We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury rooms but noisy and bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Silk Boutique Hotel
Ranked #97 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Luxury rooms but noisy and bad service”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed in two different rooms, one night in a studio room before we went to Halong Bay and 3 nights in a luxury suite.

Studio room: Smallish at the front of the building on a main street, VERY noisy. Fittings and furniture absolutely beautiful, very expensive european bathroom fittings. Great bed. There is no separate shower in this room and you have to use the overhead shower in the bath, which was quite high. This migth be a problem for older people since you have to climb up into the bath wall. It was a problem for my husband because he is quite tall and he nearly reached the ceiling once he was standing in the bath.

Luxury suite: AMAZING room! It is more a junior suite but it has a sofa and a work desk. Huge bathroom, two sinks, separate toilet and shower, huge bath...beatiful. Velvet, dark wood and silk. Really 5* room. Big problem: NOISY. Again, the most expensive rooms are at the front of the building and the traffic is terrible, with constant beeping noises from the street.

Breakfast: Nothing to write home about. Smalish buffet with cheap pastries and juices. The toasters are just home toasters and do not work for a hotel. they take ages and the bread does not fit in.

Hotel decor: Very impressive reception area. Beatiful. A lot of gold but it is called 'Golden Silk hotel'. A lot of money has been spent buiding this hotel.

Service: APPALLING!!! Let me start by mentioning that they forgot our wake up call the morning we were leaving Hanoi. Luckily the noisy from the street woke us up well before that ;-)
No apologies. They also forgot to arrange a taxi to take us to the airport, which we had requested the previous day.
One member of staff was on the internet (facebook, twitter, who knows) while I was waiting for assistance at reception.I finally managed to get somebody's attention and asked them to phone my airline to book seats on the plane. They tried and shortly afterwards told me that the numbers were wrong. I asked them if they could phone the airport and they said I had to do it myself, that they couldn't help.
On one ocassion, we were returning from breakfast (around 9 am) and we had one of the maids waiting outside our room (we had the no disturb sign up) and she quite rudely asked us if she could clean our room. I told her that we would be leaving in 30 minutes to which she replied, OK, 15 minutes. On our way out, I wanted to tell her that we needed shower gel in our room. She was cleaning the room next door. She literally pushed me out of my way back to the lift. Vey arrogant and not helpful. Shocking.

Spa doesn't open until sometime in May.

Service and quiet rooms are a must for us. With so much choice of accomodation in Hanoi, I would not stay at Golden Silk Hotel again nor recomend it. I wished I could bring one of those suites home though...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Quijanotango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    343
    85
    18
    11
See reviews for
117
384
49
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel is awesome. It's definitely as someone else put it, a sanctuary from the insanity of Hanoi outside.

The staff here are fantastic, everyone is new so they eye you a bit carefully to make sure they understand, but the room was great, had excellent facilities (free WiFi, free! minibar, complimentary fruit on check-in, nice showers, bath, and a great LCD TV).
It's also in an outstanding location.
The included breakfast was tasty and I wholeheartedly recommend the Pho, as well as the daily changing other Vietnamese / SE Asian dishes. Most days this breakfast got me through till late afternoon before needing anything else.

It's a very short stroll from heaps of eateries, the lake, the night market, and everything else you could want. I'd definitely recommend and go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms up high, and at the back would be the pick. I was on the 8th floor, at the back and had a dece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington NZ
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

After playing Don Quixote with the traffic for a few hours this place is great.
A sanctuary. We found this place as a walk in and have stayed for a couple of days great staff - friendly and unobtrusive.. The showers and toilets are excellent like you expect and the place is really! clean. Oh and they sell Belgian beer and you can have a pho or bacon and eggs for breakfast.

Room Tip: all pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Was in Hanoi for a business trip and we chose to go for this hotel. It is rather new, less than 8 months old. Situated in the Old Quarters, it is really good value for money. Clean sheets, good room ventilation and pristine toliet. Helps that the room that we got came with no extra charge to the mini bar.
Only peeve we had on that stay of 2 nights was the shower area was choked on the first night. It was however quickly rectified and the reception is always close at hand to ask if all is in order.
Overall good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you are keen to see some 'skyline' and to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstherYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed in 2 different rooms. One with a window on the top floor = very good but the wifi was not working up there and the second time on the 3 floor with no window, noise from the elevator and the hot water in the shower did not work. Check rooms!!!
Staff very helpful, very clean and great location since you can do everything by foot

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rootsrock18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGAPORE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I have booked 2 studio suite rooms with my 2 daughters to stay for pre and post night while heading to Ha Long Bay cruises. We come to know from the hotel web site that the hotel has just in operation for 2 weeks. This hotel beside being brand new and the price is also reasonable and afforable since the hotel located in the central convenient area where Hoan Kim lake just a short walk from it. We are happy that we make the right choice to stay at this hotel as this is a much better hotel as compare to some of the older hotels we have stayed before in the old quarter. Full set of toileteries and in the bathroom and there is free soft drink and beer in the minibar which is being replenished everyday. The buffet breakfast has a lot of choices and the staff very attentive and courteous. Therefore I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking to try a new hotel and rest assured that you will be in good hand since the hotel staff are very willing to help with customer request.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZHANG96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We booked our 2-night stay even before the hotel was inaugurated, so it was really a bet on this one. We paid about 80 usd through Agoda, which was a very competitive price considering what we got in exchange. Being a soft opening, some last-minute works were still going on, but they were restricted to daytime working hours, and did not interfere with our experience.

The good:

- Hotel has a great location, in the heart of the old quarter. It's a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem lake, and within walking distance from many landmarks in Hanoi (Temple of Literature, One-Pillar Pagoda, Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, etc).

- We got a room on the seventh floor which was modern and had a nice design. It's really a nice feeling to enter into a brand new room, especially when it has been decorated with good taste like in this case. We were facing the back of the hotel, so no noise at all could be heard from the street. The bed was very comfortable (pillows were great) and there was a big flat-screen TV with plenty of international and local channels. As advertised, we also had the free minibar with soft drinks and beer.

- Staff were super friendly. Special mention to the waiters in the breakfast area, the ladies at the reception and the bellboy. All of them were eager to help, and made our short stay really special. A nice detail was the chocolate gift and card that were given to my wife upon check-in, as it happened to be Woman's Day.

- Free wifi with good speed is available everywhere in the hotel, with a single password. As I always say, this is a lesson to learn for all 5-star hotels which are still charging for this basic service.


The not-so-good:

Our stay at Golden Silk Hotel was really great. The minor points listed below are just a piece of constructive user advice, in case the management gets to read this review:

- Safebox is not attached to the wall. Some extra plugs would help, but this is just my wife being too picky.

- Water pressure was not so good in the shower, particularly in the morning. I'm not sure whether this is a general problem in Hanoi or it was just in the hotel, but it's definitely an issue to be addressed.

Breakfast had its pros and cons. It was a la carte, so don't expect the typical buffet spread here. This also implies that you should factor some time, as everyone is served in their table. You get to choose whatever you want from a limited set of options, which includes both eastern and western alternatives (the latter perhaps a bit limited).

Golden Silk Hotel was a pleasant surprise, as we had all the advantages of a brand-new hotel and the staff looked really trained (which is not the norm when it's been just one week since the opening). As long as they keep the service standards and pay attention to the maintenance of the hotel, I have no doubt it will make it to the top spots in Tripadvisor. We will definitely return next time we are in Hanoi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hernan_y_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#102 of 586 in Hanoi
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#72 of 586 in Hanoi
1,103 reviews
0.4 mi away
MK Premier Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
#119 of 586 in Hanoi
651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#98 of 586 in Hanoi
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Silk Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Silk Boutique Hotel

Property: Golden Silk Boutique Hotel
Address: 109-111 Hang Gai Street, Hanoi 21200, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Silk Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Elegance in Exclusive Luxury" 55 rooms and suites opening 01 March 2012, captivating vistas of Hanoi's old quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Silk Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing