We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed dorm !!!”

Friendly Backpackers' Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Friendly Backpackers' Hostel
Ranked #110 of 406 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

Two nights stayed were great, walked around and found this was really worth for value. Mixed 6 dorm worth 6us per night with breakfast included was brilliant. The location was excellent in downtown of Old Quarter.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FootandLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Friendly Backpackers' Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed before and after our trip to Halong Bay. The hostel was small but it located on excellent location. Paid usd 5 per night including simple breakfast and a comfy dorm. Staffs were helpful and give some nice places to visit. Ask for Ms.Pearl if wanna hanging out.!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeannowbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed here for one night but found the staffs here were absolutely friendly and inviting. The dorm(mixed 6 dorms) was small but it was kept clean and comofortable. The wifi worked smoothly and they had some free personal computers at lobby,too. The breakfast on the fourth floor where the breakfast(some breads, milks, tea and fried eggs), that was ok and the dorm worth for value of usd $5 per person. The location was great and easy for walking around! Would recommend it for the value, staffs and location. But we already moved to another hotel to stay with our friends on the second night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We picked this place due to great opinions from tripadvisor. And I looked at the place with astonishement - really? I mean- REALLY???

There was no wifi in the dorm, and after 6PM the guy downstairs at the reception speak NO English and couldn't even help with the internet issue as he was busy - playing computer games... The beds were grouse, with shoe prints on the sheet and a lot of hair. There are night lamps but not working, all the bulbs are taken out. It was crazy loud due to some construction works in the building next door and the stange...

The good point is indeed the location. This is why next morning we moved out to the hotel just opposite of the same road. For 12$ we got double room with breakfast and yummy coffee.

After travelling around Vietnam for a month what we noticed is - if you travel as a couple or 2 friends you can get much better standard for the same money in the hotel rather than in a hostel.

Anyway this place is not Friendly, it's just a dorm bed for a night if you cannot find anything else to survive the night. But unless it's some holiday or really peak season you should find something better.

We never bothered to ask about trips as we just went to Ninh Binh and Ha Long City ourselves and arranged our trips locally for funny money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We arrived at 5am, they made no fuss about getting us into the lobby, feeding us a buffet breakfast - even though we had only made a reservation for the night following - helped arrange a cheap (and very enjoyable) tour to Ha Long Bay. It was in a great location, and within walking distance of everything, and had air conditioned rooms, personal fans, hot shower etc. For only 5 dollars it was perfect. It loses one star for cleanliness - the beds were not at all dirty but not enitrely fresh either and the rooms were a little dusty and shabby.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

For only 5$, we got excellent wireless access, a dorm room with a-con, comfy beds with personal plug-ins, fans and reading light, hot shower, towel, locker and luggage room access and even free buffet breakfast. Did I mention it was in the city center, just in the old quarter? It was indeed an amazing place, the only caveat being that it does not have a common area.

The staff was amazing (THANK YOU PEARL!!!) and the tours we bought there at the reception were definitely not overpriced: everyone else we met up both at the Halong Bay and Sapa excursions had payed more than we had! And the hostel always offered to keep our big backpacks in Hanoi so we could travel around a bit lighter. They were amazing!

I would definitely recommend this place:)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The location was strategic where the old streets, Hoan Kiem Lake, Water Puppet Theater,etc were in walking distance. They offered reasonable price for rooms which comfortable enough for those in budgeted trip. We did booked the Sapa and Halong Bay Tour from them and we enjoy the trips very much! Staffs were friendly and helpful. They provided us some useful information during our tour at Hanoi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue88_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.2 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Backpackers' Hostel

Address: 9 Nguyen Huu Huan Str, HoanKiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 406 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range: £7 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Friendly Backpackers' Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Friendly Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing