We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find somewhere else”

Friendly Backpackers' Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Friendly Backpackers' Hostel
Ranked #115 of 423 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Well I stayed two nights in the hostel and well the location is great and i met some great people there, the staff are unhelpful and push the tours on to you a lot. Also the hostel was not the cleaniest, the tiny bathroom was dirty and full of flies, and they did not change the sheets or pillow cases, they simply brushed down the bed and re-fitted the sheet, I saw them do these on least two occasions!! I has planned to stay there when i returned from Sapa but on arriving at the hostel, the male staff member was so rude and unhelpful i decided to leave straightaway!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Turned up to the hostel and the staff were very helpful. We had pre-booked a private twin room with them so they sent us to the hotel across the road. This hostel had free wifi which they gave us the code too even though we weren't actually staying with them. Very friendly people and whish we were staying with them instead of at the hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

the location of this place is great, it's right in the centre of hanoi. the lake is nearby and there are plenty of cheap to expensive places to eat as well as great bars nearby. we expected the hostel to be a hostel. The room was clean, bathroom was a bit of a squeeze and the matresses are hard but thats expected everywhere. free breakfast upstairs which has fruit, coffee/tea, bread and fried eggs.
The staff are very friendly and organised our trip to halong bay as well as all of our train journeys. much appreciated and we will definitely stay there when we're back in hanoi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmarP217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The location is brilliant, right in the middle of Hanoi. We weren't looking for anything fancy. The room was clean. The bathroom was too small for our dorm but thank God we all knew each other so it wasn't too big a deal. The staff were friendly and organised trips for us to Halong Bay etc. They offered Breakfast in the morning but I wouldn't depend on it!! Cheap and cheerful!!

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a group of six, this hostel is ideal because the dorms are rooms of six and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great location, not very far from the old quarter, on a strip with lots of restaurants and a quick walk from Ho Guom lake, which is a wonderful place to be during Tet, as that is where they shoot off the fireworks. The hostel itself serves a good breakfast with eggs, baguettes, fruits, and coffee. The showers are difficult to use since the bathroom itself is so small. The beds are comfortable, but a lot of the fans were broken or even missing. The service is good, and they are very willing to help you call a taxi or book a hotel in your next location if you ask.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The rooms are cleanish and the beds are soft. The bathroom wad tiny and the shower flowed into the toilet. The hostel was within walking distance of that park with the lake where we watched the tet firework display.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank realmsofinquiry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

It was a nice stay, everything is pretty clean. The bathrooms are decent, and the beds are clean and comfortable. The rooms are not tightly packed like some other hostels, they are quite roomy. I liked the location, it was near lots of things to do. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 32weissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.2 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#96 of 599 in Hanoi
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Backpackers' Hostel

Address: 9 Nguyen Huu Huan Str, HoanKiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 423 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range: £8 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Friendly Backpackers' Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Friendly Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing