We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Silk Boutique Hotel
Ranked #98 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I have booked 2 studio suite rooms with my 2 daughters to stay for pre and post night while heading to Ha Long Bay cruises. We come to know from the hotel web site that the hotel has just in operation for 2 weeks. This hotel beside being brand new and the price is also reasonable and afforable since the hotel located in the central convenient area where Hoan Kim lake just a short walk from it. We are happy that we make the right choice to stay at this hotel as this is a much better hotel as compare to some of the older hotels we have stayed before in the old quarter. Full set of toileteries and in the bathroom and there is free soft drink and beer in the minibar which is being replenished everyday. The buffet breakfast has a lot of choices and the staff very attentive and courteous. Therefore I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking to try a new hotel and rest assured that you will be in good hand since the hotel staff are very willing to help with customer request.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZHANG96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

We booked our 2-night stay even before the hotel was inaugurated, so it was really a bet on this one. We paid about 80 usd through Agoda, which was a very competitive price considering what we got in exchange. Being a soft opening, some last-minute works were still going on, but they were restricted to daytime working hours, and did not interfere with our experience.

The good:

- Hotel has a great location, in the heart of the old quarter. It's a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem lake, and within walking distance from many landmarks in Hanoi (Temple of Literature, One-Pillar Pagoda, Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, etc).

- We got a room on the seventh floor which was modern and had a nice design. It's really a nice feeling to enter into a brand new room, especially when it has been decorated with good taste like in this case. We were facing the back of the hotel, so no noise at all could be heard from the street. The bed was very comfortable (pillows were great) and there was a big flat-screen TV with plenty of international and local channels. As advertised, we also had the free minibar with soft drinks and beer.

- Staff were super friendly. Special mention to the waiters in the breakfast area, the ladies at the reception and the bellboy. All of them were eager to help, and made our short stay really special. A nice detail was the chocolate gift and card that were given to my wife upon check-in, as it happened to be Woman's Day.

- Free wifi with good speed is available everywhere in the hotel, with a single password. As I always say, this is a lesson to learn for all 5-star hotels which are still charging for this basic service.


The not-so-good:

Our stay at Golden Silk Hotel was really great. The minor points listed below are just a piece of constructive user advice, in case the management gets to read this review:

- Safebox is not attached to the wall. Some extra plugs would help, but this is just my wife being too picky.

- Water pressure was not so good in the shower, particularly in the morning. I'm not sure whether this is a general problem in Hanoi or it was just in the hotel, but it's definitely an issue to be addressed.

Breakfast had its pros and cons. It was a la carte, so don't expect the typical buffet spread here. This also implies that you should factor some time, as everyone is served in their table. You get to choose whatever you want from a limited set of options, which includes both eastern and western alternatives (the latter perhaps a bit limited).

Golden Silk Hotel was a pleasant surprise, as we had all the advantages of a brand-new hotel and the staff looked really trained (which is not the norm when it's been just one week since the opening). As long as they keep the service standards and pay attention to the maintenance of the hotel, I have no doubt it will make it to the top spots in Tripadvisor. We will definitely return next time we are in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hernan_y_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tessawubben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gonzalo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Eastsmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C, General Manager at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Etschi1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C, General Manager at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Uschi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C, Tổng giám đốc at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#107 of 599 in Hanoi
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#70 of 599 in Hanoi
1,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#77 of 599 in Hanoi
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
#127 of 599 in Hanoi
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Silk Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Silk Boutique Hotel

Address: 109-111 Hang Gai Street, Hanoi 21200, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £44 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Silk Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Elegance in Exclusive Luxury" 55 rooms and suites opening 01 March 2012, captivating vistas of Hanoi's old quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Silk Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing