruit, sweet breads and baguettes.
The free wifi had a tendancy to drop out but there where 2 PC's with free internet for guests in the lobby. They also minded my luggage for free after check out.

Room Tip: Just watch your head on the staircase!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexpye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Backpackers' Hostel

Property: Friendly Backpackers' Hostel
Address: 9 Nguyen Huu Huan Str, HoanKiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 384 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Friendly Backpackers' Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Friendly Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing